Chevron Left
Modern Art & Ideas に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による Modern Art & Ideas の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,712件の評価
545件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

人気のレビュー

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

AV

Oct 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. My only issues with the class were the frustrations with the quizzes being graded incorrectly.

フィルター:

Modern Art & Ideas: 501 - 525 / 540 レビュー

by Ikan P

Nov 06, 2017

Very interesting and frustrating at the same time. Interesting because it enabled me to have a different approach of Modern Art and to understand it not only through a context (political, artistic, social, historical, ...) but also through the intimate life of the artist. Modern Art cannot be comprehended without at least those 2 lenses. Frustrating because I feel like there is still so much to say about Modern Art and we only had a glimpse through this too short course.

by Ammar J R

Sep 03, 2017

such a great experience !

by Julian

Sep 28, 2017

Maybe was the idea to entertain a little big to strong in this case. It is definitly an interesting course with good examples.

by John

May 21, 2016

I've learned about some paintings and object, but the format of the course was weak. Should have stuck with the historical progression of Modern Art--tried and true approach.

by eimear

May 17, 2017

Would have liked more lecture format and less reading.

by Márcia B

Apr 30, 2017

Although the course offers a very wide range of subjects and also additional recommendations for reading, the basic didactic material superficially explores the work of each artist. I am sure that MoMA team has the capacity to offer a deeper content.

by Laura K

Aug 11, 2016

Very highlever, i would have enjoyed more technique to understand art

by Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Mostly a guide for teachers bringing classes to MOMA; weak otherwise.

by Mariana

Oct 07, 2015

The information, videos, links additional reading do provide important information. However this course is aimed at teachers and that is not clear from the title and much less with the small amount of articles that are related to teaching. This course also has lots of issues with its quizzes; getting no support from staff on technical matters or feed back on why a true or false questions is always wrong.

by Marie L F

Feb 26, 2018

A subject much too wide and complex to be narrowed down into just a few weeks. Maybe offering more specific studies over several courses would have been more enriching.

by Simon C

Jul 24, 2016

I have taken many courses on Coursera now, and I've enjoyed and learned a lot from most of them, but I have to admit I was disappointed with this one, despite having a deep interest in modern art and art theory. Here are some of my criticisms:

1. The course is aimed at teachers and art educators, which was not made at all clear on the course info page, apart from a single reference to the 'pedagogical framework'. If I'd understood this, I may well not have enrolled.

2. I found the course very basic, with no consideration of art theory beyond a level appropriate for classroom discussion. This is in contrast to many other Coursera courses, which have been pitched at graduate level or above. I don't really feel like I learned anything on this course.

3. The video lectures are very short and uninformative, but the weekly reading list is very long and much more time consuming that the actual tuition. I would have preferred a better balance between tutorials and reading.

4. The weekly quizzes were very short (six questions, where other courses typically have 20 to 30 questions per module), and and questions focus almost entirely on the pedagogical set texts, with very little attention paid to the art history or the works discussed in the tutorials. If you are not going to be tested on the material, what is the point of all that required reading?

5. The final peer-assessed assignment is lacking in instructions or guidance. For example, you are required to upload images of 3 or 4 artworks and discuss them. It is in fact impossible to upload more than a single image, but there are no instructions on what to do about this. People found various workarounds - uploading pdfs or Word documents, or zipped folders of images, but really, there should be some official guidance on this.

6. Comments made when assessing other students' work are not anonymous - this is unique in my Coursera experience, where anonymous marking is the norm, and knowing how fractious people can get when they are disappointed with their grade, I am not at all happy about having my name made available to them.

