Chevron Left
Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World に戻る

コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen) による Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
569件の評価
165件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

人気のレビュー

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP

Dec 28, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

フィルター:

Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World: 26 - 50 / 163 レビュー

by Alejandro A S L

Jul 30, 2019

It's been a magnific journey through a very interesting region, in which I have come to better understand the underlying dynamics of the Muslim society. I want to thank wholeheartedly Ebrahim Afsah and his team for their endeavours and their work, I truly appreciate them. Ebrahim and team, you can be proud of your work, a total success. Many, many thanks!!

by Andreas U

Dec 13, 2015

I recommend this course to anyone interested in the historic background of the current situation in the Middle East. The course gave me an enlightening insight into the origins of many problems in this troubled region. Instead of merely describing historic facts Dr Afsah systematically analyses the historic and political structure of the Middle East.

by Temur D

Jan 23, 2016

One of the best self-paced courses I've taken in a while. I would highly recommend to everyone interested in the history of Muslim countries. The course looks not only at the constitutional aspects of development of the Muslim countries, but to their development on the whole! Sign up and prepare yourself for a long, but a very interesting journey!!!

by Richard D

Aug 02, 2017

Really excellent course that has opened my eyes to the Muslim world in a way I couldn't have imagined. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has any interest at all in understanding this very important area. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to learn provided by the Professor and his team plus of course Coursera.

by Frances M

Apr 16, 2017

I found the course very informative and interesting. The variety and concentration of detail was impressive and the lecturer always engaging and clearly strongly invested in the material. He was also very sensitive to his audience. I would certainly recommend the course and hope to find other courses run by the same lecturer. Thankyou.

by Gunhild J

Jun 20, 2016

Very interesting and thought-provoking course! I would like to do it again (took the course a couple years ago) and wonder whether it has been updated to include events in the last couple years? So much happens! I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to get an overview and some understanding of the Muslim world as it is today.

by Jet

Feb 22, 2016

Understandibly a controversial course, but one that shows some much needed insight in the situations of many different countries with the common denominator of the muslim faith. I respect professor Ebrahim Afsah very much for his great intellect and also bravery, for this must not be easy. I am still enjoying the course very much.

by Anne T

Dec 08, 2015

Best course I have ever studied...important information well presented for our world in 2015. It's nice to be able to contribute a balanced opinion to some of the lop-sided dialogues going on around me at the moment. Hopefully enough of us can do this to bring about peaceful change. This is my second attempt at this course.

by Simon C

Nov 08, 2015

An outstanding course on a challenging subject. Informative and thought provoking series of lectures from Dr Ebrahim Afsah who is both passionate and well-informed about his subject matter. It should be a required course for all politicians and government officials, whatever country they govern.

by Christian S

Mar 27, 2017

Extraordinary course! Excellent analysis, clear and understandable exposition of a complex subject. Academic depth, cross-disciplinary approach. Congratulations to Prof. Afsah and his team! I am profoundly grateful for the thrilling and enriching hours of study and will miss the course!

by StephenH@47

Sep 25, 2016

One of the best MOOCs I have done. I learned a huge amount about how the Muslim countries became what they are now. I recommend this course to anyone interested in understanding international politics. Dr Afsah is a very good lecturer, and the course is well-paced and easy to follow.

by Ganapati K

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent comprehensive course, whether one happens to be a Muslim or otherwise, or living in a Muslim majority country or otherwise. Admittedly, every intricacy of the vastness of the subject cannot be covered, yet all aspects regionally have been covered by the Professor.

by Barbara S L

Sep 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken recently. The professor provided informative and thought-provoking information and opened my mind to better understand how the history of the MENA helped to shape current struggles. I will take many more courses from this professor.

by James P

Jan 01, 2016

This course is a phenomenal entry point for those who wish to better understand the great variety and complexity of the Muslim world. Dr Ebrahim Asfah makes this difficult task not only understandable but positively enjoyable. I can't recommend this course highly enough!

by Neil K

Feb 19, 2016

Illuminating and broad. this course was much more than the titles suggest, or its provenance from a law lecturer would hint at. Spanning history, culture, sociology and politics this is a wide ranging tour of the modern world muslims live in. Utterly fascinating.

by fatima r a

Jun 29, 2017

it was very amazing, this course made me understand a lot of things that I didnt even know.Also I could learn a lot of new thing that made me capable to know more about this subject. also learn about history and others aspects is good to know for culture in general

by Claudia A

Mar 15, 2016

The course has a very high quality and helps really to understand the relation between all the historical incidences . A very well structured course, presented in a very professional manner.

Thank you very much for your awesome work.

Glückwunsch nach Kopenhagen!!

by Simon P

Dec 28, 2015

Brilliant course. Provides an impressively in-depth look at such a complex and diverse set of political, economic and historical matters throughout the Muslim world. A must for anyone with an interest in the region or in the modern expressions of political Islam.

by Mary L M

May 22, 2016

One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. The professor is extremely knowledgable, and I learned many useful things for understanding the behavior of the government of Muslim countries, and on the origins of why their law is different from Western law.

by Maiyada M

Mar 08, 2016

As a Muslim Woman, It's really interesting to study Islam in details and with all different nationalities and religions. It really opens your mind to understand how to deal with Muslim countries and to know why these Muslims are behaving in this certain way.

by Jan S

Jan 04, 2018

Great in depth course from Copenhagen University - This course is so good that it made me go back to the university to study a second master in risk and security management at University of Copehagen. Even that I left university with my M.Pa. 20 years ago.

by ali c

May 19, 2016

I am really enjoying this course. It has a different approach with deep analysis and a very interesting bibliography. It focuses on what really matters and not only trying to understand the Muslim World only through religion or international relations.

by Lucía S B

Dec 04, 2016

This course is fantastic. The content is so comprehensive, well-structured and clear, and Dr. Asaf is such a great professor. Even if the content is sometimes a bit complex, this course is incredibly enjoyable and interesting. Totally recommend it!

by Nicholas L

Apr 05, 2016

This is one of, if not the most in depth constitutional law class I've seen on Coursera. Dr. Afsah's treatment of the complex and vastly different types of challenges faced by the Muslim world in the face of modernisation is beyond reproach.

by David M

May 08, 2020

This course was amazing, I learn a lot about everything related to the Muslim world and will help me a lot with my studies at the Law School! very recommended all the courses offered by Coursera and the University of Copenhagen!!