Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
717件の評価
178件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 151 - 175 / 178 レビュー

by wen z

Jun 02, 2020

worth it!

by Aparicio C C

Jan 19, 2020

Excelent.

by Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

by Carolina P d S

Aug 05, 2017

wonderful

by Hossein D

Dec 22, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

by Deleted A

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

by Armie M

Feb 04, 2018

I

by John

May 21, 2016

Q

by María C A

Jun 02, 2020

I really enjoyed the readings and videos. Also, I liked the assignments because they were challenging but possible to do. And I think the correction system works. But I think the forum organization could be better. When I was writing the essays I wanted to post ideas, questions, resources, but everything was invaded by requests from peers to correct their essays. I know everyone is anxious to get their corrections, but maybe all of the posts related to that topic can be gathered in one place so other discussions can take place. I think ideas and resources exchange is a big part of studying, and as in this course the classes are not live, the forum is the only available place for that.

I just wanted to say that because I enjoyed the course and really liked professor Roth's classes. I'm really thankful for that.

by Eimeren

May 11, 2020

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

by Madhushree K

Jun 20, 2020

Wish the course would provide a framework within which essays ought to be written. For ex: One of my essays got marked as "plagiarised" because I didn't cite my sources. The thing is, I have never written academic essays after high school. I didn't even know there are supposed to be citations, or that there are different ways to go about them.

by Emmanouil P

Apr 04, 2017

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

by Alexandra L

Oct 16, 2015

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

by frank t

Oct 18, 2015

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

by Chris R

May 19, 2020

Great course. As stated in the title this is very much a part one and lays the foundations for the topic by looking at the enlightenment and build up to modernity, which are covered in more detail in part 2.

by Patricia M

Oct 02, 2015

Very interesting lectures. I found this to be a very good learning opportunity. The professor has a very good grasp of his topic.

by Tobias G

Oct 12, 2015

The presentation of Kant's philosophy is quite inaccurate. All in all, though, this is a great course!

by Uttam S

May 17, 2017

Great course! Writing assignments were really helpful.

by Warren C

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

by Richard B

Sep 04, 2015

though the flow of ideologies eventually became distinguishable, the comments on the several artists and philosophers noted were woefully uninformed and inadequate, even distorted, and the professor's eventual humming and hawing, irritating in the extreme, suggested that he was not at all prepared for his lectures - the final presentation of paintings without commentary at all was thus both a relief from his indecision and, at all of twenty minutes, an outrageous waste of time having left all of these however masterful works without any appreciable context

by İLKİN B

Oct 20, 2015

On scientific and philosophical reflections there are unbalanced focusing and biased approach to Enlightenment tradition of thoughts and Utilitarions views in particular, on the very contrary to what Prof. Shapiro explains in his MOOC "Moral Foundations of Politics".

by Smorzando

May 07, 2020

通識向,入門級,科普西方現代性,教授人很可愛,但是講話經常有結巴,相比之下在耶魯的mooc會是我更喜歡的風格。脈絡不是很統一,尤其是從理論學說突然轉變成詳細介紹福樓拜小說,現代性思想的變更是著重於理論的,突然好幾課著重介紹小說文本本身的句子有多美,我覺得欠考慮,著重其帶來的思想意義和社會變革比較符合課程的核心。

by Andressa C

Sep 14, 2015

It's a little annoying, because the videos are the same all the time... but the professor is very good, he knows so much about filosofy!

by Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Only average. Much is said, little information delivered.

by Nicholas K

Mar 01, 2016

Interesting start to week 1, looking forward to week 2.