Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,580件の評価
724件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 201 - 225 / 719 レビュー

by Barry M

Nov 17, 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

by Maryna S S

Apr 03, 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

by Francisco J L S

Dec 07, 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.

by Shakthy P

Jan 20, 2016

A real eye opener on the basics of political theories and the fundamentals of their real life applications. Engaging Q&A sessions and a top shelf lecturer.

by Paulo C A S

Mar 14, 2017

A very good course, with an excellent presentation by Professor Shapiro, in a suitable and current theme. I was very accomplished in having it completed.

by Gianluca P

May 17, 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

by Anita D

Apr 13, 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

by Carlos E R B

Jul 11, 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

by Toh P Q

Aug 18, 2020

Interesting and exciting course that challenge points of view and explores major theorists of morality politics and economics over the past centuries.

by Valorie H

Aug 29, 2016

This is a thinking man/woman course. Extremely interesting and enlightening. Professor Shapiro explains everything very concisely. I learned a lot!

by Emilia A V B

Apr 20, 2020

I feel in love with the history and the culture politics have. I wasn't sure if I would like these amazing topics but they turned to be interesting.

by Ga-Eun K

Aug 09, 2020

It well structured that you can understand the basic thoughts of political arguments and thoughts even you have not learnt about this topic before.

by Ricardo G C

May 25, 2020

Excelente curso, es comprensible completamente, aunque no se dicte en mi lengua materna. El profesor Shapiro muy claro en sus conceptos y ejemplos.

by Gethro O

Apr 28, 2020

Awesome. Great instructor, and the intimate setting of the instructor and the two students makes me feel like I'm learning with them by their side

by Deleted A

Oct 01, 2019

Very interisting course to understand the roadmap of politics. This course can be taken by any person, even if you are not interested in politics.

by Konstantinos Z

Dec 11, 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

by Marllon S

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

by Sylvestre N

Jan 18, 2020

This program frankly is great. It will allow me to understand how moral foundation of Politics works and will strengthen my politics knowledge.

by Juan P C S

Sep 09, 2019

me parecio exelente el curso debido a que pude obtener un enfoque mucho mas amplio sobre la filosofia politica de la que tenia. muchas gracias

by Poka C

Aug 09, 2017

has lots of interesting views and argument. He provided discussion and examples to demonstrate the intangible theory to be easily understood.

by Jessical C

Jul 05, 2020

I think this Course is amazing, I have learnt so much and the Professor was very clear and interactive during the classes. very enjoyable.

by Sandini S

Jul 13, 2017

I didn't really know what to expect, but this course has been very interesting and ideal for anyone considering studying PPE at university

by Abdul R s I S

Sep 04, 2020

It was an enjoyable learning experience. I have embraced new concepts and ideas which I can utilize to explain issues in politics better.

by Henry J A T

Feb 08, 2016

What a wonderful teacher, and also a great performance from the students. Office Hours is one of the several highlights of this course.

by Hao Z

Nov 16, 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.