Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
4,821件の評価
939件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS
2015年9月16日

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS
2020年7月1日

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 151 - 175 / 932 レビュー

by Dr J N c

2019年10月8日

This course is so powerful. I have learnt a lot of things to help in my political career as political philosopher.

I encourage every citizen to take this course so that we can have a good knowledge on politics and how these politicians behave when they are in power.

by Carlos A F

2017年1月9日

Great course. Professor Shapiro's ability to digest philosophical arguments to then synthesize them in easier to comprehend terms is exceptional. I am extremely please with the content and the course dynamics that invites to develop a critical thinking perspective.

by Fabiana C

2019年8月11日

What an amazing course: engaging, cohesive, well-structured and impeccably delivered by Professor Shapiro. The format of the course, in which Professor Shapiro interacts with two students, is superb. I learned, loved and highly recommend taking this course. Bravo!

by Amjad M

2018年11月25日

I learned a lot. The course has very much widened my understanding of the subject. The way Sir Ian Shapiro elaborates is fascinating. I just loved! I'm thankful to Professor Shapiro, Coursera and also to DLSEI.PK who offered this course for free. A lot of love.

by Miceal O

2020年8月29日

I appreciated that the course included the same lectures as we would have received sitting in a classroom in New Haven. The course was comprehensive and yet provided detailed information on each philosopher and their systems with contrasting critiques of each.

by Aellen S

2020年9月28日

Great class, with a nice overview of the most important political philosophers of modern times. I especially appreciated the way the class presented the ups and downs of every theory, thus enabling each and every one of the students to form their own opinion.

by Alexandr N

2016年3月10日

This course is really important to me because it is the first one I'm taking. So, the choice was just right as it made me literally addicted to Coursera. Thank a lot for this course to Coursera and Yale University! Prof. Shapiro is a great lecturer. Thumbs up

by saleem b

2021年6月29日

Professor Shapiro has the ability to present concepts succinctly and in a manner that laymen can grasp them. I will definitely recommend this course to people who want to develop an understanding of political theory underpinning different political systems.

by Diane N

2015年9月30日

So far this is a fascinating subject. I know nothing about politics and only have undergraduate work and I love this class. Anyone interested in politics, even with the lack of knowledge I had should take this course. Thank you Yale University and Coursera

by Claudia K T G

2021年6月2日

E​xcellent! Professor Shapiro was great and very engaging. To be honest i wasn't planning on taking too seriously, but i really enjoy this course a lot.

W​ould definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested to learn about political theories.

by Yassine M

2020年11月11日

One of the best courses in Coursera, and it is offered By one of the IVY league universities. The course provides you with an in-depth view of several political, philosophical theories and concepts. It is also a great addition to your cv. Very satisfied

by Ali B

2021年1月18日

un curso perfecto para todos aquellos los que amamos las ciencias politicas sin dudas es un paso importante para un estudiante tomar este curso ya que te capacita y te hace una persona mas culta en las ciencias politicas muy recomendado desde venezuela

by Andrés S R

2021年6月19日

Uno de los maestros mas fáciles de entender con respecto a la Teoría Política que he tenido en mi vida, totalmente recomendado. Además de que la selección de los temas que se abordan son muy importantes para los tiempos que vivimos y los que vendrán.

by C. m

2018年11月25日

Professor spiritual manor provokes a high level of awareness of a higher motivation above “interests “ raising a possibility for a student to feel what they think and their actions can make a more understanding , accecpecting, and peaceful community.

by Chantal S J A

2020年9月30日

A good course has what it takes to form your own criteria. I highlight the methodology of the teacher who always found examples not only useful but striking to be able to explain better to students. A very complete course that meets expectations.

by Judith H

2015年11月20日

Almost without exception, the best courses of my life have been those that were built by an extremely knowledgeable professor bringing in diverse and original sources of material and organizing them in a unique way. This is one of those courses.

by Niina N

2020年3月10日

As a non-native speaker, some parts were difficult to understand. However, the instructor cited a number of examples and an easier language

to explain terms that I had never heard of. The quality and quantity of this course were so satisfying.

by Nishant K H

2020年8月27日

Professor Ian is one of the best, he has explained the complex topics like utilitarianism, communitarianism, social contract, marxism, thinkers of anti-enlightenment and American revolution era like Edmund Burke is the simplest way possible.

by Niharika S

2020年11月25日

A must do course for people interested in the history of political science and theory. It even details about its application as well as the famous philosophers and their works. Prof. Shapiro is absolutely amazing Overall a great course :))

by Emma T C L A

2020年10月5日

This has been one of the most engaging courses I've taken. The material was presented relatively objectively which is quite difficult for this type of topic but Professor Shapiro discussed everything without imposing his views on students.

by Miroslav P C

2017年1月25日

Es un curso excelente para familiarizarse con distintos temas concernientes a la teoría política y sus fundamentos filosóficos. Entregan contenido con el que uno puede tener las bases para entender distintos debates o asuntos de interés.

by caterina c

2016年11月24日

This is the course that helped me realise what it is that I am actually interested in, A brilliant overview of some of the most relevant discussions in the field. I did it during a busy time in high school but enjoyed every minute of it.

by Sergio V G

2020年12月3日

Curso muy completo en cuanto a las diferentes corrientes ideológicas de la política, muy bueno para aprender las bases de los sistemas que han movido y mueven al mundo. Algo a destacar es que los enfoques son más que nada anglosajones.

by Thomas T

2020年6月7日

The course is excellent! Particularly I had a little frustration because in some classes I thought they focused a lot on the Philosophy of Law and I didn't enjoy it so much, despite that the course is excellent. Thank you Prof, Shapiro

by Yoonyoung C

2020年6月25日

As someone without much initial interest/knowledge of politics, this course provided an excellent foundation for understanding the moral basis and arguments surrounding political theories. Overall a very engaging and organized course.