Chevron Left
English for Media Literacy に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による English for Media Literacy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,724件の評価
467件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

人気のレビュー

DT

2019年1月26日

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

2019年2月8日

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

フィルター:

English for Media Literacy: 26 - 50 / 462 レビュー

by Juliet M M

2019年12月3日

Coursera has really benefited my knowledge. I am well equipped and this course has broaden and expanded my Horizon. with all that i have learned, I am certain that I will pursue other courses. I love the structure and method of lecturing.

by Iuliia M

2020年12月22日

I started thinking deeply in the different types of media. Also, my English grammar is better now. There were so fascinating lectures (videos), quizzes and reading. Teachers were funny too. It's so informative!

by Zlatica S H

2021年12月2日

The course gives a good general overview of media literacy. But some of the videos are too long and hard to digest in one session. My biggest problem though was having to go back and forth to find out if I missed some part of the course as I moved along. It should be clear without multiple checking. And most annoying: at the end of the course, after submitting all the assignments well before the deadline, I find a message that some of my assignments are overdue. Which assignments??? it is not clear.

If it is about peer assessments - I could not find any to grade. The message in the box said there were no assignments available to review. So how is that my fault? Besides, peer assessments are the worst part of any course -period - and should be dispensed with. I don't care what my equally informed or uninformed peers think about my work. I want a course supervisor or another expert to review my work and give advice.

by Nedyu Y

2019年6月1日

A bit simplistic without a clear scope and target audience.

by Michelle L H

2019年12月2日

I am so dissapointed. Two times I submitted the video assignations that they requested, and two times they were not reviewed by instructors (the first time it was reviewed only by peers). On top of it, today, I open coursera to try to finish the course, and a sign appears saying "this course has ended".

It was not my fault that I missed the second deadline (since my last assignment was ready aproximately a week ago) and it was not my fault that I missed the first deadline either (they didn't let me advance until my peers reviewed my video). I was left with nothing to do for several days, each time I submitted a video assignment.

The worst part is that I enrolled paying for it, because I am interested in getting the certificate. I'm left without the certificate, and without the money that I payed.

by Carlianne C

2019年2月10日

My week 3 and 4 was finished and all the tasks have a check mark but the overview of the course shows that im not yet done it confuses me

by Гученкова Т А

2022年4月5日

I really enjoyed taking the English for Media Literacy course. Throughout this course, I learned something new about media, learned what types of biases are, got acquainted with the methods of advertising impact on a person. The most interesting for me were videos that are understandable and accessible explained this or that information to me.I was also pleased that interactive tests could be taken several times.However, the only thing that caused me difficulties was a large number of tasks with deadlines.Sometimes I simply did not have time to pass them on time. I can safely recommend this course for studying, because here you will really get new knowledge and improve your level of English.

by Sevda A

2022年4月10日

This is really good course. I' ve gained so much amazing things about not just reading the media, but also watching the news and looking at the photo. There are so many ways of presenting the news and usually they can be not true. therefore readers and viewers have to be attentive, check everything they read and see, not to trust the only media, but find another sources and compare.

Moreover, a good grammar was presented in the couse. So I am very happy of being its participant.

by Albina P

2018年5月5日

English for Media Literacy is very interesting and useful course. It gives better understanding of what is media. Also course help to determine bias in the media source, some ways how to avoid misunderstanding and besides it give the practical skills to analyze all information that we receive from the media. English for Media Literacy help to evolve critical thinking, teaches how to filter information you need from fake and distorted.

by Kaliakbarova Y

2020年3月11日

Helloi!Starting the English for Media literature course, I doubted how I could learn the language online, but now my attitude to It has clearly changed. The excellent course, the methodology of writing tasks , a selection of texts ,videos, teachers with whom I studied this course became very nice to me .thanks to this, I learned how to edit videos, analyze articles and messages.

