Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
619件の評価
254件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 176 - 200 / 247 レビュー

by Elisa P

May 28, 2018

Outstanding course. Very complete in every aspect. It was fascinating learning about the NYS painters and having guided hands-on practice of the techiniques. Thank you!

by Joan S P

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

by lorna z f

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent! Not boring at all. Plenty of well done reading materials and interesting links. My favorite part - "In the studio", I think I learned a lot and got motivation to do more.

Curators' and Corey's videos are informative, professional, involving. I would highly recommend this course.

by brian n

Jul 16, 2017

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.

by Merissa W

Nov 15, 2017

This was my first Coursea course and I absolutely loved it. I wish I had a little more time to participate in the studio activities, but I really enjoyed just watching the tutorials and learning the different artist techniques. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in modern art.

by silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

by Ana G

Nov 13, 2017

Buenísimo.

by Naelya T N

Jan 03, 2018

great course and lector!

by Uma H

Aug 04, 2017

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

by Marion T

Aug 09, 2017

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

by Carla B

Jul 10, 2017

I learned so much in this art appreciation and experimentation course. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine who's straight-forward, easy-going style of teaching helped us not be afraid of trying products never used before, in my case oil paints and all the mediums that go with them, and trying methods of famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Many thanks to MoMA for providing this course through Coursera.org and to sponsors like Volkswagen who help make such enlightenment possible. I looked forward to learning through video, reading, my own research and in the studio exercises. I am off to look for similar In the Studio offerings on MoMA's website and considering what I will sign up for next on Coursera. Thank you!

by Marcia F

Mar 09, 2018

This course is an incredible investigative journey of materials and processes which leads to a greater appreciation for the context in which Abstract Expressionist were working in the mid 20th century.

by Sean S

May 05, 2018

This might have been one of the most interesting art courses I ever took. Really great!

by Arijit D

Apr 29, 2018

This course was very well structured, and the instructor's personal and often humorous approach was informative and engaging, covering very complex subject matter in an accessible way.

by ARMAND C

Jul 17, 2017

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

by Stanislaus G

Apr 03, 2017

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

by alissa c

Jul 18, 2017

An amazing course about difficult art. I loved every minute, even when I was bored. NO, really! I found out a lot about how little I knew. And a great deal about technique....I'm going to have to bookmark some of the films, in case I need to find out "What would X do?"

by Arthur D W

Feb 26, 2018

This course will inform you about painting techniques (trust me, it isn't as simple as it looks!) and improve your ability to think and write critically and concisely about art (it's also fun!).

by Pamela J R

May 15, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have done. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates art. I will never look at the work of these artists in the same way again, this course has certainly opened up my eyes!

by Carol P

Oct 18, 2017

Not just informative with regard to the New York School of Abstract Expressionists, this course is replete with lots of studio fun! Expertly taught by Cory D' Augustine, one will learn the techniques and methods of the members of this dynamic and innovative group of painters.

by lucy g

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for a very well organized course, with Corey who did a brilliant job of demonstrating a wide variety of techniques and discussing in depth the artists featured. He is so knowledgeable and any future courses he and MOMA offers will have me as a student. A thousand thanks.

by Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! It was engaging; the assignments were challenging enough to need some work and stimulate thinking, but not so hard to be a deterrent to completion. The mix of theory and practical work was perfect too. I found myself looking forward to each module more and more as the course progressed.

by Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Loved it. Well presented with valuable exercises. I learned a lot and look forward to more.

by Renato S

Aug 17, 2017

just started this course, i think is phenomenal, helsp with techniques and theory

by Ivona F

Nov 07, 2017

It's an amazing course with the teacher who is experienced and cool!