Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
735件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 26 - 50 / 176 レビュー

by Sebas G

Apr 27, 2018

indispensable

by 贺维格

Dec 12, 2017

用会计的体系教货币的知识,非常有加值。强烈推荐!

by Silvina C

Aug 29, 2017

Great course, i really like how he started each class with the FT.

by Jasurbek B

Dec 25, 2016

Good MOOC with distinguished lecturer

by Vinay R P

Jul 15, 2017

Learned a lot from this course. Contains detailed information on Money and Banking .

Best part was when Prof Perry G Mehrling talks at the beginning of the course about relationship between the subject and analysis of Financial Times.

Having completed the course, I am able to understand the depth of challenge he threw.

by hiroo y

Aug 12, 2017

It starts very simple, but this is really a profound course. Begining from "what is money", it looks into classic banking, how things changed in the shadow banking system, what money markets do and how the players operate, especially the role of market making brokers. If you have some economics and/or finance back ground, this will have your views stand on their head, and then come back on their feet. You will have a changed view on central banking. I don't think anyone can completely absorb this in one go, but it will provide really stimulating and eye opening views on every section of the lecture.

by Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

by Kolybina A

Mar 28, 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

by Otar K

May 05, 2017

Sublime

by Zongxi Y

May 19, 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

by Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

by Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

by Roberto A A Z

Apr 24, 2018

great teacher great understanding , but do you have courses on spanish?

by Pham T T

Mar 17, 2017

really very good !

by Kee Y S S

May 31, 2018

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

by Cagdas R O

Jan 11, 2017

awesome professor interesting lectures thank you columbia university and coursera

by Sebastian S

Apr 03, 2017

Excellent course, excellent professor, extremely interestig topics, presented in an understandable manner. the only little con might be that the assignments are not appropriate (too easy). This course is a teaser and a perfect starting point for any substantial engagement in modern finance

by Carlos A D J

Apr 24, 2017

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

by Alejandro J A

Jan 06, 2018

Excellent!!!!

by Issa A

Oct 10, 2016

this is very well informative and well presented course

by PETER K

Aug 20, 2017

Excellent course.

by David G H

Dec 04, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best course I have taken in coursera. Both because of the contents, the approach and the professor. Surprising approach to the economy, and IMHO, one that once taken, is prevalent.

by Nicolas H

Dec 09, 2016

While the course presupposes a state and underconceptualizes or rather even ignores the law it still is the go to online course for anyone interested in the phenomenon that probably is as misunderstood as it is often mentioned: money. Specifically "global money". Perry has amazing teaching skills, too. You can tell he not only has taught this course a lot of times but he also loves what he's doing and keeps on getting an even better teacher. I've done this course multiple times and will probably keep doing it. There is so much in here to learn and to more deeply understand...

by Dmytro H

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course providing in-depth understanding of modern finances and banking.

by Zhang Y

Jan 19, 2017

Real course, learned a lot from Prof