Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
706件の評価
175件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 101 - 125 / 170 レビュー

by Javier N

Sep 09, 2017

Wonderful

by Mordechai C

Jun 10, 2018

Awesome, one of the best classes I have taken!!!

by Nguyen Q H

Feb 02, 2018

That is a great classes :))))

by Bolian C

Jan 02, 2017

Excellent!!

by Barbara G

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

by Travis

May 15, 2017

This is an excellent course for those looking for a better understanding of how money & liquidity impact the global economy, particularly, how the transfer of risk through derivatives and swap contracts created a systemic risk of which few recognize until the financial crisis of '07-'09. I have a much better understanding of the interconnected nature of today's global financial system and the mechanism by which money and risk are transferred from taking this course.

by tomer z

Oct 05, 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

by Ankur A

Nov 12, 2017

very excellent studying material and an impressive faculty

by Alexander L R Y

Mar 03, 2017

Fantastic course and Professor Mehrling is an incredible mentor with great insights

by Weijie Z

May 17, 2017

Great teacher and great class !

by Adam T

Oct 16, 2016

Very comprehensive

by Ranjana P

Apr 29, 2017

Well structured course with an exceptionally insightful view of how the money markets works. The readings that are given are exceptional and I have learnt more about the financial markets that many other courses. Professor Mehrling is an exceptionally charismatic educator and takes us through a journey that clearly explains the crisis and gives us an alternative view that might just help make finance clearer to anyone. I really hope that unit two of this course will be recorded and be distributed by coursera.

by Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

by Alexander

Mar 31, 2017

Astonishing!=)

by Shingo K

Apr 08, 2018

very insightful!

by 钟政昊

May 11, 2017

Very thought-provoking!

by Chen L

Jan 21, 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.

by Ilias M

Jan 10, 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

by saurabh p

Jul 22, 2017

make it more of a practical view

by Saran P

Apr 14, 2018

Good course!

by de f h

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

by Ibrahim N

Sep 04, 2018

The best course on my entire Coursera experience. Really recommend it.

by ANNI G

Sep 06, 2018

It really gives you some deep facts of money.

by Erik M

Sep 06, 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

by Jimena M M

Oct 14, 2018

AS an economist working in external statistics at the national bank of Belgium