Chevron Left
Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,011件の評価
620件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

人気のレビュー

RD

2020年7月31日

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

2021年2月6日

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

フィルター:

Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies: 101 - 125 / 609 レビュー

by Jesús M

2016年12月6日

The course was entertaining, didactic and emotional. This was my first experience in Corsera and I am thankful to Professor John Seamon for his didactic quality and for his humanity in dealing with such sensitive and dramatic subjects.

by Jo-Anna E

2018年1月28日

Excellent! Although I study psychology at university, (and have studied memory in detail), it is great to watch and learn about memory through the cinematic lens. I feel that my perspective is broadened. Well done and many thanks.

by Shambhavee G J

2021年1月30日

it clarified a lot of doubts I had regarding memory, amnesia, and dissociative disorder and gave some valuable additional information and references to books, movies, reading materials, and published works of scholars in the field.

by Guilherme D

2020年9月2日

Great introductory course to many aspects and concepts of memory. The fact that they're illustrated with movie clips makes them even more undestandable and easier to grasp. The teacher is very calm and explains everything clearly.

by jane b

2017年7月12日

This is a wonderful course. I really enjoyed the presenter and have purchased his book so I could continue learning. I love movies and I love to learn to it was a perfect combination. A very fun course with a wealth of knowledge.

by Marisol B M

2017年3月28日

Buen curso, es exactamente como su nombre lo indica, a través de películas explica cómo funciona la memoria y también aclara que algunas películas no muestran lo que en realidad sucede en nuestro cerebro en casos como la amnesia.

by Ms. M Q

2020年9月20日

It was an exceptional course especially if you are fascinated with memory and how it actually works. The course was one of the bests here on coursers. Well put together content, easy to understand and never let's you get bored.

by Silvia I A

2020年10月28日

This was an excellent course! I learned a lot and I saw interesting parts of films that explain the topics of memory. The teacher has a wonderful teaching skills and has prepared excellent material for this course. Thank you!

by Sanjukta S

2019年12月27日

Very well explained concepts which were easy to grasp as the movies helped understand each topic. An interesting course that I would definitely recommend to others. Thanks you Sir for sharing these excerpts from the book.

by Jarrent T

2017年9月15日

I learned a lot from this course. Indeed, the use of movies in studying and exploring the various concepts about memory is effective in contextualizing the ideas. Also, the lecturer is excellently discussing these concepts!

by Denis C

2021年1月12日

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was very captivating and explaining it through memories was entertaining and insightful. Huge thanks to the lecturer, John Seamon, for making the coursework so captivating and memorable.

by Ananya C

2016年5月29日

Its an amazing course. I am studying psychology in my high school and memory and learning are the topics which made psychology really interesting. The way everything is explained is really interesting and understandable.

by Helena K

2019年2月3日

Extremely interesting course, perfect way to understand memory thru film. Also, makes you learn and think about things and ideas that you wouldn't think that could come up in this kind of course. Very much enjoyed!

by Maryam A

2022年3月27日

I learned several informations from the Professor , the course was very informative and also the professor was good at keeping me concentrated with his words, a big thanks to him and to coursera for their efforts!

by Gary M

2021年2月15日

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to follow, interesting and the way movie clips were used to demonstrate the reality or false impressions of memory - related cases was great and quite moving actually.

by Damián L

2016年5月24日

Excellent course, excellent lecturer and test material. I will likely buy his book as the topic initially interested me, and interests me even more after this engaging and educational course. Highly recommended.

by Lewis R

2016年2月16日

This was an outstanding course. I am a qualified psychologist and lawyer but enjoyed the unique take on this topic. I was particularly fascinated by the warm, engaging lectures. Thank you for a great programme.

by Ermanno G

2016年5月15日

Very interesting and intriguing way to show, by movies, how much our memory ability means in our everyday life. Thanks to have share it. For me is first of all a stimulating way to train my english fluency

by Sreya v s

2020年8月1日

I loved this class. The way of teaching is appreciable. By attending this class some misconceptions about memory-related disorders get cleared. It was very informative. Thank you for this amazing course.

by AKSHITA S

2020年7月14日

The professor was amazing and explained things with ease. It was a course filled with fun and knowledge. I love to know a thing and love watching movies so, this course was some sort of a blessing to me.

by reine r r

2017年12月10日

professor seamon is a remarkable teacher,. linking memory function to movies is a brilliant idea because it allows us to relate the technical to what we can easily apprehend : popular culture. thank you.

by Ana L F C

2017年12月13日

El curso me encantó. Se me hace excelente la manera en que se describen los conceptos relacionados con la memoria desde una perspectiva teórica y éstos se ejemplifican con películas e historias de vida.

by TÂNIA M D S L

2021年10月20日

the first course and a teacher who can hold the attention and easily make us understand the course proposal. I am very happy for the opportunity that when the course ends, I have as a privilege. Thanks

by Swapnil S

2020年4月30日

One of the best courses I have completed so far. The best thing about this course is to use the movie clip so nicely that it fits with the content of the lecture. This really helps to digest the topic.

by Victor G d O S

2016年9月9日

Very good course. It complete its purpose and manage to teach a lot of things in a simple and fast way, wich is the objetive of Coursera. Also, the forum is full of discussions, wich is interesting.