Chevron Left
モデル思考 に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による モデル思考 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
2,044件の評価
459件のレビュー

コースについて

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

人気のレビュー

AA
2020年11月23日

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

YK
2018年4月6日

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

フィルター:

モデル思考: 76 - 100 / 452 レビュー

by José R B R F

2017年3月10日

This is a very good course for many people. From engineers (I am one myself) to economists and policy makers, there is always something usefull. Also, the classes are fun to watch! I had a great time and learned a great deal. Thanks!

by Dave S

2017年3月31日

This was a fantastically nuanced, and challenging course. Out of all of the MOOCs I've done so far, this has really changed the way I see events around me and has led me to look for patterns in things I've never considered before.

by Hans D K

2019年9月20日

Excellent course to join the world of modelling (and big data). Very useful for marketing or regulatory/government affairs. Looking forward to deepening my modelling skills and applying them to real-life situations professionally.

by Charles C W

2019年7月22日

This course changed the way I think about many issues. The professor's enthusiasm was infectious and the quizzes contributed to the learning process. Only request would be for additional, higher level courses on the same topic.

by Callum H

2017年12月19日

I took this course at the University of Michigan and used the Coursera version as a study aid. This has been one of the most interesting and thought provoking classes I have taken in my academic career. Thank you Professor Page.

by Peter M

2016年7月10日

What a refreshing portfolio of perspectives on modelling! This course answered a lot of questions that I've been accumulating overtime in the 'unanswered' log in my brain. Doing this course felt like a long overdue spring clean.

by Matthew M

2021年12月30日

I appreciated this course's focus on providing students the tools to become a many model thinker. I found the content enlightening because of fresh insights it provided to previous coursework I took in economics and statistics.

by Valeriy N

2020年6月14日

The course is a great introduction to a fascinating world of modeling. It beautifully combines theory and practical application that encourages thinking about the world in a new, logical, and intelligent way. Highly recommend!

by Steve L

2019年5月12日

This is a great and challenging course for anyone who wants to learn and explore the fast changing world. The principles provided in this course serve as a strong foundation for us to be more productive as a global citizen.

by Gustavo S

2018年4月2日

Great professor and resources, relevant concepts about different Thinking Models, Markov, Lyapunov, Blotto, Linear, Categorial, Nash Equilibrium, Paretto Efficiency, etc.

Useful to apply on workplace and daily life as well...

by KeLi

2017年3月31日

The most inspiring course I've ever watched. Millions of thanks and respect to professor Page. I will absolutely watch it again until I understand everything he says and be capable of explaining the models to my friends.

by Ameer U K

2019年12月11日

An excellent course but to apply this practically would require one to be flexible in their understanding of the concepts and fit them into their current work and this is doable (a little bit of thinking out of the box)

by Davide G

2020年7月2日

Even if you already have a strong math background, this course will open your eyes: it will provide you with extremely useful tools to think clearly about important problems. Scott is a great teacher, 100% recommended.

by antonio q

2020年1月22日

A very good training, really pushed me to think in model terms, looking at most of the life aspect and see correlations, maybe causations, being challenged to use more models at once, I highly recommend this course

by Alexey M

2016年3月19日

It is really great course!

Thanks for making it available.

I think it is course that everybody should take before going into machine learning/data science. It may help you to make better sense of what you will learn.

by Sara D R

2016年3月11日

This overview of a variety of modeling concepts and applications was both challenging and interesting. The course requires study and effort which pays off with a broader perspective on simple and complex processes.

by AnhVu N

2015年12月21日

It is a very interesting course. The lecture is easy to understand and the lecturer is very friendly. I got a lot of interesting and useful knowledge not only for my jobs but also for my life. Thank you very much!

by Ritayan B

2016年6月25日

I found this to be extremely interesting. This is the course that you savour every second of. Both content and delivery are superlative. Highly recommended if you have any clue of what models are all about.

by Ross A

2020年8月18日

Excellent course showing some interesting ways to analyse social relationships using simple models. The lecturer is excellent: clear explanations, well organised and provides nice examples of the concepts.

by N G

2019年12月29日

One of the best courses I've seen. Broad coverage of different types of models and many have a place in the life of an analyst or data scientist. Excellent. I also strongly recommend Scott Page's books.

by Mark

2016年6月9日

This course is simply AMAZING!!! Thank you Michigan University, & Mr. Scott for your meticulous efforts in bringing to the world quality education in the most simplified pattern!!! Kuddos to Coursera!!!

by Michael C

2016年3月18日

Very good and inspiring course. It teaches around 20 different models, not overwhelming you with math but giving you nonetheless a good and solid introduction. Also, the reading material is really good.

by Denerson D P M

2018年6月24日

Excelente curso para desenvolver modelos analíticos que vão muito além do senso comum, de forma estruturada e crítica, a partir de dados e inferências estatísticas, matemáticas e sócio-comportamentais.

by Kleber G S

2020年11月20日

Ótimo curso !

Um dos melhores que já fiz, com certeza passei a enxergar múltiplas situações de forma diferente.

O Curso cumpre com seu objetivo de fazer pessoas melhores para um mundo melhor .

by Anshul T

2016年6月7日

Wonderful course and equally wonderful instructor. I really like how Scott builds up from a very simple model and by explaining the intuition behind how we got the math, explains the maths.