Chevron Left
Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV) に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
70件の評価
19件のレビュー

コースについて

In the previous course in the Specialization, we learned how to compare genes, proteins, and genomes. One way we can use these methods is in order to construct a "Tree of Life" showing how a large collection of related organisms have evolved over time. In the first half of the course, we will discuss approaches for evolutionary tree construction that have been the subject of some of the most cited scientific papers of all time, and show how they can resolve quandaries from finding the origin of a deadly virus to locating the birthplace of modern humans. In the second half of the course, we will shift gears and examine the old claim that birds evolved from dinosaurs. How can we prove this? In particular, we will examine a result that claimed that peptides harvested from a T. rex fossil closely matched peptides found in chickens. In particular, we will use methods from computational proteomics to ask how we could assess whether this result is valid or due to some form of contamination. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to reconstruct an evolutionary tree of ebolaviruses and identify the source of the recent Ebola epidemic that caused global headlines....

人気のレビュー

DD
2019年10月23日

Yet another course in this series with really high quality content. If you want to learn something about bioinformatics, you're in the right place.

RG
2017年7月19日

Covers the most important algorithms for phylogenetic trees. Fascinating exam

フィルター:

Molecular Evolution (Bioinformatics IV): 1 - 18 / 18 レビュー

by 龔峰榆

2019年10月20日

The two professors are really excellent teachers. It's a pity that I have to quit the course for some reason, so I only finish 88%. But I'll be back someday. Good luck to you all !

by Daniel D

2019年10月24日

Yet another course in this series with really high quality content. If you want to learn something about bioinformatics, you're in the right place.

by Robert G

2017年7月20日

Covers the most important algorithms for phylogenetic trees. Fascinating exam

by Pavel O

2021年3月31日

Good course for improving algorithmic skills and keep learning something new

by Zack X

2019年7月21日

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

by Samuel C

2018年8月17日

Fascinating material, and excellently presented!

by Arun P

2017年5月9日

It was an excellent & informative course !

by Edgardo P F J

2021年9月16日

C​hallenging but fun course!

by Yulan W

2016年10月2日

very useful!

by Yasmine E H

2020年7月27日

Interesting

by Weidong X

2016年10月30日

good.

by ­박준형 / 학 / 컴

2018年9月15日

.

by Christiane A

2017年11月6日

Good course material and challenging code problems!

Onde remark : the peer review was almost impossible to correct because the diagrams (trees) where of such lpoor quality that the numvers where almost completely unreadable!

by Ari B

2016年12月5日

At some point several instructors lost necessary passion to keep us focused. Otherwise it was a very informed and enjoyable presentation. Historical references are extremely important.

by Hercules P N

2017年8月15日

Although certain aspects of it were positive and in line with the quality of previous modules, this course had its problems. The biggest was the lack of alignment between weeks 4 and 5 (which would be better placed in Module 2) and the rest of it. It got worse due to the lack of Stepik support and material in the textbooks that would in theory accompany the course. This misalignment is also evident when we look at the quizzes and the final challenge, which hardly tackled the material of those two dreadful weeks.

by Bryan G

2016年8月15日

I would have enjoyed it more if I had had enough knowledge to do the Honors quiz!

I downloaded all the videos so I could play them over without chewing up my data, but the quality is so poor you can't always make out the writing - i's and j's all look similar. It would be better if the presentation material was bigger and the facilitator images smaller - you need only see a face, not the whole upper body in the foreground.

Nevertheless, I have been enlightened !

by ZIHAN X

2019年5月4日

The contents of last two weeks are very obscure. Without interactive text, it's very difficult to comprehend by watching short videos.

by Ho Y C

2019年7月28日

The programming assignments are difficult