Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
675件の評価
166件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 51 - 75 / 162 レビュー

by José G F Q d A

Nov 28, 2016

This is a truly superb course, probably unique in its breadth, depth and realistic, fact-based approach to teaching money and banking. I particularly liked the systematic use of balance sheets for the presentation of the materials, the emphasis on History and institutions to understand the contemporary banking system, the explanations on the hierarchy of money and credit and of how all banking is essentially an exchange of IOUs (mostly created from thin air). The transition from traditional banking to shadow banking is very well explained. The role of the Fed as a liquidity backstop for the financial system, the eurodollar as a source of global funding and the causes of the financial crisis are all clearly presented. I'm now eagerly waiting for an updated version of the course, since the recorded lectures are from late 2012.

by Kevin T

Jul 18, 2017

Outstanding presentation all around !

by Atulya S

Jun 11, 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

by MAURICIO W

Aug 02, 2017

Very interesting

by Richard H

Nov 28, 2016

Thanks Dr, Mehling

by Yechen H

Jul 05, 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

by Pramanshu R

Jul 29, 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

by AlfredZhao

Oct 12, 2016

I got a better structure to think about money market.

by Varun N

Sep 21, 2016

Great material ... unlike any other course.

by Javier N

Sep 09, 2017

Wonderful

by Marcel C

Jun 25, 2017

The teacher is very good and knows what he is talking about :)

by Iulia A P

Nov 03, 2017

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

by Franklin M

Apr 10, 2017

Fantastic, it is rare to found a course as profound as this in a MOOC

by Ming T D W

Oct 19, 2016

Completely change my view!!

by Carlos H

Dec 03, 2016

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

by Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

by Ricardo C

Sep 18, 2016

Great course! Essential for anyone working in finance and economics.

by Parth G

Sep 20, 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

by Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

by Brad H

Dec 13, 2016

Professor Mehrling is fantastic. I found this course supremely interesting, and I learned an incredible amount from it. I would venture to say that most have not taken an economics course like this one before. This definitely felt like a real college course.. 13 weeks of lecture, 2.5-3 hours of lecture each week. I believe Professor Mehrling said in-class that the two prerequisites for this course (for Columbia University students, not Coursera users) are Intermediate Micro and Intermediate Macro, so the course is definitely fairly high-level. To put it into perspective, I was an Accounting/Finance major with Econ minor and have CPA/CFA. So while not "trained" in economics, I've had a fair amount of exposure, but I definitely felt intellectually challenged and frequently had to relisten to parts of lectures. Definitely recommend this course! Learned something every minute of every lecture.

by Robert C

Oct 25, 2016

Very thorough and great course!

by alexgesch

Jan 29, 2017

Great course with a lot of insights!

by Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

by 王星 [

Sep 04, 2017

Thanks very much!

by Alexandre Z R

Oct 25, 2017

I did in my local university a course in Monetary Economics and then I did this. This course it's not a traditional course, if you know previously something about it, you will recognize this is a lifetime work of investigation, theorization, of a academic passion about how this trully work in markets. It's not a easy course, I have to repeat many weeks to get along. But Professor Mehrling structured the course with reading materials that give you a broader understading, he uses real data to explain and exemplify, he reads FT and discuss. I'm so grateful for this course, before that I used to think I knew monetary system. Now that I know much more I'm aware of my ignorance. Hope some day he make another course, or just update this one with the new events in the central baking world.