Chevron Left
Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way に戻る

ルートヴィヒ・マクシミリアン大学ミュンヘン(Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München(LMU)) による Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
574件の評価
229件のレビュー

コースについて

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

人気のレビュー

LF
2021年1月27日

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

SS
2021年1月15日

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

フィルター:

Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way: 201 - 225 / 230 レビュー

by Inam A

2020年9月20日

Great!!!

by mansi g

2018年12月20日

its easy

by Julie B

2019年4月13日

T

by David H F

2021年4月19日

I enjoyed this course very much. Professor Radner is engaging and clearly knows her subject spectacularly well. I consider this very much a whetting of appetite: a good deal of additional independent external work would be required to firmly solidify the chronology and the relationship of the neo-assyrian empire to the rest of its time and place. The material culture and the "personalty" of Assyria in the 9th-7th c. period were very clearly conveyed (including the point that we know about the upper classes, not the majority of the populace.) I was delighted with little details like the rafts of wineskins floating down the Tigris, or the differences between Assyrian and Babylonian orthography partly due to the different ways the styli were held. I was disappointed with the "ask the experts" videos. Several of the scholars and archaeologists gave hints of being much more interesting people than they gave the superficial impressions of being, and I would have liked to have heard much more from them about the technical nature of their work, and of their opinions. Two specific examples, Mark Altaweel hinting at the political, linguistic and cultural effects of the Assyrian "population management" policies; and Poppy Tushingham mentioning that our lack of veneration for the heritage of the Assyrian Empire, less familiar and to us than the Roman and British Empires, gives us scope to concentrate on the real nature of Empire, which is the enrichment of an oligarchic class. In the context of Ashurbanipal's library a nice point was made comparing the Assyrian to the Roman Empire: two states oriented to warfare and excelling at organization, logistics, building and siege warfare, both drawing on older neighboring cultures for their literature and cultural roots. I also think more could have been done with the "Playmobil" segments: that was a charming idea for presenting the "annals" aspect. I'd have liked more, but I'd also rather wished that the figures might have been dressed in national costume, to make it easier to keep track of multiple nations, rather than in a mix of historical European dress. Those suggestions aside, the course was beautifully done, entertaining, informative, and leaving me wanting more!

by Ajay S

2018年4月26日

I have absolutely enjoyed this course on Ancient Assyrian Empire. The lessons were rich in content, its' presentation of a very high order. Professor Karen Radner is objective, scholarly, and cheerfully unbiased in evaluating one of the most influential civilisations in Human History. The supplementary material to the lectures and question-answer videos, had the learner wishing for more. But to anyone interested in Ancient world and its most dramatic age, I enthusiastically recommend it as a 'Must Do' course.

Ajay Sinha.

by Lowell N

2021年3月15日

I enjoyed learning about a part of history I knew nothing about. The history is a bit dry at times but they used lots of different methods of instruction to keep it interesting. I especially enjoyed the white-board history lessons! I would have liked to learn more about the archeological basis of the history that was presented, this was occasionally referred to but would have liked to have understood more how the have built the historical picture.

by Ramon v O

2022年1月16日

​Perfect course by Karen Radner. A​ lot of information, and educated and teached very well, in a clear and understandable way.

O​nly downside, and this is not the fault of Karen, is that the program (on internet and app) sometimes is lost, and the grades shown, don't compare with the material you are graded with.

C​ourse is highly recommended.

by Hamdanil R

2018年4月22日

Very enjoyable course and I learned a lot. When people talk about an ancient empire that runs efficiently many would think about Rome, but it's cool to know that there's an earlier empire in a different part of the world that's no less awesome. Professor Radner is very knowledgeable and the scope of the materials are very intersting.

by Syed H A

2018年12月19日

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

by Thomas d S

2021年5月4日

Dank course. Loved the fish coat dudes. The expert opinions were also great--it was neat to hear from a variety of academics studying these topics. I would've liked to learn more about Assyrian deities and mythology though, even if lots of it was just copy pasted from Babylon.

by Christopher J M

2021年2月6日

It was a fun and interesting course. There were many tests and sometimes they have been a bit specific andI will not remember the details of names and dates right after taking them. So, even though the tests were good, they may have focused on themes a bit more than facts.

by char m

2020年5月18日

Karen is very knowledgeable, and mostly engaging. At first, I thought the student question and answer was not valuable, but I was wrong! Some of the most interesting tidbits came here. The experts section was not useful. Have one speak on his area of expertise.

by Richard S

2021年2月14日

The course was an interesting overview of a small but very important time and place history. I found the material interesting and the level of detail was what right for me.

by Niklas A

2021年3月22日

Very interesting, in particular getting an understanding of what society looked like and what people experienced as citizens of this early empire.

by Ken L

2020年9月2日

The course was relatively short and succinct. It answered a number of questions, and opened up some new areas of interest. Well done. Thank you.

by Edward O T

2020年7月21日

Its been very helpful in trying to understand a little more of other kingdoms outside of Egypt, Greece, Turkey and Rome

by Mariia A G

2021年2月6日

I was inspired by the notion of "client-states" within Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way.

by Varun N

2020年5月26日

Had heard very little of this great civilization; the course gave a superb insight into it

by Joy S

2018年4月11日

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

by J B

2020年9月26日

Exactly what I needed: A quick insight into the Assyrians. Thank you so much.

by Herud

2019年2月5日

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

by JOSE T B M

2020年11月14日

Esta bien bueno en general. Me gustaría mas apoyo visual

by John C

2020年10月27日

very interesting, history is so cool.

by UBAYDUR R R

2020年6月4日

very tremendous and flexible course.