Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,053件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

人気のレビュー

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SS

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

フィルター:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know: 76 - 100 / 252 レビュー

by Jaikumar L

Jul 05, 2017

lucid explanations for complex concepts- enjoyed listening to the lectures

by Ethan R

Dec 02, 2016

This is a recap of the most important things taught in Materials lectures on an engineering course. It is quick, concise and highlights what should be kept in mind when working with different materials. The only new material for me was the last thing on semiconductors which I found very interesting.

The only thing that could be significantly improved is the section on alloy phases. It's is an important topic and I think more time could be spent on that subject to provide a more well rounded understanding of the topic. However 9/10 things done well and the other being a bit rushed is still 5 stars in my book.

by Sahil B

Sep 08, 2017

Except for the semiconductor part the complete course was easy to understand and concise

by Sayan B

Mar 03, 2017

The technique with which Dr. James Shakelford has taught this course is amazing

by Tamu S

Feb 22, 2016

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.

by Rishikesh G R

Jun 23, 2017

Great course as an introduction to the subject and while revising as it goes though all the important points.

by Saad U B

Dec 12, 2016

Fantastic Course!!

by Michael T

Feb 02, 2018

very useful for industry and technician laboratory

by Mateus C d S

Sep 25, 2017

Amazing course!!!

by Luiz F U

Sep 22, 2016

Indeed, very nice lessons of important concepts in Materials Engineering. Helped me a lot.

by Alaz T

Oct 10, 2016

This is a course that made the topics clear and foundations of materials clear! I strongly recommend it for engineers.

by Melvyn N

Jan 25, 2018

Good course summarizing the basics and fundamentally important topics in Materials Science. I wish I had taken this earlier during my university days to have a better appreciation of Materials. Good professor, easy to understand. I do wish there was a little bit more hands-on/calculations involved so that it would be a little easier and a little more helpful in taking the theory and making it a little more practical.

by Soha S

Sep 04, 2016

great course, great instructor.

by Ahmet Ö

May 05, 2016

Perfect. Thank you Mr. Shackelford.

by Kashif S Q

Jan 21, 2017

Thank you sir for teaching in such a different and unique way. The way you teach is indeed very unique and it always kept me attentive during your lecture. Now i have understand all those concepts in a more better way and i am certain that this will help me in my future carrier as a material engineer. Thank you Sir

by Gabriel M G

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent professor and excellent materials and lectures. Also, a very good textbook.

by Ahmad S H

Apr 30, 2016

One of the best courses I am taking so far

by Katarzyna C

Sep 18, 2016

Great introduction to material science :)

by Kartikay G

Nov 14, 2017

Great Course!

by ATHITHANAMBI

Dec 02, 2016

THIS VERY USEFUL COURSE FOR ALL THE ENGINEERS.

by OM S

Jan 28, 2017

OK

by Hanan A

Jan 04, 2017

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

by Mustafa A

Sep 15, 2016

Excellent,all important properties of materials like tensile,modulus etc are perfectly explained

by Neha D

Jul 24, 2017

Great explanation of all the concepts!

by sanjeev k

Apr 11, 2017

course content was very good.It is a very good platform to learn about materials.