Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,592件の評価
727件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

SS
2020年7月1日

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
2015年9月16日

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 126 - 150 / 719 レビュー

by Miroslav P C

2017年1月25日

Es un curso excelente para familiarizarse con distintos temas concernientes a la teoría política y sus fundamentos filosóficos. Entregan contenido con el que uno puede tener las bases para entender distintos debates o asuntos de interés.

by caterina c

2016年11月24日

This is the course that helped me realise what it is that I am actually interested in, A brilliant overview of some of the most relevant discussions in the field. I did it during a busy time in high school but enjoyed every minute of it.

by Thomas H L T

2020年6月7日

The course is excellent! Particularly I had a little frustration because in some classes I thought they focused a lot on the Philosophy of Law and I didn't enjoy it so much, despite that the course is excellent. Thank you Prof, Shapiro

by Yoonyoung C

2020年6月25日

As someone without much initial interest/knowledge of politics, this course provided an excellent foundation for understanding the moral basis and arguments surrounding political theories. Overall a very engaging and organized course.

by Lee M

2020年6月3日

Fantastic, challenged a lot of my ideological foundations. Highly recommended to anyone who is seeking to test their political and moral perspectives and learn a bit more about the historical battleground of ideas that produced them.

by Chianh J X

2020年6月16日

Professor Shapiro provided a very comprehensive review of the past and current political regimes. This was a very thought-provoking course that allowed me to gain a better understanding of the current political scene. Thank you!

by Himmat S

2017年5月1日

The course gives an excellent insight into the topic of a legitimate government.The examples which are discussed before every theory provide thought provoking dialogue and knowledge thus its equally entertaining and intriguing.

by Bernard G

2019年6月1日

This course introduces you to the variety of philosophies and political ideologies. It has left me with a much better understanding of political arguments as well as the ability to analyze better interrupt many current issues.

by José M O L

2020年6月21日

An excelent introduction to the main aspects of the most important political ideological traditions in our modern history. It is indeed an essential course most people interested or actually involved in politics should take.

by Brenna M

2020年6月15日

I loved this course. It was the right amount of challenge and allowed me to learn things that I had never thought of before. Shapiro has a way of holding your attention which is really good as there was never a dull moment.

by Andrea

2017年6月22日

Love this course. Getting through the first couple lectures gets you hooked on the sharp insights of Prof. Shapiro and takes you though the intricacies of politics, economics and justice. Very interesting. Very stimulating.

by Juan C B

2020年6月10日

I really liked it, I really appreciated being able to read authors again from different points of view and refresh the different perspectives of contemporary aspects within life and politics.

Very thankful

Sincerily,

Juan

by Hazard G W

2016年1月7日

Superbly taught and enlightening course - this material seems to include a lot of the foundations of today's public discourse. The small seminar and occasionally Socratic method by a master teacher is highly effective.

by Yuri P

2015年9月28日

La forma en que el profesor Shappiro es capaz de hacer teoríapolítica desde la inferencia es n slo grandilocuente, además es movilizadora, didactica y un punto eterno de inflexión y reflexión de los tópicos a tratarse.

by Frederico M d M

2020年9月10日

I loved the content and the dynamics of this course. It was the first course that I engaged and finished here on Coursera, and I feel that it is contributing a lot to improve my point of view of the world. Thank you!

by Jaminson A M C

2020年6月26日

It is an excellent course, the teacher knows very well how to present the subject, I try to be objective, the careful way in which he chose the students is wonderful, courses like this open up the panorama for you.

by Berna A

2019年3月4日

thank you for this course İt was really so enlightening to compare the period of political thought on public policy . I really appriciated Shapiro's guide for understanding with the examples of everyday life.

by Jaime A

2020年4月25日

Maravilloso curso, una acertada manera de conectar a los pensadores clásicos con los modernos, un visión amplia de la filosofía, la sociología, economía y de la política para entender la democracia moderna.

by Cassiano P C

2017年6月27日

Great course. Professor Shapiro is very friendly and clear, and this facilitates the compreension and the adhesion to the course. That's a person I'd like to be a friend and student. Thank you very much.

by Olaniyi O A

2019年10月16日

A great person, who always there for his students and very easy to understand. I love him and I have no word to explain his intellectual. I look forward to meeting him in the future! Thanks for everything.

by Peter L

2016年10月8日

Really good. Prof. Shapiro, thanks a lot for a very clear communication, very good structure and perfect lessions. I can really recommend this way of online courses and I´m very happy with having taken it.

by Iván M G D 3 h

2020年7月21日

Exceptional. The Porfesor a little brother, explains in a slow and understandable way, great capacity to reach others. Many thanks to Yeil University, for the opportunity and thanks to the professor. A 10

by SERGI P

2020年10月17日

Muy buen curso con mucho contenido. Me gustaría que no todas las pruebas sean cuestionarios y que hubiesen algunas que se tratase de redactar (como es el caso de otros cursos dentro de esta plataforma).

by Leonid P

2020年5月9日

Thank your for this course! Actually, it is one of the best and constructive online courses in the world! I am so interested in international relations and world politics so I knew a lot of information.

by Ambika M

2020年9月22日

Absolutely loved the course design, structure and content! Prof. Shapiro's lectures were always engaging and enjoyable. The readings were also perfectly chosen and added great value to the course.