Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
743件の評価
189件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 76 - 100 / 188 レビュー

by Nurit G

Dec 05, 2015

I enjoyed the course. The lecturer skillfully mixes philosophy and art sources to get us into the world of enlightenment and modernity.

by Maria E H

May 08, 2017

The professor is highly engaging and explains the material in a succinct and enjoyable manner as well as making the course a pleasure!

by Yamuna B

May 28, 2020

Really informative, and life-changing. I finished both parts and I am really content, and better off in life because of the course.

by EFRIN G

Feb 11, 2020

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

by Maria M

Apr 12, 2020

Thank you Pr. Roth! One of the best professors i've ever had! Enthusiasm + passion + tons of informations = an excellent course!!!

by Clarissa P

Sep 04, 2015

Interesting and thought provoking, the professor has an engaging style and it encourages me to explore these areas in more detail.

by Damián L

Oct 24, 2016

Excellent course! Very educational and an interesting refresher on college-level philosophy courses. Waiting for part 2!

by Bergthor S

Oct 01, 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

by Petro S

Mar 21, 2017

Extremely well organised, breathtaking lectures. Strongly recommend to those who are interested in philosophy!

by Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

by Asa Z

May 04, 2020

A great course with very clear and insightful teaching. Readings can be a lot but very rewarding in the end!

by Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures. Dr. Michael Roth is an excellent intellectual historian.

by Randall L B

May 07, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Exploring the Communist Manifesto was especially interesting.

by lin x

Sep 13, 2016

It's very informative in terms of content while interesting with the speaker's personal style.

by David A S

Sep 11, 2016

Roth is the professor I spend every semester's first week hoping my professors turn out to be.

by Drayson N

Sep 04, 2016

Imperative to a responsible understanding of the contemporary world and what brought it about.

by Christian T

Jun 04, 2020

A great course, adequate subject matter, points were made clear by lecturer. I will recommend

by Anna C

Feb 20, 2016

I have found this course excellent and I am still enthusiastic about its interdisciplinarity.

by Remington C

Jan 02, 2016

Great teacher, fascinating ideas. The reading was pretty intense, but I loved that about it.

by penn w

Apr 11, 2016

This class is wonderful and i'm looking forward to re-taking it when it becomes available.

by Fogan A

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

by Jian Z

Sep 28, 2015

Professor Roth is awesome breezing in all major modern and postmodern philosophy, litera

by Ritwik B

Apr 24, 2020

It was a very helpful course. Professor President is excellent. Overall, great course!

by Mandy

Jun 17, 2017

This is a great course, it is coherent and interesting. Just very well put-together.

by daniel f d p

Dec 10, 2019

muy interesante, textos sencillos de leer y explicaciones sencillas y argumentadas