Chevron Left
Modern Art & Ideas に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による Modern Art & Ideas の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,935件の評価
1,259件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

人気のレビュー

AM
2018年1月14日

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
2020年6月7日

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

フィルター:

Modern Art & Ideas: 1201 - 1225 / 1,247 レビュー

by Kathrine I

2020年7月7日

I did enjoy the course information with mixed reading and videos, however....there were glitches in some of the modules. Make sure you recheck your weeks when you're half way through to make sure you've done everything required (2 quiz's suddenly appeared that I had not seen). Trying to download the final project was a challenge. Very confusing since they don't tell you there are 2 different finals. Took me hours to figure out why I was doing one final only to log in and getting instructions on a completely different one. And the cherry on top? I paid $49 to get a certificate only to find out it's one you print out yourself. What exactly was the $49 for?

by James S

2017年1月3日

Interesting and thought provoking course BUT the peer assignment tasks and evaluation criteria are moving targets that seem to be very hard to hit per my own experience and the discussion forums. Also what if you do not totally agreed with the IDEA that thematic presentation of art is the way that modern art has to be presented. And find themes as more of a way for art institutions to promote their own agendas and longevities. Which again is nothing new in the presentation of art but also can meander away from the artists' and art works' intent!

by Catherine S

2017年5月12日

I liked the content, but the assignments were really challenging to do on my phone. In fact I didn't finish because the final assignment was far to daunting to do on a phone keyboard and I was traveling without a laptop during the final weeks of the course. This course wasn't the best fit for the mobile app platform. With that said, the content was great and I really felt like I learned more than I expected from the course (which is all I really want from these types of courses).

by Ikan P

2017年11月6日

Very interesting and frustrating at the same time. Interesting because it enabled me to have a different approach of Modern Art and to understand it not only through a context (political, artistic, social, historical, ...) but also through the intimate life of the artist. Modern Art cannot be comprehended without at least those 2 lenses. Frustrating because I feel like there is still so much to say about Modern Art and we only had a glimpse through this too short course.

by Robin K

2020年5月23日

while I really enjoyed the course content and expanding my knowledge about Modern Art and Ideas, I was very frustrated with posting and being able to edit. For example, I have no idea how my last assignment was posted as it did not function as the previous reflection assignment. So with the technical issues I was not able to rate this a 5 star experience. Though I love Coursera and would do another class. If I was needing a certificate I would not be happy though.

by Amélie P

2018年6月16日

I love the topic of the course and the organization of modules. However, the videos are too short and too brief. I will like to hear more analyze about each pieces. It's should be relevant to have a professor who speaks to us about the works of art. The quiz should be more about the observation and analyze than about a close interpretation of a work of art. Thank you so much for the class! I discover a lot of artists.

by Mariana

2015年10月6日

The information, videos, links additional reading do provide important information. However this course is aimed at teachers and that is not clear from the title and much less with the small amount of articles that are related to teaching. This course also has lots of issues with its quizzes; getting no support from staff on technical matters or feed back on why a true or false questions is always wrong.

by Caelyn M

2017年1月23日

This course takes an alternate approach to understanding modern Art, moving it away from categories based on the time period in which art was made or what school the artist was part of and instead groups art work by theme. I really enjoyed all the pieces I encountered and felt like I had a somewhat better understanding of modern art after taking this course.

by Ju R

2020年9月12日

Navigating through the course is difficult, particularly the discussions and the final assignment. Finding out how to submit the assignment was complicated to say the least and some learners posted their assignments in the discussion forum where they could not be assessed. I cannot recommend this format to other learners.

by Márcia B

2017年4月30日

Although the course offers a very wide range of subjects and also additional recommendations for reading, the basic didactic material superficially explores the work of each artist. I am sure that MoMA team has the capacity to offer a deeper content.

by Хуго Д Е

2019年4月17日

I like this course. I really enjoyed it. But it was difficult because of language. I thought that this course will have more information in Russian language. Some videos and many texts was really challenging. Thanks any way.

by Bhavna K

2020年5月13日

I feel more videos of study material should be made available as well as each week's assignment should be graded by peer review. The course should have more interaction with course instructors as well as peers.

by daniela c

2020年7月27日

No es como otros cursos del moma, es mas exigente, dura 5 semanas con dos trabajos, uno calificado por compañeros, pero los temas se ven en mayor profundidad. Los materiales extras estan muy buenos

by Sheela N

2020年8月8日

The reflections weekly were good but the last assignment was frustrating so before one could read the review it was gone and peers rated it incorrectly, not fair student was penalised

by John

2016年5月21日

I've learned about some paintings and object, but the format of the course was weak. Should have stuck with the historical progression of Modern Art--tried and true approach.

by Tjasa D

2016年1月1日

I have no complaints over the content. I would however, change the final quizzes, which rely too much on one essay rather than on the videos or on other reading material.

by Marie L F

2018年2月25日

A subject much too wide and complex to be narrowed down into just a few weeks. Maybe offering more specific studies over several courses would have been more enriching.

by Learner I

2015年10月8日

Excellent concepts and content. Poor quiz composition and monitoring by MOMA staff of discussion. Logistical hassles tainted joy from the delivery.

by Julian

2017年9月28日

Maybe was the idea to entertain a little big to strong in this case. It is definitly an interesting course with good examples.

by Prathibha R

2017年5月6日

The commentary for each artwork has been cut short sometimes in the middle of the sentence. It is so dissatisfying!

by Loisita M V

2020年8月13日

There is so much to learn here specifically about art that inspires others to love with it.

by Elizabeth T

2020年4月15日

A very nice introductory course but could use so added depth in materials

by Vicky

2018年2月12日

Well presented and really interesting, I would just wish for more videos.

by Laura K

2016年8月11日

Very highlever, i would have enjoyed more technique to understand art

by Glenn O

2016年6月23日

Mostly a guide for teachers bringing classes to MOMA; weak otherwise.