Chevron Left
Introduction to Mathematical Thinking に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Introduction to Mathematical Thinking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,673件の評価
362件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

人気のレビュー

AM

Nov 24, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

フィルター:

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking: 51 - 75 / 345 レビュー

by Rajendra K

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent course to understand how Math "works". The concepts are introduced very gently and clearly. The only thing I would say is that a basic level of high school algebra is needed to do this course and must be specified up front (maybe I missed it).

by Elias D

Jun 19, 2019

It took me 10 months to complete this. it's fundamental in today's day an age. it was a humble step back to basics, with many comebacks. I recommend to anyone which looks to better enhance his thinking in all walks of life.

The teacher is a funny guy :)

by Nanda K

Sep 28, 2017

An excellent course, well-designed and well-taught. Prof Devlin made the content, examples and quizzes very interesting and enjoyable. The technical aspects of the platform were handled well making the learning that much more easy and non-distracting.

by Илья

Jun 05, 2019

Great course from talented teacher. I really enjoyed it. You have to think hard in this course, some exercises were ok for me, some were too hard. But everytihing was interesting. And information about mathematical notation and logic was very helpful

by Vadim

Jan 14, 2018

The course is awesome! It helped me to recall a lot of stuff from university mathematics. Most importantly, it let me look at everything I knew, from a different point of view, get deeper insight. Great thanks to Dr. Keith Devlin - awesome teacher!

by Leo F

Oct 06, 2018

Approachable for pretty much anyone and actually complemented a lot of later university math by going into more detail. This is an assignment heavy course, which I liked, but requires a lot more effort than other MOOC (it was worth it though!).

by Mitchel v H

May 10, 2018

It was a really interesting course up until the end. The way in which language can be ambigious has never been as clear to me. This course wasn't just about math but more or less the world as a working place where you have to make it work.

by Маханько М А

Aug 30, 2019

Really changes the mindset! A new way of looking at evidence. I understood the principle of mathematical induction, why it allows to obtain true conclusions. Everything is clear and easily explained. Many thanks for the course!

by felix s

Apr 14, 2019

Thank you for this course! It is slowly building your new thinking. So dont rush, just take time and let your new thinking grow from the smallest math concepts. It is pretty fantastic what your work is done for me! Thank you!

by himanshu k s

Aug 27, 2017

Course is well explained. Course should come in two flavour i.e. fast pace course and more advanced for those who have already studied this course in college ,but want to revise it from coursera and this is best for beginner

by Henry L

Jul 04, 2018

A detailed and thorough course presented in an understandable fashion. It helps you develop critical thinking and problem solving skills by getting you to think in different ways as a mathematician. Highly recommended.

by Srivibhavan B

Sep 26, 2019

I found this course a great refresher and it helped me fill a lot of gaps that had developed in my ability to understand advanced mathematics. The course helped me move faster with my study of ML and AI algorithms.

by deepak k s

Jul 08, 2017

This course really helped me notice the subtleties of simple mathematical things in nature and even in daily life which we take for granted or assume to be true. This was my first course and it was a good decision

by Ravi N

Mar 15, 2017

This was a really good course, making you "think" in general and in particular about mathematical proofs. The professor's exposition was outstanding. The explanation of evaluation of proofs was really nice.

by acatejr

Jan 05, 2019

I wish I had a class like this in high school. It would have been a great class between algebra and calculus. Should be required for every high school student. I plan on reviewing this class many times.

by Nathaniel R

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

by Eugene P

Feb 14, 2020

This course was really useful. I learnt so much! I could appreciate why mathematics is such a beautiful subject by the end of this course. Definitely glad to have taken this course, and would recommend.

by Ali M

Nov 24, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

by Vladimir T

Dec 08, 2019

Great course! Highly recommend it to all my friends interested in math. Devlin is a talented teacher, not just a mathematician (as it usually happens with someone who happen to teach math).

by Technophobe01

Apr 06, 2017

I have to say I enjoyed the course and the reading materials. My advice would be to take the course it will make you think. It is a great refresher / introduction to mathematical thinking.

by Reinaldo L d O e C

Mar 05, 2018

It is nice to see connections among mathematical theories, and this course it is very well designed to accomplish this. I highly recommend if you want to improve your mathematical skills.

by zeyad e

Jan 17, 2017

i just had taken this course in the college and i don't understand a lot of things but after i started in the course a lot of thinking going to be more clear , thank you for this course .

by viola

Apr 24, 2018

With the help of this course, my grade for fundamental mathematics at school raised from C to A. Really thankful. This course truly helped me better understand the abstruse conceptions.

by Akash v

Sep 27, 2019

One of the best online course i have ever taken. Thanks to Keith sir for explaining all the concepts so engagingly and in detail. Looking forward for course's like this on coursera.

by Vladimirs R

May 06, 2017

The course is a really good introduction into the world of mathematical proofs and the logic behind them. Really, everyone will benefit from the way of thinking the course teaches.