Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
944件の評価
245件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 26 - 50 / 241 レビュー

by Jorge C

May 28, 2017

Excellent course and concise overview! I highly recommend this course for the novice or advanced novice to the money markets. I walked away with a better understanding of that ocean of detail and theory, and I am now more confident knowing its effect on the capital markets. Most importantly, I know where to focus my time in this area and where to find key data/info given my career role. Thank you again! Best,

by Brent S

May 15, 2020

Excellent course, Professor Mehrling! The lectures were insightful and clear. The course was challenging and the reading material a bit dense But in the end, I feel that I understand the importance of Professor Mehrling's Money View. The course is memorable because it built on the evolution of money and banking and wove into that story the inner workings of today's finance and banking system.

by amarendra H

May 14, 2017

My ability to understand the functioning of Central banks and the effects of their actions on global financial markets have improved greatly after the completion of this course. Prof Perry Mehrling was greatly knowledgeable person and was very effective in transferring his in-depth knowledge through this course. I am glad that I have enrolled for this course and completed it successfully.

by Denis M

Jul 11, 2017

This is a really good course tackling a very difficult subject.

Though my brain still hurts when I engage with the subject matter, I feel the lectures have shone quite a lot of light on the obscurities of money and banking. The lectures are clear and thorough and I particularly like the way the concepts we learn are brought to bear on current news (e.g. examining FT articles).

by Akshai R K

Jun 04, 2020

I can't stress how good this course was in all areas. His non conventional ways were always interesting and the avenues that he presented are really exciting way beyond comprehension. This course is suitable for those who want to know the basics of economics from a real working world perspective. To be honest, I am going to miss his class.

by Benjamin F

Aug 19, 2018

Really good, but because English is not my mother tongue I will maybe go trough the course a second time. The second half of the course is more demanding, but nonetheless interesting. To be honest I did not read all the articles by due time, some of them are quite long. This is the best course I finished so far on coursera.

by Vinay R P

Jul 15, 2017

Learned a lot from this course. Contains detailed information on Money and Banking .

Best part was when Prof Perry G Mehrling talks at the beginning of the course about relationship between the subject and analysis of Financial Times.

Having completed the course, I am able to understand the depth of challenge he threw.

by Bojie S

Jan 07, 2017

The content and idea provided in the course are simply amazing! The best ever I had on Coursera and I really appreciate all the research effort made by Professor Perry Mehrling. Hope many more people using Coursera could have a look at the innovative ideas explained by Professor Mehrling in money market and finance.

by Jennifer H

Jan 07, 2020

I am very lucky to find this course as my PhD thesis is about "the Banking evolution and bank performance". I looked for relevant literature to understand the phenomenon of Banking evolution and this course is exactly what I needed. Thank you very much! I am the one holding the minority view as well.

by Nabilah N

Aug 26, 2017

A great way to revise a course that I did during my undergraduate. Especially because I have always found financial economics boring or hard to understand but Mr. Mehrling's lectures and reading materials are great resources to make it a fascinating subject to re-learn and finally understand.

by Sebastian S

Apr 03, 2017

Excellent course, excellent professor, extremely interestig topics, presented in an understandable manner. the only little con might be that the assignments are not appropriate (too easy). This course is a teaser and a perfect starting point for any substantial engagement in modern finance

by Giovanni B

Mar 08, 2020

The most insightful economics class I've ever taken. After completion, I'm gonna join the Young Scholars Initiative of INET in order to further develop "my money view" and, hopefully, one day contribute to this thinking with new ideas. Thank You Professor Mehrling! And thank you Coursera.

by HP F

Mar 28, 2020

Being a central banker, I liked this course a lot - it showed me many new aspects of our role, not just in the area where I am working in (which is Treasury). I also liked many of the suggested readings a lot, especially those on the history and development of monetary policy.

by Carlos A D J

Apr 24, 2017

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

by Addison L

Dec 11, 2018

Fascinating course that has well-explained in depth information about viewing the financial and economic landscape from the "Money View" and studying the evolution of banks, hierarchy between money and credit, liquidity vs solvency, the survival constraint, and more.

by Marek D

Jul 28, 2017

Superb course. I work for an investment bank. I couldn't find single resource to understand broad picture of financial markets until I found this course. I recommend it to everyone, not only people working in finance but everyone who wants to understand modern world.

by Herve Y

May 19, 2018

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

by Carlos H

Dec 03, 2016

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

by Sheraz K

Feb 05, 2019

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

by Ryan C

Oct 22, 2019

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

by Iulia A P

Nov 03, 2017

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

by John M O C

Feb 15, 2020

This is very insightful on how banks and dealers are the ones who make the world go round. It also showed me how shadow banking is actually very useful and how the history of using money has developed over time and affects how we use money today.

by Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

by Kee Y S S

May 31, 2018

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

by Jose R N D

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.