Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Social Norms, Social Change I の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,851件の評価
476件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

人気のレビュー

PE

2019年3月5日

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

EC

2022年2月21日

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

フィルター:

Social Norms, Social Change I: 426 - 450 / 466 レビュー

by Sola A

2020年5月5日

Very challenging for me but took me out of my comfort zone

by Ritika S

2021年6月15日

The course was good but the quizzes were quite difficult.

by Christina

2017年9月5日

I loved it and would take another course from Cristina.

by Rik d G

2017年5月21日

Great course, sometimes a bit hard to follow

by Victor K B

2020年5月18日

Not very entertaining but practical to know

by Lillie K

2019年6月30日

the terms became quite confusing to follow

by Shady M

2017年7月23日

needs more tests, but it's great overall

by Abdullahinoor F

2021年10月11日

thank you give me this golden chance

by Mukhtar A L

2020年11月28日

Quite engaging and learnt a lot.

by Zaid A

2017年7月29日

Well laid out, easy to follow.

by MIAWAWANA G F

2018年3月24日

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by eslam s k

2017年6月4日

very useful thanks a lot

by badrul h

2020年8月17日

it is good to learn .

by Mahender G

2019年11月15日

Very much appreciated

by Ragini B

2021年9月25日

Very Well explained

by Atupele M

2019年8月13日

It is very helpful

by Abdalla O H

2017年6月7日

helpful Course

by Yahia A

2021年1月27日

Goooooood

by Mohamed A

2017年6月24日

Thanks

by Idoko D S

2020年10月18日

Good

by Simon C

2020年11月4日

The material is very interesting, if somewhat hypothetical. I enjoyed it - thank you.

I would have appreciated more real life examples (in number as well as in nature) to help me understand the concepts.

The lecturer and the contributors all have strong accents which made following them difficult. The transcripts quite often didn't help as they also failed to catch what was being said and also failed to correct mistakes in the English and the grammar & punctuation were not always correct. All in all, it was difficult for me as a native English speaker to understand at times, so must be very difficult for non-native English speakers. I suppose could create a survey to discover what other students thought and see if they were following a social norm or not...

by Koko W

2020年12月30日

The course was very useful and interesting. However, week four could have been divided into two or more weeks--the material became significantly more technical and lengthy, which was like a "speedbump" to to my learning and progress. Distributing the materials more evening and assigning more application homeworks would be useful.

by Catherine H

2018年12月22日

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

by Anton Z

2018年1月2日

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

by Harry J J

2021年9月2日

A fairly simple approach to complex components of society. It's a good way to become familiar with the terms used by sociologists for societal behavior.