Chevron Left
The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
318件の評価
70件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

人気のレビュー

MK

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

DE

May 04, 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

フィルター:

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II: 26 - 50 / 69 レビュー

by Angel V

May 27, 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

by Roberto D

Oct 01, 2016

Great course, great teaching !

by Leonidas T

May 14, 2016

Very interesting, well informed with thinkable ideas.

by Raymond C W

Feb 13, 2016

Outstanding course.

by Karen A D

May 30, 2016

An excellent course for getting an understanding of what's happening in the Middle East today. It's a very balanced an comprehensive treatment of the subject.

by A K

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent, interesting, thorough

by Carlos C

Jan 31, 2017

Get ready for a wild ride as you're taken on a journey from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring revolutions as Professor Susser presents the cold, hard facts about the Middle East and its dealings with traditionalism and modernity. Highly recommended!

by Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely good course, with the ability to impart an abundance of information in a short format.

by Arjun B

Mar 30, 2017

Very good course.

by Alfonso M P

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you for this overview of the history of the Middle-East. It makes the current situation there clearer

by Jayrome N

Jun 01, 2016

Knowing history is very nice experience.

by kasite U

Mar 29, 2017

great!

by (Rob)Wang S

Jun 19, 2018

Prof Susser has presented a detailed case on the politics after the collapse of the Ottoman. I have learnt a lot about the conflicts and struggles in the Egyptian, Syrian & Jordanian context. This is, in my opinion, worth knowing if you would like to grasp the mirage happening in the middle east currently.

by Monica L

Apr 08, 2018

Excelente curso, dictado de manera espléndida por el Dr. Susser, quien deshebra de manera clara y precisa los problemas que acontecen en el Medio Oriente. Muchas gracias al Dr. Susser por compartir sus conocimientos.

by James R

Jul 04, 2018

Excellent course! Although it is very good as a stand alone course, I highly recommend that you do the first part, even if you don't care about the Ottoman Empire or the origins of the Islamist movement (and the first part is a bit more challenging, I thought -- lots to remember). There is no way to truly understand the modern Middle East without this historical context.

by Bart S

Aug 25, 2017

excellent, please repeat course

by Alex R

Jan 03, 2016

Very interesting course - loaded with insights and information. Thank you very much prof. Susser

by Ying X

Feb 23, 2017

learned a lot about Middle East Politics during the period of 1950s to 1990s

by Bob F

Feb 15, 2017

Exactly as Part 1 the lectures of Part ii were lean yet fully comprehensive. I would put them in the top five of the courses I have taken on line with Coursera. Congratulations to the professor and his university.

by Priyanka S

Dec 10, 2015

Excellent course, I'm really enjoying the lectures.

by Tomer U

Mar 12, 2016

great course and most helpful these days

by Thomas E

Dec 04, 2015

Thanks for this enlightening course! I understand much better than before what has been going on for two centuries in the middle east.

by Serdar B

Jan 20, 2018

It would be much informative if the lectures are in chronogical order (year wise) instead of region (country wise). I think there should be Part III as well.

by Mohamed F A A

May 18, 2017

i really was enjoying take this course thanks

by Joseph C

Nov 30, 2015

Good course. Very informative - lots of important information. Nicely done.