Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,362件の評価
675件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 176 - 200 / 675 レビュー

by Gregor I

Aug 31, 2020

Great course! For all people interested in the intersection of economics, politics and philosophy, enjoy Prof. Shapiro's impressive knowledge and clearity of thought.

by Eliane G

Nov 06, 2019

I just started this class. It is absolutely excellent! Thank you, all, for making this class available. Above all, thank you, professor Shapiro. Excellent course!

by MARIA A M O

Mar 30, 2017

The vision of Enlightenment that Professor Shapiro offers is interesting to understand why Democracy comes in waves and the dynamics between Capitalism and Socialism

by YASWANTH C

Sep 11, 2020

i may be unclear about the entire course but the content i came to know is awesome and it gives me some enlightnment sir in this dark society in india.

THANK YOU SIR

by Santiago A T G

Jul 30, 2020

This course is a wonderful opportunity to learn about current topics. Professor Saphiro is a very wise and clear teacher. The methodology of the class was exciting.

by Hernan R G

Jun 08, 2020

Un curso muy bueno.Exposiciones claras y muy buena bibliografía. Una mirada con contenido académico y práctico sobre la política deSde la antigüedad a la actualidad

by Petra P

Dec 16, 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

by Jonathan K

Mar 01, 2017

Love the interview style format. Never felt rushed, but never felt redundant. Perfect pacing and gained many new insights and a respect for the political process.

by Razia M

Oct 09, 2017

I learned a lot from this course - I am still discussing points raised within it. May return to do it again for a certificate as soon as I am financially able.

by Rita E

Mar 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable. Easy to follow. I especially liked the question and answer sessions with the two students. Thanks Dr. Shapiro, for an excellent course.

by Anurag D

May 03, 2020

Excellent course. Provides a good understanding of different enlightenment and post enlightenment philosophy including the foundations of democratic thinking.

by Ana S

Jul 26, 2020

Great explanations and constant reviewing of past theory, which facilitates the comprehension of the evolution of the different political philosophy systems.

by Oscar A G V

Sep 19, 2019

Súper completo, digerible y muy útil para quienes buscan consolidar conocimientos en teorías básicas o clásicas, de gran ayuda para entender conceptos clave.

by Barry M

Nov 17, 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

by Maryna S S

Apr 03, 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

by Francisco J L S

Dec 07, 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.

by Shakthy P

Jan 20, 2016

A real eye opener on the basics of political theories and the fundamentals of their real life applications. Engaging Q&A sessions and a top shelf lecturer.

by Paulo C A S

Mar 14, 2017

A very good course, with an excellent presentation by Professor Shapiro, in a suitable and current theme. I was very accomplished in having it completed.

by Gianluca P

May 17, 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

by Anita D

Apr 13, 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

by Carlos E R B

Jul 11, 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

by Toh P Q

Aug 18, 2020

Interesting and exciting course that challenge points of view and explores major theorists of morality politics and economics over the past centuries.

by Valorie H

Aug 29, 2016

This is a thinking man/woman course. Extremely interesting and enlightening. Professor Shapiro explains everything very concisely. I learned a lot!

by Emilia A V B

Apr 20, 2020

I feel in love with the history and the culture politics have. I wasn't sure if I would like these amazing topics but they turned to be interesting.

by Ga-Eun K

Aug 09, 2020

It well structured that you can understand the basic thoughts of political arguments and thoughts even you have not learnt about this topic before.