Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
734件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 76 - 100 / 175 レビュー

by Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

by Kolybina A

Mar 28, 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

by Otar K

May 05, 2017

Sublime

by Zongxi Y

May 19, 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

by Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

by Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

by Roberto A A Z

Apr 24, 2018

great teacher great understanding , but do you have courses on spanish?

by Pham T T

Mar 17, 2017

really very good !

by Kee Y S S

May 31, 2018

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

by Cagdas R O

Jan 11, 2017

awesome professor interesting lectures thank you columbia university and coursera

by Sebastian S

Apr 03, 2017

Excellent course, excellent professor, extremely interestig topics, presented in an understandable manner. the only little con might be that the assignments are not appropriate (too easy). This course is a teaser and a perfect starting point for any substantial engagement in modern finance

by Dhruba D

Sep 10, 2017

Economics and Finance have always been explaining theories and concepts to students. Often when thought back/pondered upon, the theories are unable to explain all the queries of real life.

This course stitches through all the theories and present a very well thought out and a complete picture of the financial world. A very unique perspective and a rare perspective at that.

Highly recommended that you register and pay for this course. As it makes the learning so much more interesting, intriguing and gives us so much understanding of the money view of the financial world.

by Mikhail D

May 11, 2017

Excellent lecturer! Very informative and easy to understand.

by Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

by SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

by Denis M

Jul 11, 2017

This is a really good course tackling a very difficult subject.

Though my brain still hurts when I engage with the subject matter, I feel the lectures have shone quite a lot of light on the obscurities of money and banking. The lectures are clear and thorough and I particularly like the way the concepts we learn are brought to bear on current news (e.g. examining FT articles).

by Thoshitha

Jan 02, 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

by Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

by Ricardo C

Sep 18, 2016

Great course! Essential for anyone working in finance and economics.

by Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

by alexgesch

Jan 29, 2017

Great course with a lot of insights!

by Kevin T

Jul 18, 2017

Outstanding presentation all around !

by MAURICIO W

Aug 02, 2017

Very interesting

by Richard H

Nov 28, 2016

Thanks Dr, Mehling

by Herve Y

May 19, 2018

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!