Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,324件の評価

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

AN

2021年5月22日

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB

2020年7月25日

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 301 - 325 / 581 レビュー

by David G

2020年10月5日

This is such a great course, with the instructor really doing a great job conveying what each artist was trying to do.

by Clara A S

2019年3月26日

I loved this course! I really enjoyed it. The course content and flexible time management were great and ideal for me.

by Leslie Z

2017年10月10日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The course is engaging, simple to follow, and expertly taught by Corey D'Augustine.

by Peter J W

2017年9月6日

Amazing class. Excellent instructor and selection of artists in the course. Opened an entirely new world of art to me.

by Sohnit K

2018年12月30日

its one of my best course I have ever taken. You can learn and apply the knowledge in your painting. I enjoyed a lot.

by Allegra S

2020年6月3日

Thoroughly enjoyed the class and learned much. Thank you MoMA for the this positive experience during the pandemic.

by Steven C

2019年10月6日

Excellent course material - and really fantastic course leader! The demonstrations and reading material are great.

by Pepa Q G

2017年5月28日

I enjoy it very much. I learn a lot about the Postwar Abstract Painters. I wish I can join another similar course.

by Indie R

2019年12月16日

One of the best courses here with very creative assignment and a great lector with sophisticated sense of humor!

by Greta G

2020年7月23日

El curso fue excelente, me gustaría saber como debo hacer para obtener el certificado ya que lo terminé completo

by Taylor W

2020年6月14日

This was a great learning experience, and I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys history and creative art!

by Elena I G

2021年1月4日

Very informative and high level professional teaching and over all I had a great time to learn and participate

by Sally D

2021年11月25日

i​ learnt so much about both the subject and how to paint. The demonstrations using materials were fantastic.

by ZUHAINA Z K

2021年4月12日

Great course! Really beneficial for an artist to learn techniques of masters. I highly recommended to do this

by Elizabeth B

2020年5月19日

Informative, insightful, inspiring. I would love to take more courses like this for different schools/styles.

by Constantina Y

2018年1月30日

This course is simply amazing! All aspects... the videos, the information, the knowledge are all outstanding.

by Jigna C

2020年5月23日

Excellent course, should be done by a;ll budding and upcoming artists to get a perspective of the Art scene.

by Dr P S S

2018年10月23日

its a great course for knowing the masters and understanding their path breaking innovations in abstract art

by Christina D

2022年4月26日

Great course, good blend of practical techniques to use in the studio and visual analysis theory. Thankyou!

by Kylie S

2020年6月21日

Really worth the commitment as this was incredibly engaging and wonderful in it's explanation of the topic

by Athena L

2020年6月8日

This course was so fun. I really enjoyed learning about the Abstract Expressionists intentions & processes

by Tore W

2019年5月9日

Art history! Instructions on how-did-they-do-it! Insights on great artists thoughts about art! Just great!

by Andrea S

2017年6月18日

I loved the course! Corey D'Augustine is an excellent teacher and the course material is very informative.

by Jouriy L

2017年5月24日

Thank you very much! Very good and useful course.

Thank you particularly for instructor Corey D’Augustine.

by Kari G

2020年7月28日

An excellent interesting course about 8 artists of the abstract Expressionist period. Highly recommended!