Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,461件の評価
698件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 251 - 275 / 697 レビュー

by Deleted A

Dec 02, 2019

Ian Shapiro is very detailed in his lecturing of political theory. However the ebook in ?Cengage? link is expensive

by Aleksandra L

Jan 16, 2017

I strongly appreciate a clarity of the lectures. The course was prepared honestly and in an elegant way. Thank you!

by Sergey A

Apr 08, 2018

Very concise course in history of political philosophy. Cover a wide area and provocative questions for beginner.

by Marcello L D

Dec 12, 2017

Excelent Course. It introduces the mainly concepts in each tradition and give more deep discussions in each topic

by Martijn S

Nov 02, 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

by Fernanda d O V

Jul 10, 2020

Great course! I would recommend to those who appreciate learning more about the philosophical basis of politics.

by Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

by Aspasia B

May 24, 2020

Great course, I m sad it has finished. It helped me in a fun and easy way to understand basic politic concepts

by Antoine R

Dec 22, 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

by Ofentse L

Aug 10, 2020

I learned a lot in this course, was my favorite actually. The lecture makes things, everything was perfect

by ljdover

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

by Jeffrey H

Aug 03, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

by Miguelina R V

Jun 05, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

by Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

by Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

by Ankita P

Sep 20, 2020

Totally loved the course. Thank you for this amazing 8 weeks. So grateful to have completed this course.

by Ilaha Y

Jul 27, 2020

In addition to being instructive, the course was more effective with the materials it shared. Thank you

by Andres

Jun 08, 2020

Amazing path that collects elements from different traditions and joining them to a wonderful final !!!

by Regene L

Jun 16, 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.

by Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

by Bruna C

Dec 06, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

by Onyekwelu-Udoka T O

Jun 25, 2020

I learnt soooo many things

The course was sooo interesting and less boring made me want to learn more

by Özgün K

Mar 03, 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

by Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

by Akash B

Aug 02, 2020

Even being a graduate student in political science, this course has been so engaging and insightful.