Chevron Left
モデル思考 に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による モデル思考 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
2,101件の評価

コースについて

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

人気のレビュー

AA

2020年11月23日

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

YK

2018年4月6日

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

フィルター:

モデル思考: 451 - 471 / 471 レビュー

by Marek L

2016年9月23日

Very good!

by Mimis R

2019年10月11日

excelente

by ರತೀಷ್ പ

2016年1月14日

Excellent

by zhangmutanxi

2016年3月21日

great

by Mahmudul H

2018年6月27日

good

by Luiz C d P W F

2017年4月4日

Ver

by Adem A

2016年9月6日

T

by Nick M W

2016年3月7日

S

by Milady M

2017年3月6日

i would like to see some subtitles in Spanish, to help me understand much better the main idea ! but in generally is so good and helpful!

by Wuan L H

2016年10月23日

It is interesting and mind opening during the beginning and the middle of the course. Learned some interesting principle.

by Jaroslav A

2021年3月6日

Interesting but so boring

by Eli M

2016年3月14日

There have been some undesirable references to equations, in terms of equating modeling to economic growth and investment. I was interested by the syllabus and its outline of theories and the means to use models to study social sciences and systems sciences. After week 1, though, it was not a very interesting course so I considered trying to simply survey most of the videos to gain some more information, not necessarily for any more insight from the Professor from the University of Michigan.

by Kätlin K

2022年4月28日

Expected to understand why things take place. The more I try to understand this material, the less sense it makes. All I see is a person throwing random numbers like these are a logical course of things. Very disappointed.

by barry f

2020年8月18日

Interesting topic but poor lecture method. Abandoned the course because lecturer difficult to follow

by Maya R

2021年1月25日

Mathematical ability and statistics are required for this course.

by Cole P

2022年1月17日

I​ couldn't get through it, a little tour of wikipedia would be far more enlightening:

-​ The lecturer remarks that application to the real world (and model fertility) are a goal of the course, but spends almost no time talking about real world applications.

-​ A lot of the lectures are getting bogged down in simple math: why do I need to go through look-up table examples for cellular automata?

-​ Lots of mistakes in each lecture, quiz questions are fairly poorly structured (asking who invented a particular model doesn't actually reinforce understanding)

-​ Class structure doesn't seem very thought out. Each category of models has an intro video that gives an overview as-if I were in a 10th grade english class, with 10+ minutes wasted with an overview where we should just jump right in.

T​o be honest, I'm not even very certain the lecturer understands many of the models he's presenting very well.

by terrylknox

2021年2月28日

The videos may be useful for some but are difficult for others to follow (attention, accessibility, and other issues). This, combined with the lack of reading materials available (none) make information - especially the maths component of the course - harder to understand and absorb, given the quick nature and short timeline of the course. Given that the quizzes contain some math problems, it would be more helpful to have reading materials and small exercises to prepare for those quizzes instead of redoing the quiz rendering the learning process poor.

by Ryan K

2017年2月14日

Cons:

-Too dated - links to many of the materials are unavailable.

-Instructors knowledge of some the models he cover is questionable (regression)

Pros:

-Covers a lot of materials

by Yuqin L

2021年2月14日

If your first language is not English, you will find it very hard to follow the video as the author talks too fast to understand.

by Stan M

2021年2月15日

dropped

by Maryam s s O A

2020年10月2日

/