Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
734件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 26 - 50 / 175 レビュー

by Iulia A P

Nov 03, 2017

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

by Franklin M

Apr 10, 2017

Fantastic, it is rare to found a course as profound as this in a MOOC

by Ming T D W

Oct 19, 2016

Completely change my view!!

by Carlos H

Dec 03, 2016

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

by Steven R

Feb 13, 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

by Marek D

Jul 28, 2017

Superb course. I work for an investment bank. I couldn't find single resource to understand broad picture of financial markets until I found this course. I recommend it to everyone, not only people working in finance but everyone who wants to understand modern world.

by Vusal H

Dec 10, 2017

This course is something priceless. Best course about money and banking in internet. The tutor was great. There is not a word to discribe the perfectness of this course.

by Jiao S

Apr 07, 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

by rohit r

Nov 02, 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

by Perikli P

Dec 04, 2016

Prof. Mehrling's ability to explain such complex items is just amazing. His passion in teaching as well as his neutrality are really thrilling. Thank you very much Professor.

by mathieu.primot

Oct 28, 2016

A very clear introduction to money

by Salvador R

Jan 30, 2017

Very good! Exceptional in its explanation of the modern bankin

by Beau B

Jan 19, 2017

One of the most interesting and fascinating courses I've watched on Coursera!

by Steven B

Aug 12, 2017

Excellent material and instructor.

by José G F Q d A

Nov 28, 2016

This is a truly superb course, probably unique in its breadth, depth and realistic, fact-based approach to teaching money and banking. I particularly liked the systematic use of balance sheets for the presentation of the materials, the emphasis on History and institutions to understand the contemporary banking system, the explanations on the hierarchy of money and credit and of how all banking is essentially an exchange of IOUs (mostly created from thin air). The transition from traditional banking to shadow banking is very well explained. The role of the Fed as a liquidity backstop for the financial system, the eurodollar as a source of global funding and the causes of the financial crisis are all clearly presented. I'm now eagerly waiting for an updated version of the course, since the recorded lectures are from late 2012.

by Atulya S

Jun 11, 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

by lingjie p

Mar 09, 2017

wonderful!

by Hussain A

Nov 16, 2016

Excellent Course

by Udit P

Aug 15, 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

by Nabilah N

Aug 26, 2017

A great way to revise a course that I did during my undergraduate. Especially because I have always found financial economics boring or hard to understand but Mr. Mehrling's lectures and reading materials are great resources to make it a fascinating subject to re-learn and finally understand.

by Jose R N D

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.

by Gerardo H J B

Aug 23, 2017

Extraordinary course! Really insightful.

by Ed G

Apr 12, 2017

Extremely interesting!

by 王星 [

Sep 04, 2017

Thanks very much!

by Alexandre Z R

Oct 25, 2017

I did in my local university a course in Monetary Economics and then I did this. This course it's not a traditional course, if you know previously something about it, you will recognize this is a lifetime work of investigation, theorization, of a academic passion about how this trully work in markets. It's not a easy course, I have to repeat many weeks to get along. But Professor Mehrling structured the course with reading materials that give you a broader understading, he uses real data to explain and exemplify, he reads FT and discuss. I'm so grateful for this course, before that I used to think I knew monetary system. Now that I know much more I'm aware of my ignorance. Hope some day he make another course, or just update this one with the new events in the central baking world.