With respect Kaliakbarova Elmira

by Jo A M G

2019年2月10日

I am really grateful being able to have the opportunity to be in this course. I have learned a lot. I can now say that I am fully media literate now because of all the learning I have acquired in this course. I have gained a lot of knowledge through Coursera. Thank you to the University of Pennsylvania for giving us the opportunity to finish this course. Thank you so much and may you always be blessed!

by 洪詩茜

2018年12月2日

I'm so glad to have the chance to get involved in this course from the University of Pennsylvania. Through the online lessons, I've learned a lot and been more aware of all the media in our lives. The learning materials are various enough for me to acquire different skills and knowledge. After all, I believe Media Literacy is an important issue for modern citizens around the world. Thanks again!

by Lena B

2017年3月24日

Очень интересный и безусловно полезный курс! Грамотно и последовательно подобранный материал и заинтересованные в его изложении преподаватели. Несложные тестовые и практические задания. Приобретенные знания и навыки пригодятся как для профессиональной деятельности, так и для использования в повседневной жизни. Спасибо создателям курса за возможность пройти его на бесплатной основе.

by Benedict M P A

2017年11月17日

I am taking this opportunity to thank my professors in the name of Lauren Fiori and Ian Nichols for such a good course I have completed. The course materials can be used in my classroom instructions and my superiors will be highly impressed of the materials I took from the course. With this, I am endlessly extending my gratitude for this opportunity of graduating this course.

by Deleted A

2020年6月7日

This is my first course on Coursera and I felt like "If it's ok, I'll contine learning and try another one, if not- sorry". English for Media literacy opened my eyes on the way I percieve news and the way it makes my opinion and forms my behaviour. It was completely the right length, difficulty, with appropriate language and vocablary. I like the presenters, too)))

by Ольга И

2022年5月17日

I listened to the practical teachers with great pleasure. Thanks to the organizers of the courses. A lot of useful information. The materials allowed me to systematize my experience of remote work with students, gave answers to questions that arise in the course of practical activity and work with information sources, as a rule, to understand them

by Жулдуз К

2022年5月9日

A useful and interesting course - made it clear how to properly understand the flow of news events in the world. Everything is explained in an accessible and understandable way. Become more media literate and try to understand the news correctly. further developed the skills of understanding the English language, terms and media literacy.

by José A R N

2017年7月29日

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

by Edelyn P

2019年2月9日

Coursera really helps me a lot in terms of grammar, being a media literate and so many more. I am thankful for all the people behind this course. Also I am grateful to be part of this online course. I always wish you all the best and more power. I am looking forward for all that you can help in learning. God bless you all. SALAMAT PO!!

by Andréa M F M

2020年5月16日

English for Media Literacy course was really fantastic. It improved my journalistic skills and opened my mind in relation to many media issues, such as bias, diversity, and the power of social media. Besides, it presented some interesting grammar topics I hadn't studied before, like reductions, abbreviations, and strong adjectives.

by Leandro A C

2022年5月13日

This course helped me a lot to understand what Media Literacy is really about. The instructors know their stuff and they also know how to present the content of the course in a way that is very easy to understand what they mean. I am glad I was able to do this course because now I can say that I am a media literate person.

by Abil B K

2022年3月23日

It was very interesting time for me. Thanks a lo t for your this course . I had good experience as a teacher in the Media literacy course. Every part or session was Informative. Especially, BIAS of news from TV and journalism. In future time I would like to have it in my own life or at the work.

by Recci B

2019年2月10日

I've learned a lot. The videos are simple yet profound. The exercise also helped me a lot in understanding the lesson more deeply. The examples and articles used are very complex yet easily understood. This course has changed the way I view the world, particularly in viewing or reading media information's.

by Anderson Q V

2020年5月8日

Un muy buen curso para aprender ingles a partir de un tema especifico (en este caso social media). Esta forma de aprendizaje permite no solo practicar y aprender ingles, sino, también, aprender sobre sobre los modelos de social media, los principales sesgos sociales y como identificarlos. Muy recomendado.

by Assel S

2020年3月7日

The structure of all the lessons is very good and easy to understand. There are so many lively learning activities to both develop yourself and entertain! Everything is very useful and practical to improve your professional skills and achieve personal goals. You will lose much if you don`t take it!