Chevron Left
Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World に戻る

コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen) による Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
569件の評価
165件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

人気のレビュー

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP

Dec 28, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

フィルター:

Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World: 51 - 75 / 163 レビュー

by Hiba J J J

Jul 14, 2016

The course is exceptionally informative, objective, but most of all, educational. It includes social, cultural, political and historial explanations of the Muslim World and above it all, it is very clear and straightforward.

by Zhou H

Jan 26, 2016

Lots of knowledge, very worth learning!

这是一门介绍穆斯林世界各国古代、近代和当代情况的课程,也是详细分析其宗教、民族、经济、政治、军事等各方面因素交织冲突的课程。通过学习这门课程,我们能够对纷繁复杂的穆斯林世界有一个初步的了解,并可以找到进一步对其进行研究的途径。课程的内容丰富,观点鲜明且保持客观,同时还引述了大量对伊斯兰进行研究的学者及政治人物的著作、主张和事迹,堪称cousera文史类课程中的精品。

by Kit A

Jan 16, 2016

This is an amazing course. I learnt so much. Professor Afsah was very engaging and professional. It was a great learning experience to get a better understanding of this complex topic, to help understand the news better.

by Elli M

Nov 11, 2015

I took this course 2 years (?) ago, when it was first online, and learned so much from it. I'm glad that the material is available "on demand" now. It's really one of the very best and demanding online courses I know.

by Joanna S

Apr 16, 2016

An excellent course. I found it very interesting and inspite of the lectures being quite long in some cases, my interest didn't wander. It not only gives a lot of information but plenty of food for thought.

by Taufiq - F

May 14, 2020

It has been an enlightening journey throughout the course. I really enjoyed the lectures and the reading materials were excellent. I would like to thank the instructor and his team for this wonderful course>

by Renan M O

Sep 25, 2018

One of the greatest courses I've ever meant. It expanded my sight more than I thought. I hope more courses like this will be available from now on... it helps the Ocident Civilization to be less prejudiced.

by Anca C

Oct 04, 2017

As an International Relations student I must say this was an extremely useful course. I am very satisfied with the result and with the way that the Prof. Afsah approached each lesson. Congratulations!

by Leanne P

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

by Tan T N Q

Jan 25, 2016

Well organized and invested course.

The course includes many knowledges, theories, ideologies and references to help the learners exploring and forming their own point of views.

Highly recommend.

by Isaac M L

Aug 04, 2016

Muy recomendable a toda persona que le interese el mundo musulman y los diferentes contextos en los que se ha desarrollado esta religión, así como la influencia recíproca para con sus sociedades.

by Viktor D

Jan 01, 2016

Very analytical approach.

General overview of the muslim world.

Many great points to reflect upon.

Chance to go in depth with the field of international law and religious contemporary studies.

by Gwendoline C

Aug 09, 2019

Thank you very much for this very enriching class, i meant a lot and the teacher knows many things and is very interesting while questioning some theories. I really enjoyed this class.

by Ying W

Oct 31, 2015

It is an attractive course about middle east. The instructor is born in Iran, he told a little bit story about him and his family in Iran. You will understand more than you read books.

by Sonia S

Sep 05, 2016

Amazing course with comprehensive lectures and balanced approach on historical and contemporary aspects that define the socio-political developments taking place in the Muslim world.

by Pablo E L B

Oct 09, 2016

this course allows you learn knowledge about a beautiful world sometimes forgotten. The course make you have a critical view on the reasons and problem of the muslin world.

by Ludivine D

Oct 09, 2017

Cours excellent et passionnant.

Il aurait, néanmoins, gagné en clarté en synthétisant et en structurant. Il nécessite de disposer d'un temps d'apprentissage très conséquent.

by Renato M B

Apr 26, 2016

Understand the muslims could be the key to a better relationships in the future, every country will chance it´s identity and muslims will fulfill that spaces in society

by Antoine C

Dec 03, 2017

Awesome course, very well presented and formative. I recommend this course to anyone that want to understand the situation in the middle east, very well done

thank you

by Andrew B

Nov 04, 2018

Excellent. Thorough. Helps one see the bigger picture and the nature of the problems facing the Muslim world in regard to constitutional issues and governance.

by C.Winkel

Aug 26, 2017

Very comprehensive overview about the topic. The instructor is clearly enthusiastic about the course and gives a wide overview. Intellectually very stimulating.

by Olaf D

Dec 03, 2015

This is most interesting course where I truly learn a lot and get new insights. Prof. Afsah is a wonderful teacher, I do enjoy every minute of this course!

by soren s

Apr 22, 2020

A very comprehensive course indeed, which ideally, should be mandatory reading for anyone engaing with this potentially floroushing part of the world.

by Carolina B

Jul 28, 2016

It's a great chance so we get to know important topics that we know very little about! Proffesor Ebrahim is a professional at the topic. Thanks a lot!

by Grace E

Aug 15, 2017

Great class, the instructor gave a nuances and constructive overview of the different patterns of governance in different Muslim majority countries.