Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,912件の評価
602件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 176 - 200 / 600 レビュー

by Gianluca P

May 17, 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

by Anita D

Apr 13, 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

by Carlos E R B

Jul 11, 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

by Valorie H

Aug 29, 2016

This is a thinking man/woman course. Extremely interesting and enlightening. Professor Shapiro explains everything very concisely. I learned a lot!

by Emilia A V B

Apr 20, 2020

I feel in love with the history and the culture politics have. I wasn't sure if I would like these amazing topics but they turned to be interesting.

by Ricardo G C

May 25, 2020

Excelente curso, es comprensible completamente, aunque no se dicte en mi lengua materna. El profesor Shapiro muy claro en sus conceptos y ejemplos.

by Gethro O

Apr 28, 2020

Awesome. Great instructor, and the intimate setting of the instructor and the two students makes me feel like I'm learning with them by their side

by Deleted A

Oct 01, 2019

Very interisting course to understand the roadmap of politics. This course can be taken by any person, even if you are not interested in politics.

by Konstantinos Z

Dec 11, 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

by Marllon S

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

by Sylvestre N

Jan 18, 2020

This program frankly is great. It will allow me to understand how moral foundation of Politics works and will strengthen my politics knowledge.

by Juan P C S

Sep 09, 2019

me parecio exelente el curso debido a que pude obtener un enfoque mucho mas amplio sobre la filosofia politica de la que tenia. muchas gracias

by Poka C

Aug 09, 2017

has lots of interesting views and argument. He provided discussion and examples to demonstrate the intangible theory to be easily understood.

by Jessical C

Jul 05, 2020

I think this Course is amazing, I have learnt so much and the Professor was very clear and interactive during the classes. very enjoyable.

by Sandini S

Jul 13, 2017

I didn't really know what to expect, but this course has been very interesting and ideal for anyone considering studying PPE at university

by Henry J A T

Feb 08, 2016

What a wonderful teacher, and also a great performance from the students. Office Hours is one of the several highlights of this course.

by Hao Z

Nov 16, 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.

by Vilmos F

Jun 30, 2020

This course made me understand the general political philosophies better. Prof. Shapiro explained all of the course's topics very well.

by Carlos F C J

Feb 12, 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

by Neringa B

Jun 04, 2017

Great course, lively presentation, interesting ideas and one afterthought of mine: " Existential knowledge cannot be monopolised ".

by daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

by Leila A

Oct 16, 2016

A very systematic and comprehensive course. Thank you for the new insights into the moral underpinnings of contemporary politics.

by Skirmante Z

Jan 22, 2020

Outstanding and very informative course, touching fundamental questions that every politician or research should ask. Well done!

by Felipe I C A

Jun 20, 2020

Un muy buen curso, que me entregó herramientas y argumentos muy importantes en cuanto a los fundamentos morales de la política.

by manuel e v s

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores