Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
630件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 126 - 150 / 252 レビュー

by Fernando P

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent. Allows us a greater understanding of the New York School.

by Houssam E H

Jan 01, 2018

i would like to give special thanks for the Moma museum Volkswagen and all the team behind the camera,for letting this hapend,the language is so easy to understand, and i had that chance to get to know all these artists and their technics, i would like to learn more and master my studies is posible

you guys are mazing

best regards, Houssam HAFDI.

by Sune L

Oct 21, 2017

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

by John V

Jul 23, 2017

I liked this course very much. The instructor Corey D'Augustine has an excellent presentation style: clear, concise and to the point. The studio component of the course was difficult but extraordinary rewarding, the works of the artists covered are incredibly difficult to reproduce. You get a true understanding of the brilliance of their ideas and their works. Excellent course. I highly recommend it.

by Andrew E

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent course. Material was concise. Videos were truly excellent and to the point. Easily manageable across a busy week and I learned much more than I anticipated. Heartily recommended. Look forward to the next!

by Annesha P

May 17, 2017

Excellent course which taught me how to appreciate abstract paintings. I also learned about some of the prominent painters, techniques and materials of the Abstract Expressionist movement.

by Christie J

May 22, 2017

The technical aspect of art history was fascinating and really helped me understand and remember how the artist worked, and the development of their practice. I feel able to talk about these artists, the movements they are associated with, and to produce credible visual analyses of their work.

by maria f l

Jun 25, 2017

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

by Lisa R

Aug 18, 2017

Brilliant course, and Corey is a charismatic & knowledgeable presenter, a pleasure to learn from. Highly recommended for students of all ages & abilities.

by Susan C

Dec 08, 2017

Thank You MoMA for such a fun class :)

by brian n

Jul 16, 2017

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.

by Ana G

Nov 13, 2017

Buenísimo.

by Marion T

Aug 09, 2017

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

by Marcia F

Mar 09, 2018

This course is an incredible investigative journey of materials and processes which leads to a greater appreciation for the context in which Abstract Expressionist were working in the mid 20th century.

by Sean S

May 05, 2018

This might have been one of the most interesting art courses I ever took. Really great!

by Mary C

Jun 20, 2017

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

by Jillian D

Jul 12, 2017

A great course- a wonderful look at some of the great Abstract Expressionists of 1950's, and a more in depth look at how they actually painted than you'll get in most art history courses. The course load is also by no means overwhelming, but provides plenty of additional materials for further learning.

by N.G.S. P

Jul 01, 2017

This course has been extremely helpful to me. I am a fresher in painting and wanted to learn more about the various artists of modern art and explore various painting materials and techniques.

This is really an amazing course! Thank you for all your effort in making this course for us.

by Jennifer G

Aug 14, 2017

The In The Studio: Materials and Technique portion was most helpful in understanding the work of the artists and gave me a greater appreciation of their pieces. Overall, the course has taught me how to look deeper at abstract painting and give it more than a quizzical glance.

by Glenis S

Jun 09, 2018

An exceptional course. We learned about postwar Abstract Artists but also got to see videos showing how they did their paintings. Plus there were slideshows of the artists' career in eight works. Corey d'Agustine was great at teaching. I loved it.

by Christa B

Sep 23, 2017

It was perfect and I got a lot out of it - marvellous,

by Robyn L

May 14, 2017

A comprehensive and fascinating investigation of Postwar Abstract Painting. Features seven key artists who work using a range of techniques and represents the diversity of these artists. Presenters are very engaging, interesting, informative and enjoyable to watch. I really enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations of the artists' methods by Corey D'Augustine.

by Maria E R

May 25, 2017

totalmente recomendable. Un curso para sacarle provecho a cada video, a cada lectura.

by Brittany T

Dec 27, 2017

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

by Big S D

Jan 26, 2018

In one word : genial!