Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,099件の評価
303件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG
2017年7月16日

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
2020年6月26日

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 51 - 75 / 297 レビュー

by Spencer H

2020年10月9日

A thorough walk through the money and banking system. Accountants beware, use of T-accounts in this course are sometimes truncated and counter intuitive. Would have liked more depth on cdo, cds, rmbs, etc... Mr. Mehrling is consistent, forthright, and suitable engaging.

by Carlos A D J

2017年4月23日

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

by Addison L

2018年12月10日

Fascinating course that has well-explained in depth information about viewing the financial and economic landscape from the "Money View" and studying the evolution of banks, hierarchy between money and credit, liquidity vs solvency, the survival constraint, and more.

by Marek D

2017年7月28日

Superb course. I work for an investment bank. I couldn't find single resource to understand broad picture of financial markets until I found this course. I recommend it to everyone, not only people working in finance but everyone who wants to understand modern world.

by Renan G M

2020年9月25日

Curso que fornece uma visão geral do que é realmente o dinheiro e como o sistema financeiro funciona (principalmente os bancos centrais e os dealers). Entretanto, para aqueles que pensam em se inscrever, tem que realmente gostar do assunto e estudar com paciência.

by Herve Y

2018年5月18日

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

by Varun C

2020年9月19日

It is a very informative course, dealing with the evolution of bank and the mechanism at which they worked in different phases. I would recommend people to take the course if they are interested in knowing more about finance and economics in money and banking.

by Carlos H

2016年12月2日

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

by Sheraz K

2019年2月5日

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

by Ryan C

2019年10月21日

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

by Iulia A P

2017年11月3日

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

by Yingjie W

2020年11月15日

Definitely one of the best online classes I've ever taken. Thank you so much Coursera and Columbia U and Professor Mehrling. This class completely changed my view on banking and money. It's particularly important to learn in a strange time like now.

by John M O C

2020年2月15日

This is very insightful on how banks and dealers are the ones who make the world go round. It also showed me how shadow banking is actually very useful and how the history of using money has developed over time and affects how we use money today.

by Bertrand K

2017年3月7日

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

by Kee Y S S

2018年5月30日

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

by Qi W

2020年8月28日

I enjoyed learning Prof. Mehrling's money view. During this class, I am impressed most by the importance of the lender of last resort during crisis and the impact of liquidity constraint has on both shadow banking and dealers.

by Filipe S R

2020年9月12日

O curso é excelente. Os aspectos do mercado bancário abordados pelo professor Mehrling não são aprendidos facilmente em outros lugares, além de sua "Money View" ser uma metodologia interessante para aprender sobre o sistema.

by Oonagh R

2020年9月21日

I really enjoyed getting a real world explanation of the 2008 financial crash but also an insight into how the 21st century banking system works. Would highly recommend, thanks Prof Perry - loved your passion and knowledge!

by Jose R N D

2017年1月27日

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.

by Sachit K

2020年8月20日

"Economics of Money and Banking" is a comprehensive and well-presented course with detailed study materials. It connects the theoretical aspects of academic literature with practical aspects of the modern banking system.

by Doruk

2020年8月13日

The teacher is really passionate about teaching and teaches the course with great and simple examples. Also the pop questions in the videos are effective to ensure that you learned the topic. An excellent course overall.

by Nadav A

2020年6月20日

Super intersting and relevant subject, Prof. Mehrling explains the subject matter in a way that is easy to grasp while not losing any depth and I find it quite useful in analyzing current events in the global economy.

by David V

2018年9月18日

Professor is incredibly knowledgeable, class is taught at a good pace, and videos are broken down into an order which makes sense. I really enjoyed my time with this course, despite not having a math background.

by David G H

2016年12月4日

Without any doubt, this is the best course I have taken in coursera. Both because of the contents, the approach and the professor. Surprising approach to the economy, and IMHO, one that once taken, is prevalent.

by Paul C

2017年6月30日

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.