Overall, the only reason I persisted with this course is that I wanted to get a certificate with MoMA written on it. Too bad I couldn't have actually learned something as well.

by Prathibha R

May 06, 2017

The commentary for each artwork has been cut short sometimes in the middle of the sentence. It is so dissatisfying!

by Catherine S

May 12, 2017

I liked the content, but the assignments were really challenging to do on my phone. In fact I didn't finish because the final assignment was far to daunting to do on a phone keyboard and I was traveling without a laptop during the final weeks of the course. This course wasn't the best fit for the mobile app platform. With that said, the content was great and I really felt like I learned more than I expected from the course (which is all I really want from these types of courses).

by Joy S

Jan 28, 2017

Goes pretty quick

by Amélie P

Jun 16, 2018

I love the topic of the course and the organization of modules. However, the videos are too short and too brief. I will like to hear more analyze about each pieces. It's should be relevant to have a professor who speaks to us about the works of art. The quiz should be more about the observation and analyze than about a close interpretation of a work of art. Thank you so much for the class! I discover a lot of artists.

by Kate

Dec 26, 2015

This course is designed for school teachers and, perhaps, for art museum's workers. I'm neither, but I took this course because I'd like to know more about the modern art.

The course is essentially a merge of two independent parts, namely, videos about artworks and papers about different theories of education in art. I took this course because of artworks, so I was not interested in papers.

Videos were great; especially the first one in each lesson. Even my husband, who isn't fond of art in general, found these videos interesting. In videos, lecturer explains history and meaning of each piece of art.

Required reading was dramatically different. First, students are required to read at least 10 pages (art papers) about approaches in teaching AND at least 4 articles in museum's website PER WEEK. Actually, careful reading not just browsing does take a lot of time, in fact, it takes way more time per week than claimed. In addition, these reading were not useful for me! I am not interested in teaching art, and reading same facts about artworks that I've heard in lectures is waste of my time. Seriously, I and most of people grasp most of the ideas from the first time; even if not, I would watch the video again. Why should I do extra reading that brings me no extra knowledge?

On a good side, one can pass quiz without any reading. Just a bit of thinking process, and you pass with 5/6 or 6/6 score.

Overall, the course is attractive because of amazing videos. However, I believe that this course must be reorganized in two different courses - one would be about artworks and understanding of art, another would be about teaching techniques in art.

by Tjasa D

Jan 01, 2016

I have no complaints over the content. I would however, change the final quizzes, which rely too much on one essay rather than on the videos or on other reading material.

by Felix C

Jan 02, 2017

I very much enjoyed the setup of the course, that is the short introduction and then the discussion of different artworks per theme. However, I must say that I expected the course to be more thorough in the discussion of the different themes and artworks. I believe the course would benefit from a more in depth discussions of the artworks. This could for example include more background information about the artist or a comparison of different pieces by the same artist to better understand the artists' views and development through history. Such additions would elevate the level of the course and also help identify certain themes and events that often recur in art. To conclude, it was a very enjoyable course that help grasp basic concepts of modern art.

by Learner I

Oct 08, 2015

Excellent concepts and content. Poor quiz composition and monitoring by MOMA staff of discussion. Logistical hassles tainted joy from the delivery.

by Laura H

Oct 08, 2015

there were mistakes in the quizzes.

by James S

Jan 03, 2017

Interesting and thought provoking course BUT the peer assignment tasks and evaluation criteria are moving targets that seem to be very hard to hit per my own experience and the discussion forums. Also what if you do not totally agreed with the IDEA that thematic presentation of art is the way that modern art has to be presented. And find themes as more of a way for art institutions to promote their own agendas and longevities. Which again is nothing new in the presentation of art but also can meander away from the artists' and art works' intent!

by Caelyn M

Jan 24, 2017

This course takes an alternate approach to understanding modern Art, moving it away from categories based on the time period in which art was made or what school the artist was part of and instead groups art work by theme. I really enjoyed all the pieces I encountered and felt like I had a somewhat better understanding of modern art after taking this course.

by Хуго Д Е

Apr 17, 2019

I like this course. I really enjoyed it. But it was difficult because of language. I thought that this course will have more information in Russian language. Some videos and many texts was really challenging. Thanks any way.

by Lilia I

Jun 15, 2019

Not much new information, unfortunately.

by F. S M B

Jan 19, 2016

Quiz was not well structured and title suggested a different idea than what the course was really about. Its a teachers guide.