Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
788件の評価
214件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

人気のレビュー

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

フィルター:

The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910: 1 - 25 / 215 レビュー

by Neil H

Jan 16, 2019

An exceptional experience. I did it first back in 2014, with all the tests. I have since downloaded it and been through the videos for parts 1 and 2 several times. If you want a broad understanding of the last 250 years of history you will find this hard to beat.

by Oscar T

Dec 30, 2018

Master in the use of the "why?" in history. Very pedagogical presentations with profound historical insight. ¡Mejor imposible!

by Kelvin L

Jan 10, 2019

This is a very informative and inspiring course. I have recommended it to my wife and my son. Also I googled the professor's profile and my impression was: WOW!!!

by Helena K

Jan 09, 2019

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

by Aya K

Mar 02, 2019

Thank you very much for your lectures on history

by Jane E K

Mar 05, 2019

An excellent course for History fanatics!

by Liya X

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

by Simon G

Apr 04, 2019

Fascinating course, Professor Zelikow is great.

by Gonzalo B V

Dec 28, 2018

Overall, excellent, the explanations have been brilliant.

I have however missed some further details as to what was going on in places like Latin America (nothing said in the course) or India and Sub-saharian Africa (almost inexistent in the course).

I fully appreciate the above have been minor players during the last 2 centuries, but certainly there were some events and changes in these countries in that time.

by David E

Jan 01, 2016

This is an excellent survey of the long 19th Century through WW II with a marvelous ' lagniappe' of very thoughtful coverage to 2013. I think that covering the events of the last two generations is very difficult without the credibility gained via a consistent approach to what came before. This course provided that consistency.

I now have a new appreciation of 'what came before' and a reminder, thanks to Philip Zelikow, to resist the constraint of thinking only via the history, outlooks and ideas of my lifetime.

Highly recommended.

by Diego P

Feb 29, 2016

Great course! I did it twice

by Ana C C

Jan 22, 2016

Great chance to have an overall understanding of the most important events of out time and being able to have it all opened up in detail, explained. At the end, you get confidence enough to be able to make your own judgment. No course could be better than this one in turning tin something easy to understand but not too simple.

by Olena

Dec 02, 2015

Great professor and very interesting presentation of the course material.

by Karen A D

Feb 26, 2016

Just a superb course, very enjoyable, not to mention helpful in understanding today's world.

by michael m

Mar 28, 2016

as amazing as part one. I always finish the lectures with an audible "wow." Great perspective on world events

by Eva L

Jun 20, 2016

I am a lifelong learner older adult. I found this course to be well put together and well executed. Professor Zelokow is well spoken, thoughtful, and thought provoking.

by James B

Jun 17, 2016

Interesting, well-presented. Instructor was congenial and the presentations were well-illustrated, including some humor.

by Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Thank you so much. Hope you do some in-depth one day. I can go on and on listening to your classes

by Gabriel O M

Jan 08, 2017

This is a terrific course, amazing prevention,

but it does lack reading material that Virginia's full online course has,

it would be nice to have a deeper engamente with the subjects.

by Mustafa W

Jan 10, 2016

Good!

by Michael C

Jun 07, 2017

Fantastic professor, real Ivy League presentation. The highest level of training that you can receive around the world, ive had lectures from the US, Mid East, Europe and anywhere in the east. I don't know what ? I can receive from the US Colleagues other than I can receive in any other Uni's. Wow... Keep it coming , keep iy coming, I dont know what to expect from the US either, propaganda,. what ???

by Simon W

Apr 11, 2016

Fantastic course, linking broad themes and insights complemented with many secondary resources (maps, artwork, letters, voice recordings). Professor Zelikow is excellent. Highly recommended.

by Etore S

Sep 11, 2017

A fantastic jorney. An opportunity to reflect the historical choices and consequences of humankind since the industrial revolution. Excelent course.

by Gianfranco P

Jul 07, 2017

Invaluable insights

by Helmer J N

Sep 17, 2017

Superb!