Chevron Left
Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way に戻る

ルートヴィヒ・マクシミリアン大学ミュンヘン(Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München(LMU)) による Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
601件の評価
242件のレビュー

コースについて

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

人気のレビュー

SS

2021年1月15日

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

2021年1月27日

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

フィルター:

Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way: 51 - 75 / 242 レビュー

by Dr. R M

2021年1月25日

An excellent course !! Highly informative, enlightening and thought-provoking !! Prof. Karen Radner is a fantastic teacher, her dedication and passion for the subject are worth emulating, it was simply a joyous journey into the Assyrian civilization. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and would recommend it to all the students of ancient civilizations of the world.

by Ana R R

2021年10月5日

I found this civilization very interesting, somehow we can see how since ancient times, human ingenuity allowed the growth of various areas of science. To know and understand that politics has always been the same, that it is the man who corrupts everything, to know the role of women, the customs of the time, etc. I thank the teacher for sharing her knowledge.

by SUZANNE R

2021年9月11日

Excellent course from which I learnt a lot about a civilization I only knew from its artefacts. I particularly enjoyed the variety of videos covering lectures, questions and answers, interviews with experts and even drawing with figurines! I was amazed to discover how much is known about such an ancient civilization mainly thanks to the cuneiform tablets.

by Marianne H

2018年5月21日

I initially enrolled on this course just because at a casual glance, I thought it 'might be interesting.' Within the first video I was absolutely hooked! The subject matter in itself is fascinating, and it is engagingly presented in a variety of ways. 'Interesting' is an understatement, and I would definitely recommend this course to anyone considering it.

by Afreen m

2020年7月31日

Great course! I learned a lot and appreciated the varied forms in which the information was presented. Made it much easier to digest. I can't say that I'll remember the names of all the Assyrian kings, but I'll always be interested in learning more. Thank you for igniting this latent interest and I'll keep a look out for other courses by Karen :)

by James H

2020年8月22日

Amazingly well-produced course, using different techniques of presenting the information, to give a fascinating introduction to the Neo-Assyrian empire, its politics and daily life. The enthusiasm of the speakers is infectious, and the regular tests make sure that you can consolidate knowledge before moving on to the next section.

by Zeta

2020年11月6日

This course is incredible! Thank you all so much for this opportunity. Prof. Karen Radner is so knowledgeable and inspiring and the different teaching techniques used, are extremely fun. It is a very well written short introduction to Assyrian History and it covers a variety of topics. I highly recommend it to everyone!

by Maria E H

2020年7月12日

This is a great course! If anyone is planning on taking it I do recommend that you read a quick overall history of Assyria and Mesopotamia. This will provide you with the context you need to truly evaluate the information covered in this course and to make it more enjoyable. The professor is truly knowledgeable.

by T T

2018年3月18日

Neo Assyrian history made engaging and accessible! The combination of different learning methods (lectures, armchair 'chats', ask the experts, supplementary reading and resources) helped in creating a rounded, memorable learning experience. So looking forward to more from Karen Radner, Denise Bolton and team!

by bill w

2019年8月25日

I loved this course. I found Professor Dr. Karen Radner extremely knowledgeable, and easy to listen to and follow. My only regret was that the course was so short. I would like (and willingly pay for) a full semester course that covered the Kings, their palaces and their campaigns in more detail.

Bill Whelan

by Kate J

2020年9月18日

I have taken numerous Coursera classes and this was the best. Karen Radner is an excellent presenter. The format using a combination of lecture, discussions illustrations, and meet the expert questions was highly effective. I especially liked the quizzes {20 in all} as it reinforced learning. Thank you

by Roberto J T

2021年11月26日

escribo en español, mi lengua materna, muy interesante el curso, he estudiado Historia Antigua en la Universidad pero es una asignatura tan densa que al final esta copada por Egipto, Grecia y Roma. Con este curso he redescubierto al Imperio Asirio en muchos aspectos que no conocia. Totalmente recomendable

by Robin T B

2021年1月25日

Lots of detail and variety of presentation methods, very interesting introduction to the Assyrian world. I could have done without the interviews with various experts on light hearted topics, I didn't find it interesting or of any historical learning use. Thanks for a good thorough study for beginners.

by Mara

2020年7月29日

I've taken so many courses on ancient cultures, and this outranks them all! I love that this course doesn't just focus on "who did what and when", it dives deep into the cultural aspect instead and gives you a good understanding of what life may have been like for the Assyrians. I highly recommend it!

by Claudia H

2021年3月30日

This was a really interesting course. I had some knowledge about the Assyrians, but I was able to find out much more in-depth information. The course had a good structure, with excellent topics guiding you through the history of the great empire that once was. Absolutely great! Many thanks

by Bruna F

2020年9月7日

How much I enjoyed this course! Great teaching techniques, an astonishing professor, and a passionate team to make such a incredible MOOC. I love history but I confess I didn't know much about the Assyrian Empire, so this is a very welcomed and important course! Thank you to all involved!

by Flint W

2021年12月15日

t​his course was extremely informatuve and well organized. The variety of ways in which the information was relayed, from the lecture videos, to the stop motion animations, to the interviews with subject experts, ensured my attention never wavered. I would highly recommend this course.

by Ava

2019年10月1日

Professor Radner is fueled by passion and it truly shows in every single lecture. Her energy alone excited me for each new lesson! I took the class due to history being one of my weaker subject areas, and upon completing this course I have found a new interest and appreciation for it!

by Isidora D

2020年8月11日

Interesting course, it gives a lots of details and fun way of presenting historical events. The only thing that it missed was maybe a bit more about other powers in region and larger picture of Assyria. I know it takes time, but it could be given as short info with timeline.

by Robert S H

2020年7月20日

Thank you for a great course. Very professionally done with so much care and thought. I appreciated the challenge of the quizzes, while never feeling overwhelmed by the material. I hope there will be a Part 2 about the Art and Culture of Assyria.

by Jouldes M D

2020年10月8日

A very insteresting way to teach about ancient Assyrians and their empire, with different visual resources (I loved the playmobils!), special participations ("Ask the specialists" videos), the talk sessions and the amazing and objective lectures.

by Tammy G

2020年4月24日

I enjoyed the journey with Prof. Radner. I was inspired, entertained, and really fascinated. My knowledge was practically zero on the subject at the start of the course. I wish we could continue. There was never a dull moment. Thank you so much!

by Leon O

2021年1月30日

Really good course, with an interesting subject. However, the best part to me was the various ways in which the content was shared- I really liked the "talk to the exports" section. Especially the fact that some were in the field while talking.

by Andjelovic M

2020年5月16日

The best online history course so far! The teacher is excellent and very inspiring person. I'm history teacher and this course inspired me to further explore this topic, to find other books and videos about history of Assyria and Mesopotamia.

by Marion K

2019年1月24日

Very interesting course, complete new material for me, I really enjoyed the script and art and will visit the British Museum as soon as possible to see the sculptures by myself. My dream: join an excavation in that area. Thank you so much.