Chevron Left
Network Dynamics of Social Behavior に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Network Dynamics of Social Behavior の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
120件の評価
35件のレビュー

コースについて

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

人気のレビュー

SC

Jan 21, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

AF

Nov 21, 2017

Although the course was very short and the homework were so easy, I'm quite satisfied by the insight I got from Prof Centola

フィルター:

Network Dynamics of Social Behavior: 1 - 25 / 39 レビュー

by Roy L

Jul 08, 2019

interesting description of application of network analysis to social dynamics. However it could be improved a bit to discuss the models more in-depth

by Zachary E

Jul 07, 2019

An extremely interesting and thought-provoking.introduction to models for social network dynamics and their results. Would love see a follow-up that takes a more in-depth look at the mathematics behind the models.

by Jhung, S H

Jul 01, 2019

This was an excellent course. The key contents was prepared and delivered very well, and I was able to learn the basics of the topic. I think I've found a topic I'd like to major in for my masters... so a big thank you to the faculty members at U Penn! :)

by Louis K I

Jun 28, 2019

Fantastic course! Very good introduction to network dynamics for someone who has never explored this field of research.

by Jarryd G

Jun 28, 2019

This course was mind blowing. After you start to understand the foundational aspects of week 1 and week 2, they really ramp it up into some applicable real-world scenarios. The information that I have heard and reinforced in this course will make a huge impact to the way that I go about working with change in my job. I am extremely thankful for these resources as they are of great quality, well delivered by Damon and Josh, and with great visuals and examples to go with them.

by KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very good introduction to the topic

by Aleix D

Mar 17, 2019

Very interesting topics. I can't wait to apply them to current research.

by Ignacio O

Feb 01, 2019

Great introductory course, although a bit too easy.

by Ramkumar I

Jan 09, 2019

Simple concise videos. Crisp explanations. Cool demos with Netlogo.

by Thiago d S E P

Dec 13, 2018

Insightful, packs a lot of information in a deceivingly simple manner. Challenges intuition with proper models and raises as many (if not more) questions than it answers, which couldn't be any better as fuel for learning. Thumbs up, and would love to see more and more in-depth material on the theme from the instructors.

by Martin L

Dec 04, 2018

Interesting course! Concepts are very well explained, but it misses practical classes in NetLogo.

by YAO E M K

Nov 24, 2018

It was a very good class and I learned a lot. Thanks for sharing and continue the good job.

by Sonia L

Oct 22, 2018

Congratulations to the team for the simplicity with wich they have been able to transmit complex concepts. I am amaze of how some social assumptions change when you model them. I have learn a lot and created more curiosity to continue investigating about network dynamics of social behavior.

by pranav n

Sep 05, 2018

needs more practical exercises

by bhanu

Aug 07, 2018

wonderful experience

by Jack O

Aug 04, 2018

An excellent and inspiring introduction to a new approach to sociology.

by David B H

Jul 19, 2018

Nice approach to understand different aspects of the study of social networks dynamics, with good examples. I think it would be interesting to see the specifics of the rules of behavior of the second half of the course, like the specifics of the genetic algorithm. Great course !

by PRIYARANJAN P

Jul 18, 2018

excellent course accessible to all. highly recommended.Really looking forward to more courses from this team.

by bernard

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general

by Jean C

Jun 20, 2018

Very good topic and teachers' expertize. It is a pity that the "rules" used in teh simulations are not made explicit, leading to some doubts. Also, could go a bit deeper in the influence of key network parameters.

by Navaneethan S

Jun 15, 2018

The course discussed some absolutely fascinating material - I really enjoyed learning about Schelling Segregation Model (collective dynamics are not obvious from individual preferences), how dense local connections are necessary for spreading behaviours that require social reinforcement (which initially seemed counterintuitive), and the section on problem solving in networks.However, I felt that the material was quite superficial in its treatment - the quizzes were very straightforward and didn't require a really deep understanding of the material (in my opinion), nor was there much attention paid to the maths underlying these phenomena. While I understand that this may not have been the aim of the course (since equations tend to put of people less comfortable or uninterested in mathematical detail), it would have been nice if the Resources contained links to further reading for those interested.Alternatively, it would have been really wonderful if Josh or Damon (both of whom explained the material really well), had added optional videos going into the material - this is how Andrew Ng does it in his Deep Learning course, and I found that extremely helpful.Overall, I would definitely recommend this course to everyone interested in a radically different approach to understanding human behaviour!

by Reka P

Jun 03, 2018

It was extremely didactic and logical.

by Manyu

May 31, 2018

Very down-to-earth. Highly recommended for anyone who wants basic knowledge on network dynamics.

by Siddhi G P

May 31, 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

by Christo Z

Feb 23, 2018

very good overview. i'm missing the maths behind the theory which will enable me to apply the knowledge to own problems