Chevron Left
Matrix Algebra for Engineers に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による Matrix Algebra for Engineers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
228件の評価
68件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. We define matrices and how to add and multiply them, and introduce some special types of matrices. We describe the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. We explain the concept of vector spaces and define the main vocabulary of linear algebra. We develop the theory of determinants and use it to solve the eigenvalue problem. After each video, there are problems to solve and I have tried to choose problems that exemplify the main idea of the lecture. I try to give enough problems for students to solidify their understanding of the material, but not so many that students feel overwhelmed. I do encourage students to attempt the given problems, but if they get stuck, full solutions can be found in my lecture notes. The mathematics in this matrix algebra course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students would take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but student's are expected to have a certain level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. Lecture notes may be downloaded at http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the course overview video at https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

人気のレビュー

J

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

フィルター:

Matrix Algebra for Engineers: 1 - 25 / 68 レビュー

by Joel M

Jun 13, 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

by Robert H

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

by James B

Jun 06, 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

by Gaurav V

Jun 05, 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

by Jeff B

May 29, 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

by Vítor R

May 26, 2019

Jeffrey Chasnov is a very charismatic fellow and an outstanding instructor. Lessons were very concise and clutter free. He made a great effort of bringing us engineers (some in formation, some brushing up concepts) the best possible approach for the topics explored. The companion book (the electronic document provided) is the best supplementary material I’ve come across for a MOOC. When someone cares, it shows. It truly shows.

by César J N R

Dec 03, 2018

It is a really nice course, mixing good content and examples within the lectures. It challenges you with exercises that will let you reinforce your knowledge. I couldn't have this course on my degree and I needed it. Also really great professor.

by Duc V K T

Dec 30, 2018

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.

by Divyanshu T

Jan 05, 2019

Loved the practice problems! This course gives a solid foundation to Linear Algebra.

by Chi L L

Feb 06, 2019

A very good course that understanding the needs of science and engineering and belance between length proof and introduction of key main concepts.

by Cameron M

Feb 07, 2019

This worked as an excellent refresher course! I appreciated the practice exercises and the associated study guide.

by Nitin A

Jan 17, 2019

Insight into different structures of Matrices, how to work with them, basic linear Algebra skills

by xuening

Jan 22, 2019

very well explained the key concepts of matrix

by LEELAVATHY T

Feb 22, 2019

very good

by Jaron v G S

Feb 24, 2019

Yes, I spend 30 hours a week but I finished it in 2 weekends. Good course, a lot of video, going from the base to more complex subjects building up.

by Kutalmis B

Feb 27, 2019

very good indeed

by xhungab

Mar 02, 2019

A good course for me.

by Christos G

Mar 03, 2019

Chasnov is outstanding! You will love the course but above all you will adore the way Chasnov marches on through the course and you are acquiring knowledge... He is a real instructor!

by Vineeth P

Feb 21, 2019

A wonderful course for those who want to start Matrices from scratch. The course covers all the necessary things an engineer requires.

by GAETANO P

Feb 21, 2019

Very nice course. Really well teached. The materials and exercises are well preented. Prof. Chasnov has explained the fundamental concepts of linear algebra in a clear and friendly way.Excellent course.

by Anand M

Mar 09, 2019

It's very good course to study matrices, determinants, vector spaces, eigenvalue and eigenvector and it's usage.

by JORGE E M L V

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

by NAVEEN S V E

Mar 14, 2019

This course was really helpfull and i learned well due to this course.

by ASHISH T Y

Jan 15, 2019

best course. this course just take up your level of understanding

by Stephen M

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent course, thanks so much! Really like the fact that the videos were backed by a comprehensive set lecture notes with problems AND solutions, including some proofs. This made consuming the concepts much easier. All in all a lot to swallow in this course, but great to get acquainted again (20+ years) with this subject matter. You have an excellent manner of teaching, Jeff. Thank you!