Chevron Left
Numerical Methods for Engineers に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による Numerical Methods for Engineers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
68件の評価
29件のレビュー

コースについて

Numerical Methods for Engineers covers the most important numerical methods that an engineer should know. We derive basic algorithms in root finding, matrix algebra, integration and interpolation, ordinary and partial differential equations. We learn how to use MATLAB to solve numerical problems. Access to MATLAB online and the MATLAB grader is given to all students who enroll. We assume students are already familiar with the basics of matrix algebra, differential equations, and vector calculus. Students should have already studied a programming language, and be willing to learn MATLAB. The course contains 74 short lecture videos and MATLAB demonstrations. After each lecture or demonstration, there are problems to solve or programs to write. The course is organized into six weeks, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz and a longer programming project. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/numerical-methods-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qFJGMBDfFMY...

人気のレビュー

AC
2021年7月12日

An excellent course on Numerical methods. The interactive nature of the course, using MATLAB programming and exercises, made it a lot of fun to learn the subject.

EK
2021年4月20日

Very nice introduction to numerical methods.\n\nThe MATLAB assignments were challenging but worth the effort.\n\nMany thanks to Prof Chasnov.

フィルター:

Numerical Methods for Engineers: 1 - 25 / 30 レビュー

by Juan S H M

2021年9月24日

In my case, I felt that this was quite difficult. I think that the explanaitions for proyects can improve, there can be more exercises in order to understand the buit-in functions of MATLAB.

Also, I would like to say that there are some unnecessary lectures, that won't help either as an engineer or for completing the course.

by Wim

2021年4月8日

the completion of the projects assumes a vast experience with MATLAB. some help in this sense is however not provided and the introduction of MATLAB is not sufficient to solve the projects.

by Nelson F S

2021年12月8日

I do not want to sound ungrateful because I was able to audit the course, but I feel so overwhelmed by the amount of work in this course. The lecturer is amazing, but I felt I had to rush through the lessons because of the big workload. I wish the ungraded assignments were graded instead. It is a little frustrating to complete lots of assignments without any reward. I wish this course was split into a series of 2 courses. I would say the content could almost fill a whole semester. Some lectures could include more practical examples as opposed to just theory. I had to watch some youtube videos from other content creators to be able to finish some assignments. I thank you for the opportunity, but I hope you take into consideration some of these aspects.

by Justin E

2021年7月17日

This course really gives insight about the essential numerical methods needed for engineering studies. Professor Jeffrey Chasnov is really interactive in explaining the materials and also gave hints and advices in handling the end-project for each chapters. The discussion forums and my peers in studying this course also helped me doing this study, so overall this is a very good course, with a real classroom experience.

My special thanks to Professor Chasnov and my friend in this course Pleng for always motivating me and helped me when I was stuck to a particular problem. Best of lucks for all of you.

by Allaev S

2021年9月20日

I entered PhD course, but my background in math was very bad. I required to learn MATLAB, but I completely forgot linear algebla and even didn't know how to solve ordinary and partial differential equations. With the courses of Professor Chasnov I was able to increase my knowledge in 5 months. First was Linear algebra, then vector calculus, then differential equations. Numerical methods for engineers was my 4th course which is taught by Professor Chasnov. It wasn't easy, but now I can successfully implement obtained knowledge and MATLAB skills in my studies. Thank you very much professor Chasnov!

by Kevin Y

2021年2月19日

This is a wonderful course to learn something about numerical methods! The lectures and notes are wonderful and provide enough information to help you with the quizzes and programs. My first roadblock occurred in week 5. Week 6 was an incredible challenge for me. Thankfully, you can download the videos and watch them till some small illumination occurs to help you "see" a solution approach. This was critical in week 6 (reviewing 2D Laplace and Crank-Nicolson). I cannot recommend strongly enough if you want to learn more about Matlab and these methods from an exceptional instructor!

by bommaian b

2021年7月3日

It is an excellent course for learning to use numerical methods in MATLAB. The examples provided for applying each of the methods were generic enough to understand by engineers of different domain. I found the some of matlab assignments were very tough that even a small numerical accuracy issues can cause failure by graded external tool. The professor reviews the discussion forum every week and provides response to all the questions raised by students.

by Ron A

2021年2月21日

Excellent course. It starts with basic numerical methods and gets you to a point where you can solve the simplest version of the two-dimensional heat equation using finite differences. Along the way, you develop skills in MATLAB, learn the fundamentals of numerical computing, and obtain a solid foundation for doing more advanced work in numerical methods. Highly recommended.

by Asad A

2021年5月22日

A phenomenal course for learning Numerical Methods and then coding them in MATLAB. It would have been better if the instructor had spent more time on the aspect too, but overall have to say the projects are the best part of this course. If you are highly committed to learning, you will thoroughly enjoy the course as it is challenging.

by Michael v E

2021年3月15日

It was not only very instructive but also a pleasure to do this course. The lectures by prof Chasnov are very clear and his lecture notes very helpfull. The Matlab projects at the end of each week are very challenging and relevant and result in beautiful graphics. Prof Chasnov is a very motivated and inspiring teacher.

by Gonçalo T

2021年9月5日

Very good coverage of the most common numerical methods used to solve different engineering problems. The flow of the course is really good with videos and exercises, quizzes and programming assignments to solve interesting physical problems. Another brilliant course by prof Jeff Chasnov.

by Andrés H S D

2021年9月12日

I​t was a challenging course, but all the concepts are well explained and the programming activities encourage you to complete all the course. Useful to those who want to learn methods to solve differential equations and apply theoretical models to different knowledge fields.

by Adam D

2021年5月25日

Awesome course. Assignments are challenging and fun. I recommend all of Dr. Chasnov's courses. He is a great teacher and the content is really good with supplemental resources to increase your depth of understanding.

by Matko B L

2021年4月7日

Professor Chasnov is an excellent lecturer! This course is interesting and getting the correct answer on the project assignments gives a very fulfilling feeling. It was challenging but manageable to solve and finish.

by Mingde Y

2021年7月6日

Numerical Methods for Engineers taught me so many new things about scientific computing that I had never known before. Particularly in the details of matrix equations and ODE solutions. Thank you Professor Chasnov!

by IOANNIS K

2021年2月24日

Excellent course from an excellent professor. The course combines the necessary theory lectures with the corresponding applications. Recommended !!!

by Eugene K

2021年4月21日

Very nice introduction to numerical methods.

The MATLAB assignments were challenging but worth the effort.

Many thanks to Prof Chasnov.

by Mohammad N U

2021年8月23日

It's really a privilege for me to be a part of this course. I was able to learn a lot. Thanks Professor for this amazing course.

by K M R F

2021年8月1日

G​reat course, easily accessible materials, and wisely chosen topics and assignments!

by srijan A

2021年8月9日

very enlightening course. It was a perfect blend of practical theoretical knowlege

by Marco S

2021年9月21日

The course is very interesting and all concepts are well explained!

by AUDELO G M E

2021年5月15日

Muy buen curso, sus proyectos de fin de tema excelentes.

by jquaranta

2021年3月19日

Very interesting and enjoyable. Learned a lot.

by George L

2021年6月1日

Fun course for the subject, taught very well.

by Vigier P

2021年4月6日

Very nice course & exceptional professor !