Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,053件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

人気のレビュー

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SS

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

フィルター:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know: 101 - 125 / 252 レビュー

by Paolo M

May 31, 2017

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

by Mahmoud S K

Mar 29, 2018

I think it will be better if you get deep in the content

but the course is very good and the instructor is very simple

by Anil K

May 16, 2018

great course

by Ritu T

Jun 16, 2018

Great course content , the professor has done a great job . Thank u

by Ismail H B

May 30, 2017

The general contents of the course are very satisfying. The connections between units (i.e. things) are very good and consecutive. Each topic has a connection with at least another one. Everything starts with Arrhenius and ends with Arrhenius. I appreciate Prof. James Shackelford for establishing such a connection throughout the course which makes whole subject fully understandable. However there were some numerical problems on some quiz of things (units). These numerical problems are so simple but there were not any example that shows the method how to interpret these problems to solve though. The trainee is supposed to solve these problems from the given equations. But it is sometimes hard to realize how to use the formula practically if one is not directly working on this specific subject. The other thing is about the semiconductor subject in where the n doped extrinsic semiconductors and the donor electrons with the energy level close to the conduction band are explained very good. Whereas there is no information about the p doped extrinsic sc's and acceptor holes with the energy level close to the valance band. Of course this course is about the material science and does not contain the electronics subject which is related with the electron flow under certain electric field. But I wish I saw the p-n junction with associated Fermi diagrams and how it shows the valve characteristics to the electrons under certain conditions of electric field. But anyway I got so many things that I need and I appreciate for these.

by Diego C

Jun 08, 2017

Fue un exelente curso se ha sido de mucha ayuda en mi carrera gracias.

by Darragh M

Sep 03, 2017

Good overall refresher on Materials Science for a Mech Engineer

by SHREYAS P

Apr 15, 2018

A very good course to learn the basics of material science

by Akshay T

Nov 11, 2017

An overall a good learning experience with great explaination.

by Ashish P

Jun 24, 2018

Beautiful course. Helped me a lot in the selection of materials for our rocketry team. I'll be sure to suggest this course to my fellow teammates. A big thumbs-up to UCDAVIS for this course.

by Emilio A G A

Jul 05, 2017

muy buen curso

by jason j p

Dec 05, 2016

Really great course to know about the basics of material science

by Ioannis Z

May 27, 2017

Robust course delivery!

by Danial T

Feb 18, 2018

Great for aspiring materials engineers to brush up on their basics

by Dean A A

Jun 23, 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

by Fabian P

Mar 05, 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

by Anibal N

Dec 07, 2016

ESTE CURSO ME PARECIÓ DE LO MAS COMPLETO Y ENRIQUECERSE MI CONOCIMIENTO ACERCA DE LA INGENIERA DE MATERIALES

by Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

by Gavin H

Dec 08, 2016

As and organic chemist working in a materials company, mainly adhesives, I found this course to be an excellent introduction to material testing and material science in ge

by Kaleru s

Jan 28, 2017

OK

by Annamalai S

Jul 31, 2017

Really interesting and easy to understanding

by Erin M

Sep 15, 2017

This is a good refresher of mechanics of materials, but goes into the atomic level and semiconductors.

by Muhammad J A

Jan 23, 2016

The Course is designed so well by the UC Davis and Coursera. And the discussion forum is also really helpful for me while studying this course. It's really a great experience.

by Eduardo N

Jun 30, 2017

Excelent!

by Preetish C D

Dec 12, 2016

Covers all the important topics a materials engineer should know. Good course to refresh your materials basics.