Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
725件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 101 - 125 / 175 レビュー

by Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

by mathieu.primot

Oct 28, 2016

A very clear introduction to money

by Travis

May 15, 2017

This is an excellent course for those looking for a better understanding of how money & liquidity impact the global economy, particularly, how the transfer of risk through derivatives and swap contracts created a systemic risk of which few recognize until the financial crisis of '07-'09. I have a much better understanding of the interconnected nature of today's global financial system and the mechanism by which money and risk are transferred from taking this course.

by Pham T T

Mar 17, 2017

really very good !

by tomer z

Oct 05, 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

by 李艺凡

Jul 08, 2018

Very Good Materials

by Issah Q

Oct 18, 2016

goo

by Alexander

Mar 31, 2017

Astonishing!=)

by George G

Jun 07, 2017

Excellent!!!

by Aparajita K

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

by Sebas G

Apr 27, 2018

indispensable

by Silvina C

Aug 29, 2017

Great course, i really like how he started each class with the FT.

by Jasurbek B

Dec 25, 2016

Good MOOC with distinguished lecturer

by Sugam S

Feb 01, 2017

One of the best course I had till now. BEST!

by Vinay R P

Jul 15, 2017

Learned a lot from this course. Contains detailed information on Money and Banking .

Best part was when Prof Perry G Mehrling talks at the beginning of the course about relationship between the subject and analysis of Financial Times.

Having completed the course, I am able to understand the depth of challenge he threw.

by amarendra H

May 14, 2017

My ability to understand the functioning of Central banks and the effects of their actions on global financial markets have improved greatly after the completion of this course. Prof Perry Mehrling was greatly knowledgeable person and was very effective in transferring his in-depth knowledge through this course. I am glad that I have enrolled for this course and completed it successfully.

by hiroo y

Aug 12, 2017

It starts very simple, but this is really a profound course. Begining from "what is money", it looks into classic banking, how things changed in the shadow banking system, what money markets do and how the players operate, especially the role of market making brokers. If you have some economics and/or finance back ground, this will have your views stand on their head, and then come back on their feet. You will have a changed view on central banking. I don't think anyone can completely absorb this in one go, but it will provide really stimulating and eye opening views on every section of the lecture.

by Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

by Jorge C

May 28, 2017

Excellent course and concise overview! I highly recommend this course for the novice or advanced novice to the money markets. I walked away with a better understanding of that ocean of detail and theory, and I am now more confident knowing its effect on the capital markets. Most importantly, I know where to focus my time in this area and where to find key data/info given my career role. Thank you again! Best,

by Taras V

Jan 18, 2018

A

f

t

e

r

by Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

by Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

by Maduvha N

Oct 15, 2017

very informative

by Dr. N C K

Dec 30, 2017

Exactly as a MOOC should be! Great Professor

by Roberto A A Z

Apr 24, 2018

great teacher great understanding , but do you have courses on spanish?