Chevron Left
Modern Art & Ideas に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による Modern Art & Ideas の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,723件の評価
549件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

人気のレビュー

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

AV

Oct 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. My only issues with the class were the frustrations with the quizzes being graded incorrectly.

フィルター:

Modern Art & Ideas: 476 - 500 / 542 レビュー

by Mathilde F

Oct 30, 2015

As a total new beginner, this course is really great and interesting. I've learn a lot about modern art in general and work of art in particular.

by Yee J

Nov 10, 2015

Good information. Can be a bit longer. Completed too quickly. Can improve on the quizzes

by Yan C

Aug 17, 2016

Ithink this course is unbelievably usefuland exciting but there weren't much information about educational method which was essentual,in my opinion. Thank you for your gripping course!!!

by Mario A S P

Feb 27, 2018

Great course!!! Now I know more about modern Art and creativity

by Peter J W

Sep 06, 2017

Thought provoking course topics. Very high level of course production as per usual from MOMA.

by Pepe L

Apr 01, 2017

very nice introduction for artist mind

by Kelly

Oct 17, 2015

I enjoyed this course, but am still trying to catch up on the reading! :) I would have loved to see a few more weeks, with perhaps longer and more in-depth videos and more themes and examples. I

by David D

Mar 06, 2017

I have to admit, there is a whole vocabulary to describe and 'embellish' some rather ordinary and otherwise non-significant objects considered as Art.

Please don't read this as a negative. I found the experience personally enriching. I also believe I will look at modern art with more openness and search for hidden messages. Still to be honest one sometimes has to feel taken advantaged of by some so called works. As they say not all that glitters is gold. But bravo for this MOOC offering!

by Manojkumar P

Dec 29, 2015

Nice Course

by Filip

Aug 16, 2017

LOTS of content if one have a lot of time, one can dig really deep into the subject. Very enjoyable videos. Also the themes by which the images are sorted is quite unique.

by Nicolás R M

Jul 17, 2017

I think is a nice course, it should have more artworks per theme

by Mary L R

Mar 20, 2016

easy course but the lecturers do know what they are talking about

by Julia S

Jan 22, 2016

On the one hand it's interesting course with cool (!) visualisation. On the other - it's very simple themes to discuss and there is a usual way to understanding process in art and society.

I hope you add new lectures about some directions in modern art, utility art and something like this

by Georgina P

Nov 25, 2015

IT's a course about how to teach ideas and modern art. Very interested. I recomend it to art lovers!

by Susan W

Jan 22, 2016

I enjoyed the course itself very much, and I intend to use ideas gleaned from it in my English classroom; however, I was not satisfied with the rating of the final project. I put a LOT of work into it, including eight artworks AND eight corresponding works of literature that inspired the art, and someone ( a peer, not an instructor) kept giving me "poor" as a rating. Not that I expected that ALL would be 3's, but a 1 is not a fair grade.

Just my two cents.

by Karla B V

Apr 12, 2018

It is good but I thought of it too short. I would have loved to see more artworks for every theme.

It was good, not a must but good enough to use your time on if you are an art lover.

by Sibongile M

Apr 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and am grateful for having taken it. Thank you MoMA so much. There are two things that I feel could be improved: the first is that the course is very short and covers a great deal of ideas, themes, artists and movements. It would have been nice to go more in depth into these themes, which would mean either making the course longer or making the focal points more specific as to allow for more in-depth discussion and understanding. The second is that it would have been great to learn more about artists of colour and of different parts of the world outside of the west, or "global north". Otherwise, this course reiterated that there is still a lot that I don't know but I am enjoying expanding my knowledge. Thank you for this!

by Patricio S R Q

Apr 16, 2019

Nice easy going way of learning something interesting and new for non-art professionals. Easy and short lectures, good exercices if you have the time.

by Leigh R H

Apr 18, 2019

Well done. I very much enjoyed the course and the learning experience. However, I feel that there are several teaching and technical issues, which, if addressed, and improved, would provide a more rewarding, less frustrating environment for the learner. First, I believe there should be an automatic word counter on each essay section to alleviate the issue with peer reviewers assuming that they can judge the number of words by just “eyeballing” the copy. On more than several occasions, the peer reviewer marked my essay down for exceeding the required length, when, in fact, my essay was not too long. In self-defense, I finally began adding the word count at the end of the essay, which immediately resolved that problem. Additionally, the final essay question for the essay is apparently confusing for the peer reviewers, as they seemed not to realize that the question posed was an either or format. So, I’m assuming that the sentence is simply too long and should be rewritten in order to make it more comprehensible. Also, I wanted to point out that it is difficult to compare three works of art In 300 words; the assistant director may want to lengthen the permitted essay word number a bit. I’m very impressed with Coursera and its available courses. I especially appreciate MoMA’s participation!

by Sree H N

Apr 25, 2019

I enjoyed learning this course thoroughly............

by Alexandre F

Jul 03, 2019

It's a great course, but I cannot find a way that it will be directly influent to my career, even as a creative director. It's always good to learn new perspectives but it's kind of a "curiosity course" than a professional one - for example, Seeing Through Photographs, it's being more interesting to me.

by Jennifer S

Jul 15, 2019

Enjoyed the course as content was interesting , relevant, and engaging. As I am not able to use the computer as well as younger students I found it difficult to know what tasks I was to complete at times. It took me longer to navigate around the pages. I had difficulty uploading the pictures to the site, possibly this is because I am in another country? Thanks for providing this course

by Katerina K

Aug 27, 2019

Great course, quick, modern, useful, interesting and funny!

by Ema E Y

Aug 31, 2019

me gustaria mas pruebas