Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
880件の評価
239件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

NM
2016年1月7日

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR
2019年8月1日

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 201 - 225 / 238 レビュー

by Wen Z

2020年6月2日

worth it!

by Aparicio C C

2020年1月19日

Excelent.

by Claiton V V d S

2018年5月30日

Perfect!!

by Carolina P d S

2017年8月5日

wonderful

by Hossein D

2017年12月22日

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

by Deleted A

2019年2月28日

awesome

by Armie M

2018年2月4日

I

by John

2016年5月21日

Q

by María C A

2020年6月2日

I really enjoyed the readings and videos. Also, I liked the assignments because they were challenging but possible to do. And I think the correction system works. But I think the forum organization could be better. When I was writing the essays I wanted to post ideas, questions, resources, but everything was invaded by requests from peers to correct their essays. I know everyone is anxious to get their corrections, but maybe all of the posts related to that topic can be gathered in one place so other discussions can take place. I think ideas and resources exchange is a big part of studying, and as in this course the classes are not live, the forum is the only available place for that.

I just wanted to say that because I enjoyed the course and really liked professor Roth's classes. I'm really thankful for that.

by Patrícia R M P

2021年10月3日

The course has strong references, mainly in the areas of philosophy and classic literature. I was delighted while exploring all the different approaches and impressions made by such renowned figures. It offers extended material and insight for access knowledgeability on an array of diverse subjects. Delving deep in the long readings and accessing the week's assignment on time can be quite a challenge. I am currently delving into Part 2 of this course, as I mostly want to engage with different philosophical viewpoints while making the necessary adaptations following my thought and life view.

by Divulgación f

2021年6月16日

T​engo una sensación agridulce del cuirso. El contenido y desarrollo del mismo adelantado por el profesor es inmejorable: excelente didáctica, gran campo de contexto nada que mejorar. Sin embargo, me pareció terrible el sistema de evaluación de los escritos, no me parece este sistema algo serio, pues no se sabe realmente quien realiza la evaluación y la competencia que tiene para realizar dicha evaluación. Este último elemento desvaloriza la riqueza que el mismo curso ofrece.

by Eimeren M

2020年5月11日

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

by Lynne H

2020年8月4日

This course was excellent; Michael Roth is an excellent lecturer who clearly knows his subjects very well.

My only wish is that this online course would find additional learning methodologies, other than lecture/videos for the entire course. (I chose not to do the written assignments and discussions). I particularly liked the final segment giving more context to the subject matter, through painting.

by Madhushree K

2020年6月20日

Wish the course would provide a framework within which essays ought to be written. For ex: One of my essays got marked as "plagiarised" because I didn't cite my sources. The thing is, I have never written academic essays after high school. I didn't even know there are supposed to be citations, or that there are different ways to go about them.

by Emmanouil P

2017年4月4日

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

by Katy S

2015年10月16日

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

by frank t

2015年10月18日

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

by Chris R

2020年5月19日

Great course. As stated in the title this is very much a part one and lays the foundations for the topic by looking at the enlightenment and build up to modernity, which are covered in more detail in part 2.

by Pat M

2015年10月1日

Very interesting lectures. I found this to be a very good learning opportunity. The professor has a very good grasp of his topic.

by Tobias G

2015年10月12日

The presentation of Kant's philosophy is quite inaccurate. All in all, though, this is a great course!

by SANJIV M

2020年9月9日

One of the amazing tutor I came across, was totally immersed by the lectures.

by Gloria J M

2020年8月31日

Excellent content and lectures. Expectations for writing assignments unclear.

by Douglas B

2021年2月24日

The peers review assignments were challenging. Be warned....

by Uttam S

2017年5月17日

Great course! Writing assignments were really helpful.

by Warren C

2019年1月25日

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.