Chevron Left
Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way に戻る

ルートヴィヒ・マクシミリアン大学ミュンヘン(Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München(LMU)) による Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
601件の評価
242件のレビュー

コースについて

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

人気のレビュー

SS

2021年1月15日

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

2021年1月27日

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

フィルター:

Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way: 101 - 125 / 243 レビュー

by Hardeman B

2018年10月9日

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

by Virginia M

2019年5月14日

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

by José M P Z

2020年6月5日

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.

by Jummai

2020年1月4日

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

by Eduardo P

2019年12月27日

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

by Andrew S

2020年8月15日

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

by Byron N

2020年6月18日

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

by Miloš B

2019年3月11日

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

by David I

2020年7月17日

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

by Nadezhda K

2022年4月19日

Л​учший курс из мне известных! Тщательно подобранная информация, разнообразная подача и отличное чувство юмора преподавателя! Большое спасибо!!!

by Sompairac T

2020年7月12日

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

by Paracementol

2022年4月16日

Good course full of great advice on how to go from the Governor from TWD to King Nadad Assari in fifty years after the world ends! Thank you!

by Louis M

2021年3月17日

Great class! Great professor who really enjoys her subject, which shows.

Very interesting, engaging and well presented.

I really enjoyed it!

by Ralph L

2022年4月15日

V​ery interesting way of learning and interacting, also for many other people, you only think, the Assyrians acted only as brutal warriors.

by Fan C

2018年12月5日

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

by Tracey G

2021年2月15日

Fantastic course. Pitched perfect to someone who had no previous knowledge of the Assyrian empire. Iam hooked and now want to know more!!

by Vadim

2021年2月6日

Very interesting topic. Nicely presented. I really liked meaningful and frequent quizzes which keep one engaged in the course. Thank you!

by Zachary P S

2020年11月30日

I really enjoyed how the course material was layered adding to the understanding and knowledge retention of the topics and concepts.

by Rob M

2018年5月14日

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

by Keith P

2020年7月24日

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

by Jen P

2019年11月6日

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

by David K

2021年12月27日

Thank you for a very instructive and interesting course, and one in which you managed to cram in so much information.

by Monica L

2022年3月1日

Un curso muy buen estructurado y muy interesante. Me proporcionó conocimiento nuevo y significativo. Muchas gracias.

by Stephanie C

2021年1月21日

Fun course with a nice depth and granularity of information presented in a variety of interesting and engaging ways!

by JOHN Q

2018年1月15日

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy