Chevron Left
Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
447件の評価
167件のレビュー

コースについて

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 4, 2021, and will conclude on November 15, 2021. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 4 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org . We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

人気のレビュー

WC

2017年3月20日

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

DB

2016年9月24日

Great Course. Great Experience. Everyone Should at least One Course from Coursera. I highly recommend it to all my students, friends, colleagues living anywhere on this earth.

フィルター:

Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”): 76 - 100 / 164 レビュー

by Stephanie B H

2020年11月21日

an extraordinary class that is at once, lecture, discussion, salon, and opportunity for thought, critical reading, writing and creative expression, ModPo demonstrates what the MOOC can be with sufficient commitment, resources and vision. Unforgettable and life-changing.

by Sayantani R

2022年4月20日

I fall short of words when I try to talk about this course. Al is a gifted professor who is also very generous, and his TAs are brilliant. I plan to stay here in Modpo world even though I've finished the course officially. Each year is better than the last.

by Lucinda J

2020年5月27日

Loved reacquainting myself with the familiar and exploring the unfamiliar and completely new. Will take this course again and look forward to lingering longer on the poems and poets who Inspired, moved and spoke to me here. Thank you, ModPo 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

by Fos P

2022年6月15日

O​MG this was an amazing course. I'm a lifelong student of poetry and I came in figuring that I might get a few new insights. I enjoyed and learned from every lesson. I savored the course (and it took me a long time to finish)!

by Deborah P

2020年12月27日

The best course on or off line I’ve ever taken. Spectacularly conceived, designed and delivered. Thank you thank you thank you ... fir all the briliant work and persons associated with this magnificent educational experience.

by Laura M

2020年9月2日

One of the best MOOCs I've ever taken. I jump in and follow along every year. It's welcoming, interactive and the most involved online experience I've had with MOOSc. You really feel part of a community of learning. I love it!

by Lucy C

2016年11月22日

This is an exceptional course. The range of material, the depth of discussion and the support from staff and other students far exceeds many university courses on literature. This course will change your life for the better.

by Adrienne P

2021年5月20日

I've not had this much fun in a while. Sure, we've been in a pandemic, but there's nothing better than geeking out on poetry with people who really want to get a lot out of it. Can't wait to do it all over again. Cheers!

by Margaret L y

2020年11月27日

Excellent course and a pleasure to learn from Al and the TA's. I enjoyed every minute of it and realized my own style of poetry is very simple compared with the great poets.

Sincerely, Lisa Young

youngedits.wordpress.com

by John S

2020年8月28日

Wide range of great activities in a rich format. Not really finished it, though i did all the assessments. Need to go back and view number of lessons. Live attached zoom discussion was also amazing. THANK YOU COURSERA!

by SARA G

2021年1月5日

It is a very interesting and fascinating course! I really appreciated the way it was organised and the clearly understandable conversations about Modern and Contemporary American Poetry among ModPo members. Thank you!

by Quentin Y

2021年3月24日

'One word is too often profaned for me to profane it.'

I too used to believe poetry is no more than the lines-broken 'what' of prose, but now I understand poetry is the 'how', which helps me to LOVE POETRY better.

by Laura A

2020年11月16日

This is one of the most outstanding courses I have encountered. A fully immersive experience with rewarding debates, discussions and wonderful exposure to a variety of forms of poetry with endless "possibility.'

by Stephanie R

2020年5月1日

A terrific course. Sometimes the students' comments were wandering and full of hesitation and I would have preferred to hear more from the professor. But overall, I enjoyed the format and the content very much,

by Barbara K

2021年8月12日

T​his course has opened up the world and poetry like no other subject for me. The enjoyment and breadth of subjects, the language, sounds, the expression....... I could go on but I feel like I am on a journey

by Scrambled E

2016年12月10日

Best online poetry course ever! I highly recommend it to all writers, not just poets. The development of modern and contemporary poetry goes hand and foot with the development of American literature and art.

by Maria R

2018年6月24日

I really enjoyed how dinamic it was. Although the classes were like little debates, the professor was able to guide the students. When talking about poetry, I find this method very refreshing. Good job!

by David W

2020年11月6日

I learned a lot and enjoyed, had fun with and absorbed all of the reading I did and all of the readings others did.

I would take this course again (maybe I WILL) and would avidly recommend it to others.

by Celina C F

2016年9月21日

Excellent every way you look at it. Great discussions, learned a lot with all the poems and papers. Also, you get to be a part of a really great community. You will never feel lonely again.:)

by jake a

2020年12月5日

one of the best on-line courses on poetry I have seen. I learned so much from the course which helped me with my own writing as an amateur poet. Highly recommended.

by Jane W

2020年12月14日

This is a wonderful course taught by a talented group of people who love poetry and discussing poetry. Once you join this community, you will never want to leave!

by Ken H

2021年6月1日

The course is pretty much an unending source (and resource) of poetry and ideas about poetry up to the present day. New poets are being introduced constantly.

by Ian B

2021年11月11日

Outstanding, life-changing, and does not end even after "completed". Reveals the true potential of what MOOCs can be, and 99%+ fail to even attempt.

by Anu U

2021年5月1日

I was not a fan of poetry, found it hard to breakdown and understand. ModPo did a great job in showing me how to read and understand poetry.

by Raquel F

2021年8月20日

Es un curso fabuloso. He tardado tiempo en hacerlo porque quería empaparme bien de todo. Sin duda volveré a él. Gracias por esta maravilla.