Chevron Left
Mountains 101 に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Mountains 101 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
747件の評価
261件のレビュー

コースについて

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

人気のレビュー

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

KC

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

フィルター:

Mountains 101: 1 - 25 / 267 レビュー

by Annie C

Nov 11, 2018

I've always liked the outdoors, and Mountains 101 provided me a lens with which to view and appreciate mountains. The course delves deep into everything to do with mountains globally, focusing on the Canadian Rockies as a home base. Topics cover the history of mountains in literature and society, biology and conservation, geology and the climate impact of mountains, and even tips on how to explore mountains safely and comfortably. The visuals are stunning and I appreciated the well-rounded approach of this course. Zak and David are articulate, engaging, and easy to understand, and the many on-location interviews with experts only added more to the course. I'm already planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies!

by Yves S

Aug 04, 2017

Good intro course, I just hoped that the focus would have been more on the geological part and a bit less on the cultural part. But still, those parts enhanced the variety and completed the view one has on mountains, so I can live with it :-)

All in all quite a complete intro on mountains - recommended!

by Angie L

Jul 16, 2019

Very structured system covering the key aspects of mountains as well as guiding me through the key mountain areas throughout the world. Useful and practical guidance on packing and outdoors activities. Would love to see some more advanced courses on practical side especially on the key knowledge and skills to keep ourselves safe and sound in the nature.

by Seila T

Jul 15, 2019

What a beautiful and insightful course! The multidisciplinary nature of the course makes it very informative, but also entertaining, and the level of the lessons is challenging without being too difficult. Great instructors, great content and great course!

by Parv S

Jul 10, 2019

A really fun and easy course, one could learn a lot about the geology of mountains just by doing this singular course. I think this course should be made compulsory for people who wish to do anything related to mountains or mountain sports, for it covers a good amount of theory required. Especially the tips and tricks at the end of each lesson.

by R. S

Jul 01, 2019

Iam very happy that i learned someting new about Mountains... and the importance of it.

Thank you

by Suzi D

Jun 30, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Thanks so much!

by Karnik P

Jun 20, 2019

Gives a deep understanding that how mountain ecosystems works and how to conserve them with keeping various dimensions in mind.

by Kari P

Jun 16, 2019

Informative, engaging and very well laid out material. Big thanks to everyone involved in the making of the this course.

by David P D

Jun 05, 2019

An outstanding applied geography of mountains that deals with the physical, ecological, and human dimensions, with practical advice on how to experience mountains firsthand. The course makes great use of current and historical photography, diagrams, animations, pop-quizes during recorded lectures, and interactive maps. It sets a high bar for self-paced courses in terms of content, pacing, and use of the platform.

by Alondra J L B

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent!!! Very informative and well organized course. Recommended to all mountain lover. Thank you for providing such great materials to us.

by Giacomo M

May 23, 2019

Keep loving Mountains <3

by Peter

May 18, 2019

Excellent course, interesting and wide-ranging in the selection of topics. As a student from Africa I would have liked a bit more of an international flavour, particularly around the dependency of populations on rapidly degrading mountain environments. The course is a bit Canada-centric, which is also very interesting for us foreigners, who envy the resources you can bring to the protection and study of mountains.

by JOSE B M

Apr 29, 2019

Excellent

by Kyle C

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

by Jeevan G

Apr 08, 2019

fully enjoyed this course and wish there were more in depth lessons associated with what was taught. thanks for a great experience!

by Daniel C

Mar 15, 2019

The best course out there for Mountain aficionados. Looking forward to taking Mountains 102.

by Tara M

Mar 15, 2019

I absolutely loved this course! It was interested, informative, and engaging. I wish ALL my courses were like this one!

by Abby

Mar 12, 2019

Informative and interesting!

by Natalie V

Mar 03, 2019

Fantastic Course! I

by Harry A H

Feb 26, 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

by Krish R

Feb 22, 2019

Great introductory course on Mountains. Thank you very much.

by Ryan

Feb 21, 2019

Great course!

by Jingtian Z

Feb 16, 2019

The course is very good!

by Bo P

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)