Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus に戻る

インペリアル・カレッジ・ロンドン(Imperial College London) による Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
4,260件の評価
762件のレビュー

コースについて

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

人気のレビュー

DP
2018年11月25日

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

JT
2018年11月12日

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

フィルター:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus: 76 - 100 / 760 レビュー

by Bryan S

2019年2月19日

I began this course without any knowledge of calculus and I was still able to get along decently well. I did a bit of supplementary work using Khan Academy but that was more to ingrain the calculus knowledge gained (product rule, chain rule, etc) within this course .

by Siddharth S

2020年5月28日

Very Intuitive and well designed course. I just feel that covering mathematical intricacies could help in better understanding of the concept and its application. Also I feel that this course of the specialization being very application based lacked coding exposure.

by Carlo C

2020年9月5日

Well done!!!

The course is interesting and well organized.

Lack of Pyton knowledge from my side is sometimes critical to solve some exercises...

It's my intention, as soon as I'lI have complete the three couses, to attend a Pyton course to complete my preparation.

by Dr. N D

2020年7月28日

Nice designing of the course. The perfect combination of mathematics and applications. Nice videos, well explanation of concepts along with the application. A good bridge between mathematics and its applications. Thanks to professors and Imperial College London.

by Mohammad O B S

2019年11月9日

This course is perfect for those who prefer to understand the intuition behind multivariate calculus, visualize the power of gradients in optimizing functions, and apply calculus to machine learning with robust understanding of underlying mathematical concepts.

by Avinash

2019年2月17日

This course delivers its promise it is very crisp and concise. After completing this course I just feel I have remembered all vector calculus taken in my engineering maths (which is almost 8 years back) :)

I highly recommend this course to getting started ML/DL.

by Narayan B

2019年6月25日

good mathematics course, but the things and concepts are explained in a very abstract way. Need to think a lot on your own while solving the quizzes as the videos are not going to help. Most of the concepts i learnt were from the quizzes rather than the videos

by Giuliano L P

2018年4月13日

Even though in the beginning calculus seems to be confusing, because of the difficulty of the content, do not give up, I can guarantee that this course is the best way to learn calculus. The content is presented in a creative and fascinating way. Unmissable.

by Juan M E

2020年11月2日

AMAZING course! Even though I already knew most of the concepts exposed through this course, I found many rich resources to add to my DS toolkit. Both professors clearly love what they do and have the capacity to express the abstractions clearly. Thank you.

by Anna U

2020年1月14日

An excellently simple explanation of concepts of linear algebra. Applause for lector. I really liked this course and found it very useful for those newbies in machine learning like myself. I recommend this course to all my friends and others interested in.

by Aleix L M

2019年11月28日

I found this course really useful and concise, straight to the concepts that are used in machine learning. The lecturers speak clearly and give very intuitive views on abstract concepts that I had trouble understanding before. I would totally recommend it.

by Heinz D

2020年11月2日

Great refresher for my calculus knowledge gained 30 years ago. The instructors are very enthusiastic and motivating and quizzes / labs support the learning process. I also like the use of very proper language (BE vs AE) practised by the instructors. :-)

by Kurt G

2019年8月4日

The course began quite straightforwardly, and became progressively more challenging. I would recommend to others that they continually practice their skills at finding partial derivatives, as that skill gets even more important as the class progresses.

by Shahzad A K

2018年5月24日

Great course! Builds up logically from a soft introduction to practical applications of multivariate calculus for data analytics. I no longer feel intimidated when I look at an expression involving higher order partial derivatives in multiple variables!

by FRANCK R S

2018年6月3日

A very useful introduction of the math behind Machine Learning, a must if you plan to understand the algorithms used in ML, as usual the teachers are very very talented, focus is put in the essential and comprehension comes intuitively, Great Thanks!

by Christoph L

2020年1月6日

A very good introductory course that is giving insightful explanations of how something is done and why. I especially enjoyed the part on gradient descent that was part of multiple modules. Very engaging instructors make learning easy and motivating.

by Ashok B B

2020年2月2日

Fantastic course, got to know the underlying maths behind complex ML algorithms, which was always a grey area to me, the instructors clearly explained each topic, which is a definitely a must add on skill to your journey towards Data Science career

by Subtain M

2020年7月10日

I think this is one of the best course for understanding the calculus behind the machine learning algorithms. This also helps me understanding the back propagation, which is considered to be very painful topic for people not from maths background

by Fabiana G

2019年7月25日

It's challenging, specially about the week 4. But it's very possible to conclude successful. I just have high school and I finished the course with 100% of grade. My hint is: algebra is very important, but code can help you with this subject.

by Tommy R

2020年3月26日

I've always felt intimidated by maths and it stopped me from really understanding machine learning and the different algorithms used. This course does a great job of making calculus understandable and demonstrates why it is so useful for ML.

by Ali T

2020年11月26日

Excellent course for learners with a little background knowledge in mathematics, python and neural networks. very intuitive and useful. Assignments are a little bit difficult in last few weeks but you can handle it. Thanks Imperial College!

by SARWADNYA N M

2020年7月15日

The instructors are very enthusiastic and novel in their approach to teach which makes it very enjoyable to learn from them. Looking forward to completing this specialization and then learning more about ML and AI.

Thank you so much Coursera

by Mubasher A

2020年9月4日

Excellent course. All concepts have been delivered in a great manner making things clear with good examples. Questions appear at appropriate times during the video to make sure that the concepts presented in the video are being understood.

by Srimat M

2019年12月10日

standard short and crisp course. will do the job for what it is designed for. great explanations by mr. sam cooper and his visualization team at imperial. and mr.david also done a great job. overall worth spending funny jelly belly time.

by Constance K

2021年1月1日

This is the first course i took on coursera and also is the first course the mathematics for ML. I have no much mathematics background but I have learned a lot from the course. The coding is a bit challenging , but the Forum is HELPFUL.