Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
2,549件の評価
661件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

人気のレビュー

MC

2018年11月5日

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

DT

2022年3月17日

Excellent if concise overview of a fascinating period of Global History. Presented in a very engaging manner but with a logicakl structure to tie together what often appeared to be disparate strands.

フィルター:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910: 76 - 100 / 655 レビュー

by Alexandre Z

2016年6月8日

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

by Gary C

2015年12月22日

I have learnt a great deal in this course. A vast amount of history is covered in a logical and thematic manner. The professor's style is relaxing and warm. He is also well organised and lucid and because of this my learning was enhanced. This is a great course for those, like me, who are new to the history of these events.

by Charmaine L

2019年1月5日

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

by Vincent K

2022年1月19日

Excellent course. Presented a more meaningful way to study history than the traditional method of who, what, where, when. A deeper understanding to the way people at the time thought and reacted to the issues they were experiencing, and how their actions, or inactions led to subsequent issues and problems.

by Santiago M

2015年10月16日

Es un curso donde se puede aprender mucho, además el profesor Zelikow habla con una espontaneidad excelente que lo atrapa en el curso y quiere seguir viendo más temas. El contenido del curso es excelente y las herramientas con las que cuenta para dar a entender el contenido de forma online es aún mejor.

by Kylee R

2017年10月1日

This course is fantastic! It is rigorous, yet Professor Zelikow skillfully makes the complex material very accessible. His enthusiasm is infectious. I greatly appreciate the efforts of Professor Zelikow, the University of Virginia and Coursera in making this course available. I can't wait to do Part 2!

by Qiyu T

2019年8月23日

Very well organized content! I love Professor Zelikow's way of teaching, he really draws the big picture of the global history and helps me to understand not only on what happened, but also why that happened. I can link what he teaches in the nowadays world. I would love to continue studying with him!

by Abhimanyu K

2015年9月30日

It was a great course and Mr. Zelikow is such a noble soul. I loved studying from him. In this information age, MOOCs will revolutionize education when people like us from far away countries have the chance learn from these terrific professors from all across the world. Thank You professor once again.

by Jorge P

2017年8月11日

Excellent, insightful presentation of the "why?" behind the "what?" from 1760 through the Great Acceleration. The conversational style keeps things interesting and give one a good foundational understanding of the most important developments around the world, and is peppered with great little facts.

by Martin D

2022年2月28日

A very good, general overview of a fascinating period, and a necessary basis to understand what has been happening in the 20th century and is happening today. Illustrated with several examples, but never off-track and always keeping the big picture. It was really a pleasure to be on this course !!

by Samer S B

2020年11月26日

Absolutely overwhelming. I am a historian and I teach history in school, pursuing my masters degree, and I have never been in happy taking a course as much I am happy now. This Dr is a genius, all respect to Dr Philip Zelikow. I hope one day I'll be having these interactive maps he uses, genius.

by Jose M

2020年11月22日

I learned about all the changes and procedures that had to take place in the world for it to be as it is today. Really enjoyed learning the reasons of the decisions made by important people in history and the course really gave me more affinity for the study of history and culture of the world.

by Sandra M

2019年11月11日

It is a very well analyzed view of history by grouping key concepts doctrines and sets of developments that are shaping the world leaders experiences decisions as well as the evolution of their societies. Much better than a strictly chronological historic recitation. Compliments to Pr Zelikow.

by Huda J

2019年9月13日

An absolutely complete and rich course carefully prepared by Professor Philip Zelikow. I feel privileged for attending his outstanding lectures. Grateful for learning such rich and complete content on World History. This course is going to make an enormous difference in my career and my life.

by Faisal M

2017年12月20日

As a teacher of History, this was an excellent professional development course which taught me new things and allowed me to refresh any previous knowledge. I feel a lot more confident going into my lessons and teaching the lessons that I need to get through. It's really good value for money.

by Lucas M S

2021年3月21日

Los contenidos expuestos en el curso son sumamente interesantes, el profesor tiene una habilidad innata para explicar los temas, y, en general, es un curso excelente, tanto para aquellos que ya saben algo de historia, como así tambien para los que estan recien incursionando en la materia.

by Li C

2022年3月3日

The instructor is excellent. He guides the students through the complex period with enough details about the events without losing perspectives of the broader picture. The insights about history being shaped by situations and choices are great reminders as we analyze the world today.

by CHRISTOS B

2020年5月2日

A very meaningful course. I learned lots of things about the history of other nations and the forces that spape the world we live now. And, more important, I saw ways of thinking about history of humans societies in order to understand better my society and the present. Thanks a lot!

by Ryan M

2017年11月28日

Philip Zelikow is an excellent professor whose extensive experience as a US diplomat certainly comes through. His explanations of why things happened and his in depth analysis of key historical events adds a lot of value to this course. I would recommend this to a friend any day!

by Ramnath S K

2021年1月11日

Anyone interested in the broader perspective of World History and not merely facts and dates, this course is the GO TO. Excellent insights. One should do both the parts in sequence. I have a better knowledge and perspective having done these courses. Wouldn't mind repeating them.

by Amanda C

2017年4月28日

Amazing course! Learnt so much, and gained a better appreciation of not just knowing what happened, but analysing the set of options available to individuals at that time to understand why history happened the way it did. Extremely engaging narration and curation of materials.

by Michael P M

2017年5月28日

I found this course to be extremely interesting and very well presented by Professor Zelikow. I was impressed with his deep knowledge of the subject and the way in which he could draw on wider lierary and artistic materials to further elaborate on the topics he discussed.

by Nishant K

2020年5月5日

It was a comprehensive course. The presentations were very much interesting and to the point. I liked the way things were approached and explained. Various concepts and complicated ones were very lucidly explained and it was a fun going through the presentations. Thanks.

by Admario L R

2015年12月6日

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

by Bryan C

2018年3月4日

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.