Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,978件の評価
614件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 151 - 175 / 609 レビュー

by Karina L

May 16, 2020

Professor Shapiro is the teacher you've always dreamed of, that is capable to make every concept understandable and makes you to want keep studyng to understand better the world.

by Andres C E

Oct 17, 2016

Great course, some weeks are loaded with lots of material so can be hard to keep proper track.

Prof. Shapiro 's lectures are clear and easy to understand.

I recommend this course.

by Vianis J F R

May 31, 2020

I loved the course and I am very satisfied because I understood the perspectives of theoretical thinkers and their evolution in the moral of politics until today. Thank you!!!!

by Aakash C

Mar 12, 2016

It is a pleasure to see the way Prof. Shapiro connect the different ideas in this course. And the best part is you can apply these ideas to understand the world around you.

by Pajtim

Nov 29, 2015

This course was extraordinary well presented. It dealt with important theories and political philosophers and helped me a lot in deepening my overall understanding of them.

by Mauro F

Aug 30, 2015

Truly an honor to be taught by professor Shapiro, who, with a very precise methodology, was able to pass through major political theories of modern era. Highly recommended!

by James R B

Jul 27, 2019

Professor Shapiro posed some very challenging questions during his lectures. He knows his material extremely well. I liked the course structure and learned a great deal.

by Voldy I W Z

Jul 29, 2020

Interesante, aprendí y descubrí muchas maneras de pensar de la teoría y de la filosofía política, expandiendo mis conocimientos que tenia hasta ahora, muy gratificante.

by Shaka A O

Jul 14, 2020

THIS COURSE GAVE ME A LOT OF ENLIGHTMENT ON THE MORAL ASPECT OF POLITICS. I DEEPLY APPRECIATE THE RANGE OF ARGUMENTS FOR AND AGAINST IDEAS IN THIS COURSE.

THANK YOU.

by Jairo G P

Mar 03, 2019

O professor é incrível. Suas explicações são claras e sua críticas são acertadíssimas. Parabéns Yale e Coursera, por nos proporcionar esse curso maravilhoso. Adorando!

by Eliane G

Nov 06, 2019

I just started this class. It is absolutely excellent! Thank you, all, for making this class available. Above all, thank you, professor Shapiro. Excellent course!

by MARIA A M O

Mar 30, 2017

The vision of Enlightenment that Professor Shapiro offers is interesting to understand why Democracy comes in waves and the dynamics between Capitalism and Socialism

by Santiago A T G

Jul 30, 2020

This course is a wonderful opportunity to learn about current topics. Professor Saphiro is a very wise and clear teacher. The methodology of the class was exciting.

by Hernan R G

Jun 08, 2020

Un curso muy bueno.Exposiciones claras y muy buena bibliografía. Una mirada con contenido académico y práctico sobre la política deSde la antigüedad a la actualidad

by Petra P

Dec 16, 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

by Jonathan K

Mar 01, 2017

Love the interview style format. Never felt rushed, but never felt redundant. Perfect pacing and gained many new insights and a respect for the political process.

by Razia M

Oct 09, 2017

I learned a lot from this course - I am still discussing points raised within it. May return to do it again for a certificate as soon as I am financially able.

by Rita E

Mar 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable. Easy to follow. I especially liked the question and answer sessions with the two students. Thanks Dr. Shapiro, for an excellent course.

by Anurag D

May 03, 2020

Excellent course. Provides a good understanding of different enlightenment and post enlightenment philosophy including the foundations of democratic thinking.

by Ana S

Jul 26, 2020

Great explanations and constant reviewing of past theory, which facilitates the comprehension of the evolution of the different political philosophy systems.

by Oscar A G V

Sep 19, 2019

Súper completo, digerible y muy útil para quienes buscan consolidar conocimientos en teorías básicas o clásicas, de gran ayuda para entender conceptos clave.

by Barry M

Nov 17, 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

by Maryna S S

Apr 03, 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

by Francisco J L S

Dec 07, 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.