Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,825件の評価
772件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS
2015年9月16日

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS
2020年7月1日

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 701 - 725 / 766 レビュー

by James M J

2015年10月22日

E

by Harry M

2020年9月25日

This is a well organized course with lots of thought provoking material. Professor Shapiro's presentations were solid, occasionally humorous and worth my time and effort. At first I didn't find the format of the course's British-tutorial approach to my liking but by week 4, I understood the reasons for this approach.

The readings were appropriate but, from my novice background, a bit over my head; the quizzes were not as easy as I thought they would be (which was a good thing). I was sad when the course ended.

That being said, the course desperately needs updating, especially in the Trump era, where political immorality is flourishing. The past four years have seen the decline in democracy in many developed and developing countries. An updated course, in which this decline is incorporated into the course material would be valuable.

That said, this was a valuable experience for this political junkie. Dr. Shapiro not only 'knows his stuff' but he can actually teach....a combination that is not always the case in higher education.

by Manoj J

2015年11月14日

It is an excellent course. Amazing teacher who explained complex things using appropriate example. It is worth to have more course from this teacher. Somewhere I felt contents presented in manner that it place some premium to the ideological preference of west in general and US in particular. Echiman Problem was interesting example that teacher employed through out the course. But it could have been offered a balanced view, if teacher used "whiteman" problem i.e. exporting and imposing democracy across the world justifying all kind of violence

Manoj Joseph, India

by Winston Y J H

2020年7月29日

I had no prior knowledge about any form of politics or political sciences at all, before I engaged in this course, only the utmost basics, such as Utilitarianism and Kantianism. I understand that the course stated right in the beginning that no prior knowledge was required at all to progress through the course. However, I've struggled quite a little trying to comprehend all the terms Professor Shapiro was using. Therefore, I still think that this course is more of an advanced course rather than the very basics.

by Lloyd A

2016年4月9日

Really enjoyed this course, although it was like a whistle-stop tour of political philosophy. That is probably the one thing I would change about it - the title. Foundations of Modern Political Philosophy might be more appropriate as morality was only briefly touched on. But it was jam=packed with information and education, really good, Professor Shapiro was excellent, and whilst the students were a little infuriating at times, I guess that adds to it too. Thank you.

by Arpitha R

2020年7月8日

I started this course with zero knowledge of politics and the like. Now I think I have understood the working of governments and why laws are made the way they are, according to history. I have basic knowledge and can now start forming my opinions on politics and the economy. Prof. Shapiro was a delight to listen to as well. Very knowledgable and graceful. Thank you

by Stella L X T

2020年5月28日

A little complicated to grasp for a non-American, but I managed to get a basic understanding of how politics were shaped through the many theories over the years, and try to apply my understanding to my country's governance situation. An insightful course that required quite a bit of thinking to keep up. Thank you Prof and the 2 students, for all the effort!

by ravi t k

2015年10月24日

This is a great course to start. Although I am an Engineer by profession, i grew up following different political systems all over the world. I always amazed by the contradictory views of them. Finally, this course helped me to get a sense of different political theories and raised my interest much more. Thanks!

by TMinsk

2016年5月29日

I'm glad I took this class; it was confusing and dense while being fascinating and thought-provoking. How's that for mixed feelings? It feels like a class I should take twice, the first time was prep and the second will be to learn the material and think through the ideas.

by Faisal B K V

2020年7月12日

Thanks a lot Coursera.

It would have been better if a different face had appeared as instructor during the course of study of some weeks. The same instructor in most of the weeks' courses and leading discussions made the course a little monotonous.

by J. D

2016年8月21日

Overall a good course. Although maybe a little bit short/quick on the Marxism side of it. There's more information about some of the theories of Marx (and how they are thought to be false), instead of the political side of it (stop exploitation).

by Airton M

2020年6月24日

I'm from Brazil. I'I had more work to read, translate and understand some of the issues addressed in the lectures. I am reading the texts slowly. I am returning to see some classes to better understand them.

by Francois C

2019年6月3日

Great content with much reference material provided to allow you to deepen your understanding. I would prefer a more standard lecturing approach than the intimate discussion setting used.

by Abrar H

2020年6月28日

a very well taught, insightful and informative course, those who want to know more about the governance and politics, you can take it and gain some important knowledge.

by N B

2019年3月19日

Thank you for your work!

This course made me think a lot, showed a new facet of philosophy. At first I didn't like the course, but now I think it is one of the best.

by Vinay

2015年10月12日

Its a good course for any one who wants to go into politics, business or religion. Only thing i did not like was there was not too much teacher student interaction.

by Louis A K H T

2018年3月13日

Throughout this course of Morals Foundations in Politics, I have gained a lot by attending this course. Wish that I would be able to gain a verified certificate.

by Haneen F

2020年10月10日

Loved every second of it, especially towards the ends of the course with emotivist culture and the democratic tradition. Very very very high quality teaching

by Siddharth M

2019年8月19日

A very useful and instructive course, with an engaging format; but could only be improved, if all readings were published directly on the course-site itself.

by Lenon H

2020年5月2日

O curso fornece uma bagagem vasta sobre os principais teóricos da filosofia política, bem como uma ampla visão do conceito moderno de democracia. Recomendo.

by SAI D S

2020年5月26日

the videos were really good and the readings were helpful and the course dealed greatly about the fact that democracy is really for everyone.

by Aasupal P S

2018年9月17日

The course was engaging and informative.It teaches you the broader concepts in a deductive manner with completely all perspectives included.

by Zakaria G

2019年4月5日

loved the course, would have just loved more videos and discussions about democracy, where it fails and how to deal wit that

by Calvin C

2016年6月20日

"very inspiring, thoughts provocative course", that I have learned a lot as a lay man in the morality of politics.

by MARIANA L

2016年2月14日

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!