Chevron Left
Modern Art & Ideas に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による Modern Art & Ideas の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,857件の評価
583件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

人気のレビュー

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

AV

Oct 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. My only issues with the class were the frustrations with the quizzes being graded incorrectly.

フィルター:

Modern Art & Ideas: 551 - 575 / 576 レビュー

by John

May 21, 2016

I've learned about some paintings and object, but the format of the course was weak. Should have stuck with the historical progression of Modern Art--tried and true approach.

by Márcia B

Apr 30, 2017

Although the course offers a very wide range of subjects and also additional recommendations for reading, the basic didactic material superficially explores the work of each artist. I am sure that MoMA team has the capacity to offer a deeper content.

by Julian

Sep 28, 2017

Maybe was the idea to entertain a little big to strong in this case. It is definitly an interesting course with good examples.

by Tjasa D

Jan 01, 2016

I have no complaints over the content. I would however, change the final quizzes, which rely too much on one essay rather than on the videos or on other reading material.

by Catherine S

May 12, 2017

I liked the content, but the assignments were really challenging to do on my phone. In fact I didn't finish because the final assignment was far to daunting to do on a phone keyboard and I was traveling without a laptop during the final weeks of the course. This course wasn't the best fit for the mobile app platform. With that said, the content was great and I really felt like I learned more than I expected from the course (which is all I really want from these types of courses).

by Joy S

Jan 28, 2017

Goes pretty quick

by Kate

Dec 26, 2015

This course is designed for school teachers and, perhaps, for art museum's workers. I'm neither, but I took this course because I'd like to know more about the modern art.

The course is essentially a merge of two independent parts, namely, videos about artworks and papers about different theories of education in art. I took this course because of artworks, so I was not interested in papers.

Videos were great; especially the first one in each lesson. Even my husband, who isn't fond of art in general, found these videos interesting. In videos, lecturer explains history and meaning of each piece of art.

Required reading was dramatically different. First, students are required to read at least 10 pages (art papers) about approaches in teaching AND at least 4 articles in museum's website PER WEEK. Actually, careful reading not just browsing does take a lot of time, in fact, it takes way more time per week than claimed. In addition, these reading were not useful for me! I am not interested in teaching art, and reading same facts about artworks that I've heard in lectures is waste of my time. Seriously, I and most of people grasp most of the ideas from the first time; even if not, I would watch the video again. Why should I do extra reading that brings me no extra knowledge?

On a good side, one can pass quiz without any reading. Just a bit of thinking process, and you pass with 5/6 or 6/6 score.

Overall, the course is attractive because of amazing videos. However, I believe that this course must be reorganized in two different courses - one would be about artworks and understanding of art, another would be about teaching techniques in art.

by Amélie P

Jun 16, 2018

I love the topic of the course and the organization of modules. However, the videos are too short and too brief. I will like to hear more analyze about each pieces. It's should be relevant to have a professor who speaks to us about the works of art. The quiz should be more about the observation and analyze than about a close interpretation of a work of art. Thank you so much for the class! I discover a lot of artists.

by Хуго Д Е

Apr 17, 2019

I like this course. I really enjoyed it. But it was difficult because of language. I thought that this course will have more information in Russian language. Some videos and many texts was really challenging. Thanks any way.

by Lilia I

Jun 15, 2019

Not much new information, unfortunately.

by davide

Dec 31, 2015

so so

by Anthony J S

Oct 13, 2015

Nice idea, but too many technical difficulties. I tried to complete quiz 4 nine times and eventually passed the deadline. And in order to submit my final assignment I had to embedded my images into a word doc and export it as a PDF... I won't get extra marks for being able to work THAT out! ; )

I did enjoy the rest of the course though. Thanks for all your efforts.

by Stephen R

Oct 04, 2015

A really interesting course on a fascinating and often misunderstood topic. It could be vastly improved by doing away with the peer assignment review requirement.

by Krisztian S

Dec 30, 2015

This course is solely for teachers, on how to tech art to elementary school pupils. Very basic. Most of the content is available on the MoMA's website. Disappointing.

by Angel W

Feb 18, 2016

This course gives introduction of plenty of artworks from MoMA, but it will be more interesting if it shows more details and explanations about the artwork itself or the background of the time and the society.

by F. S M B

Jan 19, 2016

Quiz was not well structured and title suggested a different idea than what the course was really about. Its a teachers guide.

by Laís L

Jul 07, 2017

Good.

by Irma R

Sep 05, 2015

The concept of this course is unique and pretty interesting, but videos are too short, basic and non-specific, they have vague connection with the rest of the materials. And the design of the tests and assignment is just awful. The questions with multiple choice work wrong: marking all the right answers is not appropriate, you must choose the "all of the above" option, but it is wrong because of formal logic. The correct option here is only to match all the answers and the "all of the above" line. Also many questions are debatable, and there is no answers in the materials for the course. And, finally, the uploading of the last assignment was just impossible for more than a week, and I don't know if it will ever be possible. Bad experience.

by Marha A S

Jul 01, 2019

PEER GRADING IS SO SLOW WE DON'T GET IT AS WE WISH

by Mathieu G

Dec 02, 2018

just a list of art pieces without real analysis or explanation. Not very instructive...

by Ilean S

Feb 07, 2019

no es para mi

by Павел П

Oct 21, 2018

bullshit for kids

by Sharon W

Nov 14, 2017

Extremely difficult to use. Videos did not load, material was difficult to access. Very frustrating and set high obstacles to any learning. Most disappointing.

by Yang G

Feb 15, 2016

repetitive content with other MOMA courses (seeing thru pictures)?? duh, not gonna pay $50 for this. :(

by Sigurd T

Apr 11, 2018

This is the worst and most lazily assembled online course I've ever seen. It is simply a slide-show of select pieces of modern art with some rambling commentary that could mean anything. The quizes are unnecessarily tricky, but to top it all off participants have to write two 500 word peer reviewed essays at the end. Peer reviewed. Like a final "we don't care" from the authors. Can't believe I wasted hours on this.