Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
827件の評価
222件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

JR
2019年8月1日

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM
2016年1月7日

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 176 - 200 / 220 レビュー

by Joyce Z

2016年1月24日

very systematic~

by Marcelo R

2017年7月8日

extraordinaire!

by Neal G

2020年7月15日

Well presented

by Leonardo C d S

2020年12月30日

Great course!

by Alex J

2020年6月8日

Great course!

by Accelerator

2019年10月26日

good lecture

by Jon C

2016年4月12日

Great class!

by Mónica M G

2016年8月14日

excellent!

by Beatriz S

2016年5月19日

Wonderful!

by Mike H

2015年10月21日

very clear

by wen z

2020年6月2日

worth it!

by Aparicio C C

2020年1月19日

Excelent.

by Claiton V V d S

2018年5月30日

Perfect!!

by Carolina P d S

2017年8月5日

wonderful

by Hossein D

2017年12月22日

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

by Deleted A

2019年2月28日

awesome

by Armie M

2018年2月4日

I

by John

2016年5月21日

Q

by María C A

2020年6月2日

I really enjoyed the readings and videos. Also, I liked the assignments because they were challenging but possible to do. And I think the correction system works. But I think the forum organization could be better. When I was writing the essays I wanted to post ideas, questions, resources, but everything was invaded by requests from peers to correct their essays. I know everyone is anxious to get their corrections, but maybe all of the posts related to that topic can be gathered in one place so other discussions can take place. I think ideas and resources exchange is a big part of studying, and as in this course the classes are not live, the forum is the only available place for that.

I just wanted to say that because I enjoyed the course and really liked professor Roth's classes. I'm really thankful for that.

by Eimeren M

2020年5月11日

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

by Lynne H

2020年8月4日

This course was excellent; Michael Roth is an excellent lecturer who clearly knows his subjects very well.

My only wish is that this online course would find additional learning methodologies, other than lecture/videos for the entire course. (I chose not to do the written assignments and discussions). I particularly liked the final segment giving more context to the subject matter, through painting.

by Madhushree K

2020年6月20日

Wish the course would provide a framework within which essays ought to be written. For ex: One of my essays got marked as "plagiarised" because I didn't cite my sources. The thing is, I have never written academic essays after high school. I didn't even know there are supposed to be citations, or that there are different ways to go about them.

by Emmanouil P

2017年4月4日

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

by Katy S

2015年10月16日

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

by frank t

2015年10月18日

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten