Chevron Left
モデル思考 に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による モデル思考 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
2,084件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

人気のレビュー

YK

2018年4月6日

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

GK

2017年2月24日

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

フィルター:

モデル思考: 401 - 425 / 466 レビュー

by Xavier

2017年7月20日

I rate 4 stars for the originality of the theme of his course ... not really an academic thing as far as I know. Doesn't get a 5 stars because I would have wished something more formal and rigorous. Indeed many models are covered and the lack of proper definitions make some concepts "blurred"

by Nikita B

2019年8月31日

This course let me unserstand basic things about models, I think it was the target of this one. I would prefer to have more mathematics, more depth, but I think it is perfect for beginners, all topics in this course are quite easy understandable for the majority of people. Thank you!

by Andrew C

2017年6月29日

An fascinating but difficult course, especially if you are just doing it out of interest rather than having a background in the subject. There is a fair bit of maths which isn't difficult but is rather swept over if you haven't done any for the last 30 years!

by Samuel D

2020年1月10日

Broad range of modeling topics covered relatively quickly. Depending on your background, some of the concepts will be more or less difficult to understand. Nice way to familiarize and challenge yourself with new material at the same time.

by Roberto G R

2015年12月27日

This course is both very instructive and fun. The professor covers a lot of interesting topics. It would be better if he speaks a little bit slower, so the non native English speakers like me can understand all he is saying.

by Dmitry U

2016年2月28日

The course focus is broad and instructor is great. However, some particular models have been described too general, e.g. the lectures on Lyapunov functions had no connection to the ODEs and other mathematical phenomena.

by Christopher A

2016年1月10日

Very interesting course. It isn't a hard course whatsoever but the concepts you learn are very fundamental and can be applied in so many domains. Very important to be a well rounded thinker.

by zoeywang

2022年5月20日

The content of the course is good, but the organization needs to be improved, and the focus is not prominent, knowledge is extensive but the analysis is not deep.

by Milind G

2015年12月31日

A must do course for everyone.. It's a rejoinder to all those who say that what you learn in schools/colleges is of no use in practical life.

by Toke S

2016年3月27日

I found this course very educational and i feel brighter after finishing.

Modelthinking helps me to interpret the world and my surroundings.

by George T M

2019年2月25日

Model Thinking by the University of Michigan makes one a better thinker and helps one to understand practical situations using models.

by Nikita V

2016年2月19日

One of the greatest courses on MOOC! The only thing which is still hard to handle with is the temp of speech of the tutor. :)

by Luuk T

2016年1月16日

Contributed to making me a clearer thinker and was a good refreshment of material from my MSc Business Administration.

by Sid R

2016年1月28日

Love it! This is my first foray into model thinking. I wish there is a better way to say thanks to Professor Page.

by Venugopal B

2019年11月14日

Good introduction to the material. But don't depend on the lectures / course if you want to go deeper

by 李培春

2016年10月9日

The teacher is witty. It's a great course, but more mathematical calculating would be better.

by chandra s

2016年9月14日

I think everyone should take this course although some of the lectures are hard

by Kirk r

2017年9月14日

Good class. A little topical, I would have liked more time Net Logo.

by Albert N

2017年10月24日

The main takeway for me is the ability to understand complex models

by bob n

2020年7月2日

very interesting material, easy to follow, useful quizzes and tests

by Ross T J

2020年1月18日

Pretty good course. The book is also very interesting.

by Pietro P

2016年6月9日

I think it is terrific course - it is just right for me

by Salvador V P G

2020年5月18日

very good, format for this class have improve a lot!!.

by Joachim S

2021年11月3日

​Useful if you are curious about models in general.

by Roland v L

2018年2月9日

Very interesting material, lectures were a bore.